Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anaheim CA

Old motel close to the Grand Canyon

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Close to Grand Canyon
Cons: A lot.
Location: Nothing in town to do except fill up your car, eat and shop a little up and down main street. Once you see the Grand Canyon, time to leave town.
The Downtowner Motor Inn is an old drive in motel that must be about 60 or more years old. The owners upgraded the plumbing and furniture but stopped there. I thought the room was really small for the money. The choice of TV channels left a lot to be desired. The TV was a flat screen but the channel listings did not match what was actually showing. The bed was too big for the room. The lighting in the room was poor. The only advantage I saw was it was cheaper than a room in Tusayan right outside the park. The Tusayan Hotels were more expensive but they looked more up to date as we drove by them . Overall I think this motel is like all the others in town. Built years ago, they just don't measure up to the Holiday Inn Expresses and La Quinta standards of today.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Location: Grand Canyon 2 hours drive, train going there from Williams.
Looks like a bunch of sheds from the outside. When inside rooms could not be more wrong! Room immaculate and very friendly staff, wish it found the place ealier. The town Is very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Woke up several times in the middle of the night

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Soundproof walls and windows.
Room was nice and place was nice. However, it showed out that several trains came right past the location each night and made a lot of noise. Our room was closest to the tracks and the walls were thin. I'm normally sound asleep a night, but I woke up about 3-4 times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Refurbished Rte66 Motel does not measure up

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The bed was new and comfortable
Cons: Rooms this small should sell for less. The Air Conditioner needs to be replaced with a much quieter one.
Despite an effort to update and install new finishes and furniture the room is too small, it is very hot and the AC is extremely noisy. Look for a better option
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, well furnished room

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Although the room was clean and well furnished with new appointments and bedding, the room and bath were so small that there was not even room for two nightstands or space for two suitcases, I'm talking about 150 square feet. If we were not paying $120.00 per night I would understand, but we were !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great Place beautiful town

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Very nice room staff very helpful town is beautiful had a wonderful time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, Ok

Great value in a fantastic location!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, modern decor, great breakfast selection, super clean, organic bath products, extra towels
Cons: The only complaint I do have was how hot and stuffy the room was, especially at night. Needs a bigger a/c unit or fans for the summer heat.
Location: The location is perfect; I had no idea Williams was so cute. Perfect place to stay before heading up to the Canyon in the morning.
I must admit that I was a tad hesitant to book a motel. But after looking at the pictures and reviews, I decided it was the best value in the Williams area. It was a great decision! The staff member that welcomed us was extremely friendly, asking how our day had gone, if we were visiting the Canyon, etc. The room was impeccably clean and modern. Being able to park right in front of our door made unloading/loading up very convenient. What I didn't expect, was how close all the cute restaurants and shops were. It's an easy 2-5 minute walk to everything in downtown Williams.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neal from Nottingham, UK

Clean and modern furnished rooms, friendly staff

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Lovely touches in the rooms, new and modern furnishing, occasional seating and floral settings.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Williams is the nearest town to the Grand Canyon and most visitors will be going there. Route 66 runs through the town.
This motel is one of many in Williams but I would suggest it stands out with some very nice and classic touches; smart and modern rooms and bathrooms, choice of music in the breakfast area (low volume classical) and seating dotted around the motel for lazing or drinking coffee as you chose. The staff were efficient, friendly and extremely helpful and the recommended evening restaurant was up to expectations. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Southampton U.K.

Ideally situated.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Very comfortable stay with large room and spa bath. Only a stagger from all the bars and restaurants in Williams. Breakfast was across the road. Room was also next to the road and there was a Hog rally that weekend so a bit noisey in the morning not good for a hangover but otherwise great. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by world traveler from M

Redone older motel

Posted Apr 30, 2014
This older motel has been totally redone. Not just a face lift this motel has been done from the outside to the inside. Friendly staff, good breakfast, included. 4 out of 5.