Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, very helpful.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Great holiday, would go back again, the weather was perfect, staff very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manish from Mumbai, India

Amazing Hotel close to the beach & excellent staff

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Everything is good...had one of the best vacations
Cons: 2 things would make this best hotel bestest. 1.Housekeeping needs to pull up its socks a little, 2. In food need more options for vegeterians
Location: Has its own private beach and have loadful of land and sea activities within the hotel. Very close to the Grand Bay area
Great Hotel...they welcome you with great warmth and a Big smile...and bif adieu with equal warmth... Very helpful, ever smiling staff. The location is excellent and the activities too are super fun. Each and every room is sea/lagoon facing. I would 100% visit this hotel again... The only thing that would have made the trip better was the housekeeping. The house keeping staff needs to rise upto the standard of the other staff. Other sections if are giving in 100%...Housekeeping is lingering at 90% Food wise.... they have great food... just for vegeterains... the options are limited
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LUX* Grand Gaube

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Although Expedia did not offer all inclusive. We upgraded directly with the hotel. All inclusive I believe is a must. In any case we were very well looked after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from Melbourne, Australia

Perfect !

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Everything about this hotel was enjoyable.
Location: The beach was quiet & well maintained. Nothing on this island is far away. Thanks to the new motorway, one can travel from the north coast to the sout
Fantastic hotel, which is made all the more perfect by the staff, who are so lovely & helpful, nothing is a trouble for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great quite luxury hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Rooms, service, watersports
Cons: The hotel must be made all-inclusive; otherwise prices are too steep.
Location: North of the island, great view.
LUX Gaube is a great luxury hotel with relaxing atmosphere. There are few downsides though: 1. The sea is a quite small area with a bit boring and unclear waters. But the same ture for the whole of Mauritius. If you are after clean deep waters with seal life and/or wave then you might be disappointed. 2. Everything that is not all inclusive is very expencive. 15-20 Eur for a cocktail shot and you also have to pay for water (any drink) for your diner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve and Elena from Dubai

Excellent service...did everything to help.

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: 1. Size of the beach and of the rooms. 2. Swimming in the sea was a let down because the water is so shallow and there is quite a lot of weed.
Location: Mauritius is a beautiful island but on this visit we stayed in the hotel most of the time.
Great holiday...made by the staff. Very good food. Bobo in the gym got me spending an hour with him each day...using the "Functional Measurement System" to help measure my flexibility and focus my training on building core strength. This was an excellent approach. The beach was a bit too small and the swimming in the sea could have been better.
2 out of 5
by wib001 from sa

Not a 5 star & terrible beach!

Posted Dec 18, 2013
I chose this hotel based on its good reviews, but they must have been at a different hotel! The hotel & facilities are dated The beach is man made & not great, very small areas The food is barely 3 star If you want 5 star, go somewhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Location: It's about 15 minutes from Grand Bai. But it's a very peaceful place.
The hotel facility is excellent. The staff are kind, sweet and helpful. Activity in the hotel is very enjoyful. Service is excellent. We are very happy with the experience at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elisha from Israel

excellent in all matters

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: every thing
Cons: nothing
Location: on the north cost in grad gaube village . grand bay new shoping mall is near by. Port Luis the city capitol is 15 minutesdrive. The bottanic gardens
nice room. nice sea shore free marine activities.culture activities. excellent spa activities. tenis good resturants simply magnificiant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CARMEL from SOUTH AFRICA

A taste of paradise!

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The resort is BEAUTIFUL!!! There is SO MUCH to do that it is not even necessary to leave the hotel...WOW!
Cons: A bag was lost at the airport in SA. I would have appreciated it if the staff @ reception took ownership of my claim & treated it with more urgency
Location: The hotel is situated close to Grand Bay but a bit far from the sight seeing, ie port louis and volcanos, seven sands, etc.
What a memorable experience! My sister got married at this hotel and we were very impressed with the service we received. The staff are incredible. I sincerely hope that they are remunerated well for their service as they make your stay at hotel a pleasant one. The view and scenary is just amazing...the photos we took do not do justice. The activities at the hotel is awesome. The food however was ok and edible but not really out of this world:-( We were also cheated (i think) when we went to Grand Baie and asked the hotel to organise some transport for us and the driver charged us 2500 rupees. I think that since the hotel did no receive any remuneration that they should have mentioned that we would pay less if we used the local transport. The entertainment was excellent. The hotel was always clean and smells around is divine. My daughter loved the kids Play programme. I am very sad to have had to leave but would definately like to return in the future.