Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Excellent motel in a mountain setting

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the beds and the people.
Location: It is neat Williams, AZ and Flagstaff, AZ. The grand canyon is about an hour away. Sedona is about a hour away.
We were very pleased with this property. It was clean and well cared for. The staff was very good and the restaurant was very good as well. The rooms were clean, up to date and the beds comfortable. All rooms face the mountains and the views are exceptional. We would and have recommended it to our friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Jim, Thank you for your five star review! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place isn't what your sold

Posted Dec 15, 2014
No personality it's just another place with disappointment. It seems that there are a stream of less then average hotels who spruce up the entrance and add the word resort to the name. We would have been better off at the quality inn. It seems that Nothing is done to convince the guest. It's all about adding on to your bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the San Fransisco Peaks

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The wide outdoors.
Cons: Due to the winter months, the ice machine was not working. We had to go to the restaurant.
Location: Polar Express
We had a good time at Mountain Ranch! The view was wonderful and for young children, they could run in the grassy area. Everyone was friendly and we enjoyed the "forest experience". The restaurant was expensive and not conducive to young children. Because Mountain Ranch focuses on a healthy experience, food included, the longer we stayed, I did get the feeling from adults staying there, that children were not welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. We encourage your thoughts, suggestions, and feedback. Although you felt as if your children were not welcome by other guests staying with us, please be assured that this is not the case with us or our staff. We are very active in educating guests that food prepared healthfully tastes amazing. As you can see from other guest reviews, children of all ages are enjoying their dining experience. If you are ever in our area again, I hope you choose Mountain Ranch for your lodging and reconsider dining at The Ranch Restaurant where everything is fresh and made to order, nothing is processed. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peoria, AZ

Nice hotel, wonderful staff and awesome chef!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, restaurant and facilities.
Cons: Mini-fridge in the rooms would be nice.
Location: Real close to Williams, Bearizona is a 5 minute drive, Polar Express (Grand Canyon Railroad) is a 7 minute drive.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. Hand-crafted soap and Keurig coffee provided in the room. The breakfast provided was very nice. The restaurant on-site was top notch. The food was amazing and kudos to Chef Chad, who made the most delicious meals - just as good as any 5 Diamond restaurant we've ever been to. Even our two young boys who are picky eaters enjoyed the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Steve- A sincere thank you for your wonderful review of Mountain Ranch, The Ranch Restaurant, and Chef Chad. We are estatic to hear you and your family, including your two young boys had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your dining experience of healthful cuisine inspired by nature. We hope to see all of you again in the near future! Frank & Janine-Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heidifrom crestline, ca

nice visit

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
the restaurant/bar is only open until 8:30pm - made it unrealistic to use, but it was fine other than that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Heidi, Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. I apologize that you found the restaurant hours to be unrealistic but glad to hear for the most part that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope if you are in our area again, your choice for lodging will be Mountain Ranch! Frank & Janine-Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego ca

Old style resort

Posted Nov 19, 2014
We make numerous trips through Williams each year staying in typical chain hotels. This trip we had family along so I booked rooms in advance and the Mountain Ranch Resort caught my eye in the ratings. Although we were there off season and some of the amenities were not available we all agreed it was a great find. Staff were wonderful rooms clean and comfortable. We will be stopping for a stay next summer with our granddaughter....she loves swimming and horseback riding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Janine, Hotel Management
Larry, We appreciate you taking your time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled you chose us and we look forward to seeing you and your granddaughter next summer! Frank & Janine Rotter- Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Nice property, clean rooms, great food, excellent staff.
Location: Grand Canyon, Bearizona, Awesome hikes. Not too far from Sedona and Flagstaff.
The food was delicious from the excellent omelettes in the morning to the superb dinners in the evening! Wonderful, talented chef Chad. John the bartender was so knowledgeable about the area he had so many great tips for us, we looked forward to talking to him every night. We do not want to leave out our appreciation to Cindy, Tricia and Shamra who were also a pleasure to talk to every day. The staff and owners were very accommodating and always smiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Janine, Hotel Management
Kathy, Thank you so much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear our staff exceeded your expectations and we can't wait to see you again soon! Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Resort beautiful but restaurant is awful!!

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The accommodations were wonderful & luxurious!! Absolutely loved it. However, the restaurant is lacking and that's why I gave the hotel a 3-star rating overall. The menu is way overpriced, dinner wasn't that great & they were out of some dishes, I had to send back a drink because it was terrible, and breakfast the next morning was awful! Our waitress at dinner was unfriendly, but the breakfast waitress was very nice!! If you stay there, don't eat in the restaurant!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that our restaurant did not meet your expectations, this disappoints us greatly. As you can see by reading the many positive reviews, of both our restaurant and staff, your visit unfortunately must have been an anomaly. Our menu showcases the application of seasonal, local and sustainable ingredients and therefore menu items are subject to changing without notice. If you find yourself in northern Arizona again, we'd love a chance to make it up to you and earn your business back. Please accept our sincerest apologies, Frank & Janine Rotter/ Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kimfrom Laughlin, NV

Very nice and enjoyable

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very beautiful hotel. Excellent service.The only real drawback is the property is about 300 yards from I-40... highway noise when outside, not in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Kim, Thank you so much for staying with us, we really appreciate your business and are grateful that you took the time to share your positive experience with other prospective guests. Please come see us again, Frank & Janine Rotter - Owners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Arizona

OK

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dated, but clean and a nice location (close to the interstate, but kind of tucked in the woods). Breakfast left much to be desired... a very skimpy buffet & omelets made to order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Robert, Thank you so much for staying with us, we really appreciate your business and are grateful that you took the time to share your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed in your view of our cooked to order breakfast offerings. We have been rolling out new phases of renovation and really hope that if you find yourself in northern Arizona again, that you'll give us an opportunity to earn your business one more time. Frank & Janine Rotter - Owners