Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City MO area

Been here several times but ...

Posted Mar 29, 2015
I do like The Reef but this trip we had: 1. Mismatched porch furniture, one cheap plastic and one metal chair, cheap small table 2. Refrigerator needed to be replaced. 3. Bed frame was cracked and re screwed and taped Just odd for such a usually nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The hotel seats right on the beach in front of a marine park. The water is beautiful. The stuff is friendly and the overall atmosphere is very relaxing. Great snorkeling right from the beach: fishes, sea turtles, squids, star fishes. Ideal for the families with children: separate living room with 2 pull over beds, kitchenette, a store across the street. The only issue was with eating out: restaurant at the resort is expensive and the food is not very good. All inclusive options are oriented on people who would have many drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Simple elegance

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Perfectly situated.....spotless rooms.....comfortable beds....easy access to the beach. Courteous staff...dining on the beach is a nice option.
Location: Located away from hustle/bustle. Easy access to several interesting beaches and excursions; botanic garden with blue iguanas was a treat.
Directly on a lovely beach, with very clean, very comfortable rooms. It is far away from the overly busy 7 mile beach area, so...low key, but with all the necessary amenities. Exceeded my expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

snorkeling vacation with children

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: reef/snorkeling right off hotel. pool and hot-tub right no the beach. not crowded. didn't have to dive for beach chairs. ability to cook in room.
Location: grocery store, liquor store, italian restaurant across street. loved Kurt's Korner and Captian Hermans for local food (bring cash!)
only hotel in caymen where every rooms faces sea. great snorkeling right off hotel beach. saw most fish at this location. can rent snorkel equipment right at hotel. 3rd floor offers great views, while 1st floor offers sweet access to pool and beach. great kitchen area enables to cook meals in hotel room. grocery store right across street. trundle beds perfect way for kids to sleep. loved ability to walk from beach swim and into pool and/or hot tub. amazing views. get a rental car and visit other east end beaches for more snorkeling options. multiple great local restaurants with best fresh fish! saving now to visit again soon! while there were kids/babies there, there was a nice balance to it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Great, quiet location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Great location, very quiet but stunning views from every room.
Cons: They have an all-inclusive option that we passed on as it seemed very high. We would have used this if the pricing had been more reasonable.
Location: A great place to relax and chill out. Public beaches are close by - can get to the 7 Mile Beach area easily - Cemetery Beach is a great place.
This was our first trip to the Cayman Islands and we were looking for more of a quiet, relaxing place than the much busier 7 Mile Beach area. The Reef Resort was a perfect spot for a second honeymoon. The area is fairly secluded at the far East End (almost North End) - very quiet, no loud music, not a party place. It's about a 35 minutes ride or so from the airport. There was a good mix of couples and families staying there and the staff was very friendly. The water is amazing, we snorkeled right from shore every day and there are also 3 pools to use and your choice of lounge chairs spread throughout the very large beach property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Second Stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: location
My husband windsurfs. The convenient rental at the hotel next door is a big + for us. The Reef is great if you want to move in and relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London ontario

Terrible experience

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The beach was auful and the bed wasbroken. What else do I say The towel exchange is from theolden days and a city block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom State College, PA

Off the Cayman beaten path

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Location: private and less traveled
Cons: To say the wifi is poor is being charitable.
Location: Snorkeling right at the resort. Scuba diving nearby (check out Ocean Frontiers for their discovery dive--lots of fun).
There is much to like about the Reef Resort. This was our second stay here with the first being two years ago. If you are looking for a bit more privacy and less humanity than the Seven Mile Beach establishments, this is the place to go. With that said, it is not a perfect experience. Unfortunately, the nature of my profession requires that I occasionally check email and stay "plugged in." The Reef made this next to impossible with very close to the worst wifi imaginable. The wireless network was down more than it was up; on those occasions when it worked, it was pathetically slow. If you need to stay connected during your vacation, this may not be the place for you. Our two-room suite was also situated right next to the two adjoining swimming pools. While very pretty to look at, it came with the price of shrieking and wailing little ones much of the time. On the plus side, the snorkeling is great. Saw many different kind of beautiful fish, a sting ray, and a sea turtle. The weather was very nice, though this side of Grand Cayman has a more or less constant stiff easterly breeze. If I could give more granular ratings, I would give the Reef 3.5 stars. I round them up to 4 as a "3" rating doesn't seem quite adequate for a decent establishment. Fix the wifi and the 4 stars will be fully earned!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you want to be away from the excitement !

Posted Mar 12, 2015
I didn't like the hotels location because we were wanting a little more excitement and closer to Shops n nice beaches !! If you are reported and want a nice quiet ace to stay this would be perfect for you ;) it is a nice hotel . Rating a 3 on a 1-5 rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Brunswick, Canada

Great resort

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Everything was perfect.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Location is a bit out of the way, which we liked but renting a car is a must to see attractions on the Island.
We were looking for a nice quiet resort overlooking the ocean and on the beach. The resort was as advertised and exactly what we were looking for. The beach with the winds and waves might be a bit intimidating for small children but the pools were excellent.