Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kory from Bismarck, ND

Great beds, understaffed breakfast

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: As stated the beds are fantastic and my wife and I slept very well. We enjoyed a drink in the bar and while the bar is sparsely stocked it was fine.
Cons: Breakfast! There were no bowls for the oatmeal (plates had to be used), and the notes above would fix it.
Location: Right on UND so if it's Hockey season one of the nicest venues in the nation is nearby. Not far from the Alerus Center and dining and drinks are near
Very seldom while away from my bed at home (Tempurpedic) do I sleep well the first night in a new bed. Fortunately the beds at Hilton Garden Inns (HGI) are able to be adjusted for firmness and sleeping well isn't an issue. I selected this hotel because a few years ago while away from home for work for a month I stayed at a HGI outside of Indianapolis and enjoyed the staff and grounds. Unfortunately the Grand Forks HGI isn't the same as the one in Indiana. The buiding is nice and clean and the staff is friendly enough. The part where I was let down was Sunday for breakfast. I have a lifelong friend and his family who were meeting my wife and me out for brunch at 10:15. I felt for the woman who was running the dining room floor. The tables were packed and she was alone attempting to care for the needs of everyone there, so service was slow. After a while another staff member showed up and he aided in the meals service. My wife and I enjoyed our made to order meals we had omletes and a waffle. Our friends had an omlete and potatoes. The potatoes looked good, but we were told they were unseasoned and undercooked inside. Our friends were hoping for a second serving of eggs, but the server didn't come by prior to the grill closing to ask if anyone wanted anything until 10:55 and when they asked they were told the grill had been turned off and was already cold at 11:00. The breakfast hours go until 11:00 so they shouldn't have been denied service prior to then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nic from Winnipeg, MB

Snowed Inn

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Nicely appointed rooms, great lobby area and good rec facilities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Interesting university location worth getting ofvthe beaten path for.
Storm stayed in Grand Forks and lucky to land at the Hilton Garden Inn. Staff was also storm stayed, office folks tending bar, manager serving in the restaurant... and still smiling the next morning. Awesome hotel made even better by this staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from canada

Awesome hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Great place to stay with or without the family. We went for a girls weekend away and would bring my kids back when we go shopping in Fargo again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by valerie

Very impressed

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Very impressed with the hilton Garden Inn in Grand Forks. The staff were great especially Ryan in The restaurant / bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to convention center

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The staff was very friendly but the pool was small
Comment from
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! I am very glad to hear your stay with us was a comfortable one, and that the service you received was friendly and helpful! We look forward to serving you again during your future stays! Thank you, Tori Dalziel, Social Media Champion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to the university.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, large rooms, soft towels! Very friendly staff. Loved the Kuerig in the room.
Cons: Include a breakfast with the stay. $11 for breakfast seems like a lot. We skipped it :)
Location: Close to UND. Has a walkway to the aerospace school, prevents one from having to go outside in the cold!!!
We had a quick one night stay,but we're very happy with the accommodations.
Comment from
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as taking advantage of our location! We look forward to seeing you again during your future stay! Thank you, Tori Dalziel, Social Media Champion
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Sad when you can get a better hotel cheaper in Minneapolis than in Grand Forks or really anywhere in ND now that the boom is on. $10 for breakfast which is limited on selection. Beds are very unforgiving. It's like sleeping on a foam pad over plywood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: everything. Very clean
Cons: nothing
Location: Grand Forks....I like the location near the UND campus. Very convenient.
very comfortable room
Comment from
Jan 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled to hear your stay with us was comfortable and you enjoyed yourself! We look forward to serving you again for your future stays. Thank you, Tori Dalziel, Social Media Champion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lenny from Killdeer N.D.

UND Hockey

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: close to the ralph, clean quiet
Cons: can't think of a thing
Location: like i said Hockey ...
Was a great time, got to check in an hour or so before the game, Hotel is close to the Ralph this was nice, got back from the game just as restaurant close... :( they cooked for us anyway, what a guy..:)
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at our hotel. Thank you, Brittany Johnson, Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Wendy Zlotucha from Teulon, MB

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed we slept on was uncomfortable and also being on the ground floor level was very cold due to a blizzard during our weekend stay. We had to crank the heat to 80 as the floor was very cold.