Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: In a word - cleanliness.
Dirty bedspread, enough said. Good thing they had good staff.
1 out of 5
by Louise from Gimli, Mb

Very poor value for the dollar amount

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: overall cleanliness, Coffee facilities in the room, bathroom was old and grungy, common coffee area too small, and insufficient breakfast.
Location: convenient to shopping, but not to restaurants or take-out
the phone was not working in my room. The front desk clerk brought a new phone cable, but the problem was in the jack itself. How can you rent a room without a working phone. It turned out that I had an emergency call from home (Canada) at 2:30 in the morning, and the desk clerk had to wake me up. The clerk offered to let me use the phone in the lobby - who wants to take an emergency medical call in the lobby of a cruddy motel? The clerk offered an adjustment on my room, but the next morning at check out the manager refused an adjustment, as the clerk had offered to let me use the lobby phone. Also, the bathtub seriously needed to be replaced, the cracks between the tub surround and the wall were filled with rust marks. Disgusting. One small room with 1 Queen size bed for $85.00 plus tax - and that was supposed to be the Expedia "Special" rate. A total rip-off. I will not stay at the Super 8 Grand Forks again, ever, and I will tell everyone I know on Facebook to avoid the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: Unplug sink, fix towel bar hanging in bathroom. Fix heating so that it was easier to regulate. Perhaps a little better breakfast.
Staff were wonderful! The power was out when we arrived and the staff was excellent and tried to do everything they could to make our stay good. The room was warm when we arrived even though the power had been out for an hour. It did come back on about an hour into our stay. Thank goodness because the smoke alarm kept ringing. The sink was backed up and would not drain very well. The heat was not on a thermostat so ether we had really hot room or a cold room. The room was quiet. The breakfast needed a little work. I was craving orange juice in the morning and that was out of order. There was a little coffee left when I arrived. The food was adequate; cereal and toast. Only apples; no bananas or other variety of food. I would stay somewhere else...probably closer to a restaurant that we could walk to. Could not see anything close to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Shawn from Win

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed my stay, however the room were small and the common area's where a little run down. The rooms where nice and pretty much up to date but once you stepped out of the room it felt like you where in a old hotel. It worked perfect for one night and the price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Saskatchewan

Price and location were good. Basically a budget

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: The carpet in the room needed replacing.
Location: Good shopping and lots of eating places close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Kelly from Vita

New carpet

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
There were new gorgeous carpets in the room, very nice! Beds seemed new too and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken from Winnipeg, Manitoba

Only maybe 3 miles to the main shopping center.

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good - - only problem was that we only had one chair in the room. We are seniors and it is not very comfortable sitting on the bed watching television. We had to bring a chair from the front lobby by reception. The breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Frances from Winnipeg, Manitoba

general review of hotel.

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was very clean but only had a queen size bed - - which was O.K .but we sure could have used a second chair in the room. Very uncomfortable sitting on the bed to watch television. We had to go to the mini breakfast room and borrow a chair so both of us could sit on a chair. We are 73 and 75 years old and sitting on the bed with a pillow behind our back is not the most comfortable. Our friends that we rented for are also seniors and they also had to bring a chair from the breakfast room. If we go to Grand Forks in the next year we will book at this hotel again. p.s. We may be mistaken but we are sure they improved the breakfast menu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Convenient to the hospital where we were visiting a patient.
Cons: The staff needs to be trained on how to properly make up a room.
Location: We only went to the local hospital and did not attend other events.
We rented two rooms for three people to stay two nights. One of the rooms was not made up when we got there (7:00 PM). The staff cleaned the room, but forgot to change the sheets on the bed. The next night, the room was properly made up. It appears to us the motel is understaffed and hires a lot of students / part time help who are not fully trained. Otherwise the stay was fine.