Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Friendly and Traditional Historic Motel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The spotlessly clean and roomy rooms. The welcoming motel owner.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Fab little town, make sure you catch the gun fight between the local cowboys. I think it's daily at 7pm. Visit Bearizona, a must with kids.
What a great play to stay! We were greeted by Rich, the owner, who was friendly and helpful. We were shown to our room and I was offered a hairdryer, which was brought to the room immediately. The room was extremely clean, not a spec of dust or dirt. Two double beds and an adequate bathroom and kitchen facility. Air conditioning ensured the room was kept cool. Breakfast was simple bagels; toast or fruit but plentiful and Rich made me a cup of tea each morning, on top of the self serve coffee. Rich spent time talking us through the best places to go during our time at the Canyon and in Williams which saved us time on our travels. I really would recommend this motel highly. Well situated and within walking distance of the entire town. The highlights for us were the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of our host, Rich, who obviously cares highly about his motel and guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

Great historic place, yet super comfortable!!

Posted Jul 11, 2015
We are the kind of people who would rather support independent local owners than big chain hotels/motels. This place is a historic landmark. The oldest motel in Williams. Walking distance to EVERYTHING! And right on historic Route 66! But the rooms are all brand new! Super clean! Wood floors, microwaves and small, quiet running fridges for your leftovers. The beds are brand new and so were the pillows!! So super comfortable, which we really needed after our long drive! We stayed down the street our first night here, and the beds were awful. I came to this place because the reviews said good beds. The reviews were right! Thank goodness! I'm so glad to have found this place. I wish we had stayed here every night! We are coming back next summer, and I'm going to book this place in advance now that I know better! The owners are going to be remodeling the bathrooms in the next year to make them even better. It's really not necessary, but they want to make this place even nicer than it already is. Because this place is historic, the bathroom door hits the toilet. Really not a big deal. But the owners want it perfect, and don't cut corners, so they are putting a lot of time and money into this place. Also, the owners know the area, the good restaurants, the off the beaten path places around town and at the Grand Canyon. So they are a wealth of information you'd never get at a chain hotel. We also have a little private seating area outside our room and our car is right outside our ro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Tx

Great motel near Grand Canyon National Park.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff (owners).
Cons: Perhaps a small table in the kitchenette area.
Location: Perfect location for visiting the Grand Canyon National Park and the small town of Williams, Az. is charming and quaint.
Friendly and helpful owners(staff) with clean, crisp, newly remodeled rooms and a continental breakfast provided. Visited on the 4th of July and saw a delightful local parade down the main street. Less than an hour drive to the Grand Canyon National Park which we visited the next day. I highly recommend this motel for family or couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Rich, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us during the holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria AZ

Piece of Route 66 history

Posted Jul 7, 2015
We chose the Grand during our trip to see the canyon. Loved the fact that it was an original Route 66 motor court and little has been done to change the architecture. This isn't the place for you if you're picky about amenities, but it's perfect if you appreciate that someone has taken the time spruce it up to continue its tradition. You won't find a roomy bathroom (but a spotless one with a great shower), 5 star breakfast (but a perfectly fine continental style fare well presented and in keeping with the low price), or outdoor property amenities (but your car is right outside your door and there's a small front porch and gazebo). You'll also enjoy the very comfy bed and linens where the owners didn't skimp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Route 66 Experience

Posted Jul 4, 2015
This is a very quaint, original Route 66 motel. We were only there for one night, and whilst we had a nice stay it is only a 2-star hotel. The rooms are small but clean and they have heating/cooling and cable TV (a box of tissues would have been nice). Wifi is patchy but enough for email. The bathrooms are really cramped and the bathroom door doesn't open all the way but I assume that's because since 1936 they've had to install indoor toilets in the small bathrooms. Plenty of hot water but can take a minute to come through. Breakfast is basic but enough to get you up and going in the morning. The owner is really friendly and his dog is gorgeous. I'd happily stay here again for the Route 66 experience. The cookie cutter chain motels are the same everywhere. It's nice to be somewhere different.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Van Buren, AR

Cute clean hotel with great owner!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The hotel is very cute and quaint! The owner is great and very helpful. He is redoing the hotel and is working hard to make it amazing! It's in the perfect little area. Adorable town with tons of stuff within walking distance. Hotel was very clean and bed was comfy. Shower pressure was low and not extremely hot but he is working on the plumbing! Will definitely stay here again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great new owner, easy choice for the $$

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Management! :)
We were looking for a hotel near the Grand Canyon at the last minute. This was the only place within our budget - great find! The new owner was waiting at the front desk to greet us and walked us right to our room. They are in the process of making some upgrades. The new beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning was a bonus. Likely the best deal in the area. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Hotel with charm and character

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Nice motel with 1937 charm and character. Clean. Walking distance to historic Williams.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully unexpected experience!!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Its local rustic feel, and the wonderfully nice management!
The motel is under new management and they are working on remodeling all the rooms. The room we stayed in was one of the "unfinished" rooms but was perfect for what we were looking for. This isn't a Hilton. You'll get a bed, four walls, and running water. Which is exactly what we were looking for. It was clean and quite. The owner was the only "employee" we dealt with and he was extremely friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating (if your arriving after 10pm call ahead to let him know).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Retro Route 66 Motel with some new renovations.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The friendly owner.
Cons: It is going to take time to totally renovate this property but their heart is in the right place.
Location: Williams,Az has interesting stores and a lively downtown. Nearby is Grand Canyon, Sedona, Flagstaff & Jerome, Az.
This motel is in the town of Williams,Az. and is one of the first motels on historic route 66. It is presently being renovated and the beds are new and rooms freshly painted. The owner said it is being restored to its original condition. We had a 3 night stay. The room had 2 queen beds in divided rooms and a kitchenette. The bed was comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful. She even told us of additional sites to see nearby. The Grand Canyon is very close to this area. She also helped us with dining choices and gave us15% off coupons for several. The town is very lively at night and all of the stores are open. This motel is definitely retro and not a modern cookie cutter type.