Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great Dive Resort

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location. Friendliness
Cons: More attention to cleaning up the things people leave lying around (like their shorts hanging on the rope between the beach & pool).
Location: Dive! Stingray City. Georgetown is not very interesting unless you like to shop
This is a super hotel if you're a dive buff. The location is perfect for most dive sites on the west and north of the island. The staff is super well-trained in making the guests comfortable and happy -- very friendly and responsive. Arie, the owner, went out of his way to make sure that everything was just right -- food, room, amenities. The location is quiet, not on the tourist path at all. If you're looking for a big white beach and fancy hotel, go to 7 Mile Beach, but if you're looking for a quiet location, great diving (shore and boat) and a welcome feeling, this is the place. I read a number of complaints about the AC in other reviews -- to me the temperature was just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Oceanview, comfortable bed, friendly staff, adjoining dive shop for renting snorkel gear and taking SCUBA lessons
Cons: WiFi was only okay. Worked best in the restaurant, bar and lobby area.
Location: The DiveTech DiveShop attached to the resort is excellent, too.
We had the best time. Beautiful ocean view & access. Off the (tourist) beaten path. Breakfast was excellent. Friendly staff. The bed was very comfortable. Location was great for a dive vacation with DiveTech. We did a lot of snorkeling all around the island so a car was necessary to travel to different spots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul

Nice ocean view; spacious, comfortable, welcoming

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Oceanside view with dining, friendly helpful staff, dive operation and pool on site. I lost my key & they forgave me without an additional charge
Cons: Arie could do much for the environment by placing a recycle bin in each room - the only one I found was hidden near the bar.
Location: Hard to find; watch for small signs along the North shore. GPS might be helpful - Makabuca is great Oceanside bar/restaurant but food, service average
This is s great place if you are looking for wonderful accommodations without the upscale prices! We stayed 8 nights and the service was reliable & pleasant. Arie, the owner, is a friendly, cheerful guy who is on-site from early morning until evening, and he goes out of his way to make guests happy! This is true of most of the staff as well. The resort is a challenge to find initially & you will not be able to see the sunset from the resort, but it's a short drive to the West shore & the view is phenomenal! We did not have a GPS & not sure one would work on the island, but once you get to know your way around and become accustomed to driving on the left side (I entered a one way going the wrong way only once!) it gets easier. The island is small, so not much chance of getting lost. We appreciated being within a short drive to seven mile beach and Georgetown. We also drove around to the East side which had its own gems to offer such as the Lighthouse restaurant, blowholes, and gorgeous beaches. Rum Point was beautiful but extremely tourist-laden and expensive. You can just hang out on the beach and snorkel at no charge. Overall, great place to stay! There is no kitchen in the room but there is a small coffee pot, refrigerator, freezer, and spotty internet reception - mostly worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Staff

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The view of the ocean,
Location: little difficult to get to sight seeing venues. But it is a dive resort, you come to dive not tour the city.
The staff including Tuffy the cat were very nice, very attentive, well, except for Tuffy, that just did the cat thing, but loved it when we paid attention to it...pet me, scratch my ears.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Texas

Nice hotel next to beach

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Very good. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Loved my stay!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
From the moment I arrived at Cobalt Coast until the moment I departed, everyone I interacted with from the owner to the waitresses, housekeepers, bartender, divemasters, and landscapers went out of their way to make me comfortable and happy. The whole environment was relaxed, friendly, comfortable, and definitely earned my trust. The relationship with DiveTech on-site made diving easy. I will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granbury, TX

Great little resort for scuba diving

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Everyone at the resort was wonderful and made sure anything you needed, it was taken care of. We stayed for 7 days and didn't want to leave.
Cons: I wish the rooms included more in their kitchenette. A fridge is all. No microwave, no utensils, no anything. That was the only downside.
Location: Location is 8 minutes away from anything. A rental car is necessary, or taxi, if you want to see anything.
We had a great time after we finally got to Cobalt Coast Resort. We arrived late and hungary. This was our first time in the Caymans and the resort is definitely difficult to find if you have a rental car and it is after dark. The resort does provide a shuttle from the airport, but we wanted to be able to see some of the rest of the island so we rented. You need a car or a taxi to get to restaurants or just about anything. The rest is definitely a bargain in our mind. The staff was amazing. Anything you needed, it was taken care of. The food was very good and reasonable. A wonderful breakfast each morning. I was there to scuba and Dive Tech is the best. My husband was there to relax by the pool and at the beach. We both succeeded!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Staff great, room needs help

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Some updates to the bathroom, a microwave or toaster oven with some basic silverware
Location: Dive, dive, dive
Air conditioning didn't work well. There is only low, high, and off. While the staff was exceptionally nice, the mold on the ceiling, the musty room, and the yucky grout in our bathroom was not pleasing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Diver's Paradise

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Away from busy Seven Mile Beach. Very calm and relaxing. Great location for DIVERS!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Divers resort with fantastic setting and service

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Hospitality, food prices and quality, rooms and beds, ease of diving on site
Location: Go to Macabukka bar behind Cracked Conch and enjoy the atmosphere. On a separate night splurge &eat at Cracked Conch. GET the Calamari!!
Arie and his staff at Cobalt Coast are fantastic and friendly. Once you stay you are part of the "family". They even gave us the room we stayed in last time! Talk about home-away-from-home! Beds are O-SO-Comfy and rooms are quiet and very comfortable. Food prices are VERY reasonable and are excellently prepared. alcohol prices are just as fair and Colin is an amazing bartender (if you can keep up with his fast talking Irish accent). The diving with Dive-tech is awesome. Don't miss the shore dive at lighthouse point. The mini-wall and the statue of the Guardian of the Deep is just incredible. this is our 3rd trip to Cayman and will not be our last!