Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Very good price compared to other hotels in the area.
As students, we were looking for a decently priced hotel to sleep that was clean and comfortable. This one was perfectly fine. My only complaint was that our room was not ready at check in, but it was available about 15 to 20 minutes later. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Envision The Bates Motel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Shower curtain smelled like urine. Bugs all over the room. Cereal was still in the lobby when I checked in at 11 pm. Didn't trust eating there and just wanted to leave ASAP. Worst hotel experience EVER.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel at this price

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast (food quality and place).
It's worth of it's low price. Good hotel to stay for one-two nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly gross.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Beds were comfortable.
Cons: Cleaning.
Location: The location is right by the train tracks and all day and night can hear the train going by.
We had just checked in our room. The beds were made, room looked clean. Things changed when both my daughters pulled the comforters of the bed as they both wanted to rest, we found skid marks on the sheets on both beds as if someone had their shoes on and rubbed the bed. Then on one of the beds, we found a black hair. Immediately I ran to get one of the cleaning ladies to have the beds changed. I would not go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good basic hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The hotel was clean and staff friendly. The continental breakfast is ok and not much selection. The price is quite high for what is a very basic room with shower (no tub), it's the best we could find in Flagstaff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Decent hotel esp. if traveling with a pet, right off I-40. Convenient, clean, and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nicely re done rooms. But do not plan on sleeping.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
You are right on route 66 and a train track that is very busy. Impossible to fall asleep. Again, the rooms are really nice though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Cheap hotel near the railroad tracks

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: Start at the top and have management take a course in treating guests courteously. We are after all keeping them in business.
Location: Grand Canyon!! Need I say more?!
Upon arrival, we noticed our room had no towels. Management didn't seem very pleased to locate some and deliver them to our room after we notified them. Later we realized we had no bath mat, they brought one to us with a nicer attitude this time. The following day after returning for the night, only one of the two queen beds had been made. When I approached management about this, the on duty manager insisted it was my fault. He defended the housekeeper and said I must have left something on the bed, which is the reason why the housekeeper didn't touch the bed. I assured him that I made sure both beds were clear of any of my property before we left for the day, nevertheless he would not hear of it and kept arguing the the housekeeper was efficient and could not have made that mistake. He told me he would talk to her. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, CA

Bring your own pillows

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Okay for a short stay. No tub and watch for the step out your door
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hope you like trains

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Woke up every 1/2 hour because of trains. Bed uncomfortable. Exposed wiring on building. Attempt to upgrade rooms just a minor improvement. You definitely get what you pay for at this motel!