Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room and service was terrific, except the food service was horrible, they had new employees with no training, no food manager around, took forever for my food and they didn't even offer a discount, and the pizza wasn't completely cooked!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that you did not have a satisfactory experience in our restaurant. I will be passing this along to our Kitchen Manager so that he can look into this. I can assure you this is not our standard and it will be taken care of. I hope to have you as a guest again so we can show you a great experience. Thank you, Brittany Johnson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2014
Great for visiting the University of North Dakota.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our location next to UND. Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Apr 27, 2014
I booked a room here because it was convenient to where I needed to go on the university campus without worrying about finding appropriate parking. The hotel itself was nice and welcoming and staff were friendly and helpful. My room and linens were clean, but I did notice the wallpaper in the bathroom was coming up in places so some attention to cosmetic details wouldn't be out of place. Again, the room was clean and comfortable, so nothing that would keep me from staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed our location to UND. I apologize that you were not satisfied with some aspects of the room and I can assure you this is not our standard. We do hope to see you again! Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Judy Beaudry from Grand Forks, ND

visiting family

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the stay. We were visiting family for the Easter Holiday. They live nearby and the hotel is a nice place for us to stay. The hotel is quiet and convienient.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you were able to enjoy the holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Melissa from Manitoba

Very happy!!

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very happy ... quiet clean room and bed was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dunkman

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kory from Bismarck, ND

Great beds, understaffed breakfast

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: As stated the beds are fantastic and my wife and I slept very well. We enjoyed a drink in the bar and while the bar is sparsely stocked it was fine.
Cons: Breakfast! There were no bowls for the oatmeal (plates had to be used), and the notes above would fix it.
Location: Right on UND so if it's Hockey season one of the nicest venues in the nation is nearby. Not far from the Alerus Center and dining and drinks are near
Very seldom while away from my bed at home (Tempurpedic) do I sleep well the first night in a new bed. Fortunately the beds at Hilton Garden Inns (HGI) are able to be adjusted for firmness and sleeping well isn't an issue. I selected this hotel because a few years ago while away from home for work for a month I stayed at a HGI outside of Indianapolis and enjoyed the staff and grounds. Unfortunately the Grand Forks HGI isn't the same as the one in Indiana. The buiding is nice and clean and the staff is friendly enough. The part where I was let down was Sunday for breakfast. I have a lifelong friend and his family who were meeting my wife and me out for brunch at 10:15. I felt for the woman who was running the dining room floor. The tables were packed and she was alone attempting to care for the needs of everyone there, so service was slow. After a while another staff member showed up and he aided in the meals service. My wife and I enjoyed our made to order meals we had omletes and a waffle. Our friends had an omlete and potatoes. The potatoes looked good, but we were told they were unseasoned and undercooked inside. Our friends were hoping for a second serving of eggs, but the server didn't come by prior to the grill closing to ask if anyone wanted anything until 10:55 and when they asked they were told the grill had been turned off and was already cold at 11:00. The breakfast hours go until 11:00 so they shouldn't have been denied service prior to then.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy that you found the Garden Sleep System beds comfortable! I apologize that you did not have a satisfactory breakfast experience and I can assure you this is not our standard. I do hope to have you as a guest again in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review! Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nic from Winnipeg, MB

Snowed Inn

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Nicely appointed rooms, great lobby area and good rec facilities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Interesting university location worth getting ofvthe beaten path for.
Storm stayed in Grand Forks and lucky to land at the Hilton Garden Inn. Staff was also storm stayed, office folks tending bar, manager serving in the restaurant... and still smiling the next morning. Awesome hotel made even better by this staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! It was a crazy storm but we all made it and had a great time with all of our storm stayed guests! Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manager