Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mb

usually a great hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: the pool area if it was in working order.
Cons: keep the heat on in your rooms.
Location: nothing really to do around the hotel there is a MCD across the street , a hugos down the street. other than that nothing close.
usually we love staying here, but this time there was no heat in our room and it was -30C outside so it was freezing and with two kids under 5 not pleasant. when we swimming the first night all the lights were out except one so hard to see the kids. the next morning the big pool with the waterslide was closed for maintenance, which they did not inform anyone that checked in. other couples asked if we were warned and we were not. the breakfast was great thought lots of selection. the room was clean but the blankets are not the warmest ... I'm sure if we had heat in our room it would be sufficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aaronfrom Winnipeg

Great clean hotel with an amazing free waterpark

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay at the Howard Johnson in Grand Forks we stayed one night before catching a flight, their airport shuttle service was very good and friendly and we had no trouble with parking there instead of at the airport. The room was clean and fine and we also found the pool/waterpark area to be clean and extremely impressive, especially for younger kids. Obviously not as large as the one at the Canad Inns but there was no extra fee to get in. Some of the reviews of this hotel are extremely negative, I can't speak about those users stays but we had a great time and even found the continental breakfast to be pretty good as far as continental breakfasts go.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brendafrom mbps

Dirty linen filthy halls

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first room was freezing cold. Even after a maintenance man attempt. Dirty/stained bed linen. The second room was warm, but also had obviously dirty bed linen . The hall's were filthy. Wall paper coming away from the walls. Heater fan sounded like an airplane revved up for take off...ALLNIGHT. If not a busy weekend in town I would have left immediately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Small hotel. Needed some updates

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Came to grandforks for a shopping weekend. I came with my mom and aunt. We shared a two queen room. We loved that it had its own door to access from the parking lot. The room was basic. Did not have a fridge or microwave. It was clean. The hotel staff were nice. The room needed some small repairs but was really good stay overall. We would stay here again :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary Sfrom Princeton

Great staff makes the hotel more worthy

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was professional, yet friendly and helpful. Because of this, I make this hotel my Grand Forks destination hotel. The pool is not deep, but the hot tub is nice, and I enjoy the water slide.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Juliefrom Walhalla, ND

In need of updates

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in dire need of updates
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a dump

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Cons: Needs to be redone from top to bottom very dirty.
Long black hair in tub and on wall of shower/tub! Terrible!! Looked up in bathroom, ceiling was a hole and toilet paper was shoved in it. No food at breakfast at 6am. Bed was bad, didn't even sleep under covers as didn't think they were clean. Only good thing was the young lady bartending, very social as I was the only one in the place. (Wonder why) Booked on line so I couldn't cancel, read reviews before booking because I didn't and all the ones I read after the fact were true it was a dump!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Dec 5, 2014
If you're looking for a place with a hot tub, pool, kid pool area and great variety for breakfast (waffles included!) then this is a good place to stay. It's great for people who want a decent place to rest but wanting to spend the day out and about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by shannon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

Nice hotel but needs updating.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Internal and external access to your room is very convenient. Walls are not very sound proof so you can hear noisy neighbors if you have them. Small bathroom but functional.