Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Excellent motel in a mountain setting

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the beds and the people.
Location: It is neat Williams, AZ and Flagstaff, AZ. The grand canyon is about an hour away. Sedona is about a hour away.
We were very pleased with this property. It was clean and well cared for. The staff was very good and the restaurant was very good as well. The rooms were clean, up to date and the beds comfortable. All rooms face the mountains and the views are exceptional. We would and have recommended it to our friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Jim, Thank you for your five star review! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place isn't what your sold

Posted Dec 15, 2014
No personality it's just another place with disappointment. It seems that there are a stream of less then average hotels who spruce up the entrance and add the word resort to the name. We would have been better off at the quality inn. It seems that Nothing is done to convince the guest. It's all about adding on to your bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the San Fransisco Peaks

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The wide outdoors.
Cons: Due to the winter months, the ice machine was not working. We had to go to the restaurant.
Location: Polar Express
We had a good time at Mountain Ranch! The view was wonderful and for young children, they could run in the grassy area. Everyone was friendly and we enjoyed the "forest experience". The restaurant was expensive and not conducive to young children. Because Mountain Ranch focuses on a healthy experience, food included, the longer we stayed, I did get the feeling from adults staying there, that children were not welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. We encourage your thoughts, suggestions, and feedback. Although you felt as if your children were not welcome by other guests staying with us, please be assured that this is not the case with us or our staff. We are very active in educating guests that food prepared healthfully tastes amazing. As you can see from other guest reviews, children of all ages are enjoying their dining experience. If you are ever in our area again, I hope you choose Mountain Ranch for your lodging and reconsider dining at The Ranch Restaurant where everything is fresh and made to order, nothing is processed. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peoria, AZ

Nice hotel, wonderful staff and awesome chef!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, restaurant and facilities.
Cons: Mini-fridge in the rooms would be nice.
Location: Real close to Williams, Bearizona is a 5 minute drive, Polar Express (Grand Canyon Railroad) is a 7 minute drive.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. Hand-crafted soap and Keurig coffee provided in the room. The breakfast provided was very nice. The restaurant on-site was top notch. The food was amazing and kudos to Chef Chad, who made the most delicious meals - just as good as any 5 Diamond restaurant we've ever been to. Even our two young boys who are picky eaters enjoyed the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Steve- A sincere thank you for your wonderful review of Mountain Ranch, The Ranch Restaurant, and Chef Chad. We are estatic to hear you and your family, including your two young boys had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your dining experience of healthful cuisine inspired by nature. We hope to see all of you again in the near future! Frank & Janine-Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego ca

Old style resort

Posted Nov 19, 2014
We make numerous trips through Williams each year staying in typical chain hotels. This trip we had family along so I booked rooms in advance and the Mountain Ranch Resort caught my eye in the ratings. Although we were there off season and some of the amenities were not available we all agreed it was a great find. Staff were wonderful rooms clean and comfortable. We will be stopping for a stay next summer with our granddaughter....she loves swimming and horseback riding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Janine, Hotel Management
Larry, We appreciate you taking your time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled you chose us and we look forward to seeing you and your granddaughter next summer! Frank & Janine Rotter- Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Nice property, clean rooms, great food, excellent staff.
Location: Grand Canyon, Bearizona, Awesome hikes. Not too far from Sedona and Flagstaff.
The food was delicious from the excellent omelettes in the morning to the superb dinners in the evening! Wonderful, talented chef Chad. John the bartender was so knowledgeable about the area he had so many great tips for us, we looked forward to talking to him every night. We do not want to leave out our appreciation to Cindy, Tricia and Shamra who were also a pleasure to talk to every day. The staff and owners were very accommodating and always smiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Janine, Hotel Management
Kathy, Thank you so much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear our staff exceeded your expectations and we can't wait to see you again soon! Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Arizona

OK

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dated, but clean and a nice location (close to the interstate, but kind of tucked in the woods). Breakfast left much to be desired... a very skimpy buffet & omelets made to order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Robert, Thank you so much for staying with us, we really appreciate your business and are grateful that you took the time to share your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed in your view of our cooked to order breakfast offerings. We have been rolling out new phases of renovation and really hope that if you find yourself in northern Arizona again, that you'll give us an opportunity to earn your business one more time. Frank & Janine Rotter - Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brucefrom White Bear Lake, Minnesota

Tranquil stay with GREAT breakfast

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mountain Ranch Resort at Beacon Hill is a very nice way to pamper yourself. While I wouldn't classify it as a luxury resort (which I am not a fan of), the Mountain Ranch is certainly a major step above many average hotels. You will pay a bit more for that experience but it is worth it. The continental breakfasts were always spectacular. We stayed here 3 days so we had breakfast each and every morning. One day we were fortunate enough to have the extensive continental buffet breakfast which included delicious bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, hash brown potatoes, mouth-watering home-made muffins, Greek yogurt, granola, etc. The other mornings we had our choice of individually made omelets and of course the fresh fruit, muffins, Greek yogurt, etc. The dinner menu is a bit limited and also a bit pricey but the town of Williams has restaurants that charge similar amounts so for the tranquil atmosphere, Mountain Ranch Resort is the better choice. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were offered the opportunity to use mountain bikes which they have at the resort free of charge. Unfortunately we never got a chance to use them as we were pretty busy sight-seeing. If you're looking for tranquility, Mountain Ranch Resort is an excellent choice. The resort is located about 60 miles from the South rim of the Grand Canyon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Bruce, Thank you so much for staying at Mountain Ranch Resort, we really appreciate your business and are thrilled that you had such a great time and enjoyed your breakfast selections during your stay. We've been working really hard to provide guests with a wonderful variety and healthful dining experience inspired by nature. It's very nice to hear such kind comments and know that we're doing things right by our customers. We also really appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your positive experience with other prospective guests. Thank you again! Frank & Janine Rotter - Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Quick getaway

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Large, clean rooms, great location and the restaurant food was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2014 by Janine, Hotel Management
Martin Family, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled you were pleasantly surprised with your stay and found our restaurant to be amazing! We look forward to seeing your family again in the near future! Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by angelafrom san diego

Hidden gem

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My only complaint is that the pool and jacuzzi were just shut down for the winter season, and I had specifically booked this location for jacuzzi after long hike out of Grand Canyon. We were a little leary of pulling up to resort as out side of building is dated late 70's early 80's. But once inside it was gorgeous in lobby and restaurant. Room was large and spacious, nicely decorated with resorts feeling. Dinner and breakfast were phenomenal!! The ingredients were fresh and food was so flavorful! Definitely a hidden gem! We look forward to going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Angela, We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are truly sorry you came during a time of year that our outdoor pool and spa are shut for the winter season. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your dining experience at The Ranch Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again! Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners