Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Excellent dinners but expensive. Rooms are large clean basic. Tennis courts have lots of cracks and weeds in cracks. Pool not yet open April. Staff very nice. Comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

It is a motel. Not what i will call a resort.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was great.
Cons: To heat in advance their room when it is cold.
When we arrived, thé room had not been heated for some days, even if the weather was les than 5 degrees. For supper we selected scallops. Unfortunately, the y were so salted that we were not able to eat them. We got a discount of 20% only. I ordered a bloody Mary, but they did not tomato havé the ingredients to mâle it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Convenient location but overpriced

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Nestled in the forest and 1hr drive to the Canyon, however the hotel needs modernisation. breakfast included and quite good variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Frank & Janine Rotter, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Mountain Ranch. We take each review very seriously. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your breakfast while staying with us, but discouraged that you feel that the property was overpriced. We do hope if you are ever back in the USA you consider giving us a second change to earn your business. Sincerely, Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Chef!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome and how they really took care of their guests when we arrived late in the evening!
Cons: The day staff was not very friendly or welcoming. Our morning experience was a disappointment compared to our welcome the night before.
We had the best customer experience ever!! We had been driving late from the Grand Canyon and finally arrived just after the restaurant closed for the evening. The front desk person said we should go up and see if they would be willing to still make us dinner. Well they more then offered, they took care of us like they were just waiting for us. They set us up at a nice table, allowed us to order off the entire menu and encouraged us to order their unique items. The bartender took excellent care of us and the chef even came to our table to explain a couple of the dishes. The food was exceptional! The service was top notch!! I hope the management of this resort makes a run for raising the bar of the entire facility. Ownership has a gold mine in their energetic and exceptional Chef and their evening staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Frank & Janine Rotter, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our property and our exceptional staff! Chef Chad and his motivated culinary team strives to offer a unique symphony of flavors, healthfully prepared for your enjoyment. We are thrilled to hear our goal of making your dining experience memorable, was successful. Thank you for acknowledging the fact that we are truly trying to raise the bar of guest service satisfaction throughout our property. We hope to see you again very soon! Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Wonderful place for active people

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The mountain bikes were awesome. The free breakfast was really good.
Location: It is about 5 minutes from Williams downtown, 1 hour from the Grand Canyon, and 1/2 hour from Flagstaff. We went to Flagstaff for dinner--Criollo!
We booked at the last minute and couldn't find anything else reasonably priced. It is an interesting place. It is more like a motel but upgraded. We checked in--even though Expedia says there is not front desk, there actually is. They have a cute little lobby area, a store, a restaurant, and a gym. After getting settled in, my husband and I borrowed their mountain bikes. The bikes were really nice and we went on a trail behind the resort for some off-roading! We also road on the street and saw some of the nearby ranches. The beds were a little firm for us but we slept well. The room was clean and neat and really big.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Frank & Janine Rotter, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed touring on the mountain bikes and were able to take in the great sites around the property. We hope to see you again if passing through from California! Sincerely, Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Hotel advertised amenities well beyond actual. Very disappointed should of stayed at the bestwestern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Frank & Janine Rotter, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We are a seasonal hotel offering seasonal activities and amenities for our guests. It is disclosed on the booking site you made your reservation on about our pool and spa being seasonal, we are sorry if you did not read that information prior to booking your stay. However, there are several other guest amenities offered; mountain biking, fitness facility, and hiking. Sincerely, Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pricey for what we got...

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Since it's 'winter' - no pool or hot tub. Plenty of ski places have hot tubs in the winter, why not here? And how about a DVD player? Or Netflix access? Not sure what the TV offered besides extensive cable. And no directions on TV offerings, or even a listing of hotel amenities, or local amenities (like, Williams is 10 minutes away and really cute). And this hotel is not IN Williams. And, the dinner menu was very expensive for what you got. Really, that was not a $30 entree...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Frank & Janine Rotter, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for visiting us, and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are a seasonal hotel, offering seasonal activities and amenities for our guests. It is disclosed on the booking site you made your reservation on about our pool and spa being seasonal, we are sorry if you did not read that information prior to booking your stay. We also disclose the fact that we are located outside of Williams, you will find this information as well on the booking site listed under location; Situated in the mountains, this hotel is 1.2 mi (1.9 km) from Grand Canyon Deer Farm and within 12 mi (20 km) of Bearizona and Williams Depot. Small Town America Museum and Wild West Junction are also within 12 mi (20 km). We are fueled by a passion for exceptional food, passing on to our guests healthful cuisine, inspired by nature. All of our ingredients are natural, offering you organic produce, and only grass-fed, sustainable proteins free from antibiotics and hormones. Our goal is to make your dining experience memorable, and it is regretful that your experience was less than desired, however please know that our menu prices do reflect the above average quality of food that is served. We hope if you are ever in our area again, that you give us another chance to earn back your business. Sincerely, Frank & Janine Rotter/Owners
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Ok Hotel with Good food

Posted Apr 3, 2015
We were a little disappointed in the price of the room for what we got. The room needed more updating. The food was good at the restaurant. Hotel staff was fine. We didn't like the room and the 50$ pet fee was outrageous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Frank & Janine Rotter, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations, this disappoints us greatly. However, we are delighted to know the restaurant and staff, met your expectations. The pet fee is disclosed prior to booking your stay, on the booking site your reservation was made. We really hope that if you find yourself in northern Arizona again, that you'll give us an opportunity to earn your business one more time. Frank & Janine Rotter/ Owners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Excellent motel in a mountain setting

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the beds and the people.
Location: It is neat Williams, AZ and Flagstaff, AZ. The grand canyon is about an hour away. Sedona is about a hour away.
We were very pleased with this property. It was clean and well cared for. The staff was very good and the restaurant was very good as well. The rooms were clean, up to date and the beds comfortable. All rooms face the mountains and the views are exceptional. We would and have recommended it to our friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Jim, Thank you for your five star review! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spacious , clean and neat

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visited polar express , stayed here for 1 night and went to bearezona .. Nice hotel specious rooms, very clean. Free breakfast was OK .. There is nothing like restaurants or stops within 5 miles .. But gr8 location nice views ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Janine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review Mountain Ranch. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. We hope to see you again in the near future. Frank & Janine Rotter-Owners