Ratings based on 1,053 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Visalia

Howard Johnson in Flagstaff

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location was easy to get to from Interstate
Location: Denny's was close by
Traveling through Flagstaff on our way home to California. Booked this hotel for 1 night. The front desk staff were courteous. The room was clean, but the towels for the shower were small. Overall it was ok for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our conveniently located property. We appreciate both your feedback and your business! We are glad to hear that you experienced the cleanliness and customer service that we strive to provide. We hope to serve you again in the future. Be sure to look out for our total renovations, slated to begin in October 2015.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado Springs

Too much money for a horrible backache!

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Expedient check in and very pleasant front desk staff.
Cons: REPLACE THE BEDS!!!! It's nothing short of utter embarrassment to be charging So much a night for such horribly broken down beds.
Check in was easy. Front desk staff was efficient and very pleasant. Room was clean, but old and run down. Bed was deplorable. I had spasms in my back the entire next day. I cannot believe it rated online as 3 1/2 stars. A bad bed ruins a night. I'll never forget it and will likely not stay in another Howard Johnson facility again. They used to be good, back in the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business and are truly sorry to hear about your back discomfort. Unfortunately, it is not possible to cater to every type of bed preference and we find the majority of our guests love our pillow top mattresses (so much so that they even request the brand/model number!). We are glad to hear that your check in was smooth and you experienced our friendly customer service. As an older property, we are aware of needed renovations and we are excited to announce that remodeling will begin in October 2015.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Hotel is old and tired. Not well maintained.

Posted May 12, 2015
The room was as poorly maintained, as was the overall property. Indoor/outdoor carpet on the corridors was torn off, if not completely missing. Paint pealing off the exterior of the building. Traffic noice was loud in both the front and the rear of the property. We were in town for NAU graduation. If there was another option, we would definitely had chosen it. Unfortunately, nothing else was remaining. I would have been better off staying at Motel 6. Freezing outside. Inadequate heat and no extra blankets. Not to be reccomended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the opportunity to receive feedback from our guests. NAU graduation is one of the busiest weekends of the year, and we are always sold out-- with a large influx of people, there will be some traffic and disturbances. We encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk with any problems, especially related to noise levels, so we can do our best to resolve the situation. We are truly sorry to hear that you were not adequately warm during your stay. It is not uncommon for Flagstaff to be cold (or even receive snow!) during the month of May. Due to the unpredictable weather, we have new heaters in our rooms and can provide extra blankets by request. We encourage our guests to contact the front desk so we can provide assistance, as we would have been more than happy to help you maximize the effectiveness of your heater. As an older property, we are aware of some needed renovations slated to begin in October 2015. With that said, some aspects of the hotel- like the carpeting on our walkways- are being replaced/completed prior to our busy summer season. Also, we are proud to distinguish our property from the other chain you mentioned by providing larger rooms, continental breakfast and complimentary wireless internet. We strive to provide a positive experience for all our guests, and apologize that you did not feel this way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laguna beach

NAU

Posted May 8, 2015
Nice place to stay if you only in for 1-2 nights if you just need a place to sleep abd shower. I was picking my daughter up from college at NAU. Good price on expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We love to hear from our satisfied guests. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Be on the look out for our total renovations to include all new furnishings, lighting, appliances, flooring, decor, painting and flat screen televisions, slated to begin in October 2015.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Québec

Go somewhere else

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The girl at the office on saturday morning...
Location: Just passing by... Cracker Barrel at 2 minutes walk!
I booked 2 nights via Expedia, friday and monday night, asking for non-smoker room. The room (friday night) was a smoker's one, and the smell was horrible. I have to pay 16,65 U$D to change to a non-smoker room (friday night is busy night!) The guy at the office mentionning that Expedia reserved a smoker's room. Being late, I didn't want to fight and paid. The next morning, new girl at the office, I asked for a non-smoker's room on the monday night and she changed the reservation. Once again, she told me that a smoker's room have been asked ???
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you encountered problems with your reservation. To avoid this situation, we always recommend that you contact the hotel prior to your stay to confirm all reservation details, so we can address any concerns in advance. At the hotel property level, we never change or alter your reservation unless the guest and/or Expedia contacts us to make modifications. The reservation we receive in our system comes directly from the company you choose to book through, such as Expedia. We recommend familiarizing yourself with Expedia's terms and conditions because depending on how you book, your room type preference may not be guaranteed. If you are unaware of the type of room you booked, and the hotel is sold out of your desired room type, there is nothing we can do at that point. However, we do our best to accommodate all of our guests and will change the room type if possible. Sometimes we do have to charge a small upgrade fee to change room types, depending on our current rate and availability. When possible (such as with your second night), we waive this fee as a courtesy to our guests. We appreciate your business, and hope this response provides some clarity on our policies.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel close to Flagstaff Airport

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was nice, easy in and out. The pillows and bed were really comfortable and clean.
Cons: The bathroom was just a little grimier around the edges than I think should be the case. Also, all the light switches and panels were dirty.
Location: This was a perfect location to visit Sedona and the Grand Canyon, right in the middle. Very happy with the location close to the highway.
Pleasant stay, just don't expect fancy or superb settings. If your goal is a cheaper option compared to other more expensive alternatives then this is a good place - good mix of customers, we didn't feel out of place as two twenty-something girls visiting. The room/bathroom wasn't very clean, but acceptable for a couple nights stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Clean, average hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The desk clerk was so rude!! If it had not been for the fact we had already prepaid the room, we would have left. The rest of the staff was great. Room was clean, and had a nice little brunch.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Bad location, rough area

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: More helpful and caring staff
Location: In Flagstaff, AZ
Difficult to find, rough location. Tried to cancel reservation, charged for the day and for a reservation 3 days later. Talked to the manager; Mr. Patel who was rude and uncaring, stated that he would only consider canceling if I contacted Expedia first since he was charged a commission. Called the hotel chain service line and they were trying to fix the issue, nothing resolved yet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mölndal

Helt okej motell

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Cons: Varierande engagemang & servicekänsla hos personalen.
Ganska typiskt medelmåttigt & slitet amerikanskt motell till hyfsat pris. Fungerade bra som utgångspunkt för ett dagsbesök i Grand Canyon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
OK stay. Rooms were a little dirty. Staff at check in were OK. Staff in morning were rude, wouldn't even bring us towels