Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MIA Night Clerk

Posted Mar 27, 2014
We were locked outside and couldn't check in because the night clerk was no where to be found for several minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Nice hotel close to hospital.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Close to the freeway.
I had to drive 12 hours from Omaha to Grand Rapids because my dad was in the hospital there. Best Western was a good place to stay it is just off the express way and only a 5-6 minute drive to the hospital. I was hesitant because some of the nearby hotels had reviews regarding the sketchy neighborhood. However it was quiet and in more of a business district. The breakfast that was included was surprisingly good- sausage and scrambled eggs one day - biscuts and gravy the next with a waffle station and cereals with bagels and such, wasn't expecting a hot free breakfast. Room was clean - plenty of towels ect. Staff was always friendly. The only down fall was not a lot of places nearby for food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawn

Nice value and a quick cab ride to downtown

Posted Oct 1, 2013
This is a gem for its location. It's a quick cab ride, (the city bus picks up a block away, too), to downtown and its a great value for the money. Would definitely suggest to anyone looking to stay at an above average facility for a below average price (compared to the downtown hotels).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from florida

Great place to stay!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Great staff was like talking to family and/or "old" friends. Construction of facility resutled in a very quiet room--no hearing of others bathrooms.
Cons: faster elevator
Location: Convient to x-press way and downtown Grand Rapids.
Stayed for four (4) nights. Total experience from check-in to check-out was professional and without any problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJ from Michigan

Staying at Best Western for two night.

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: Extra blanket in room. Don't make me fill in this complete review if I chose not to. You might miss out on the good comments.
Location: Between two malls.
The staff at the Best Western on Buchanan in Grand Rapids on August 16 and 17 were excellent. They could not have been better, printed a map for us to where we wanted to go and then turned on the lights in the pool area at 10:30 at night. My only concern was there could have been an extra blanket in the room. I was staying with granddaughters and they were cold and I was hot. I did ask for another blanket and received it. It was at 11:30 p.m. and the desk clerk said he couldn't bring it up but he met me at the elevator, which was very nice of him. The only other issue was someone tried to get into our room at 4 a.m. Sunday morning. They rattled the door a few times, which woke me up and I called downstairs. The rattling stopped after I called.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Chicago, IL

Pleasant surprise.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Cons: The staff were fine, once you engaged them--but they could've been more overtly welcoming and friendly.
This hotel exceeded my expectations. Not that it's a grand, elaborate downtown or resort hotel with tons of amenities, but it does all of the hotel "basics" well. The room furniture and hotel appointments all seemed pretty new, and were well-maintained. Everything was clean; the rooms had the bed configuration we asked for, and they were quiet. So, if you're looking for a "destination" hotel with plenty of above-and-beyond amenities, this isn't the place for you. But, if you're a "road warrior," looking for a nice place to sleep as you're passing through or on a short visit to the area, this place is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for family

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Location from downtown
Nice and clean hotel. Nice employees.Nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

fine hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2012
We were inGrand Rapids for a funeral and didn't spend much time in the room or at the hotel. In the morning when we were getting ready for the day we realized the the bathroom vanity light was not working and that the bathtub faucet was malfunctioning, so that you could only shower and not run the tub. Since we did not require the tub (no small children to bath) it wasn't a big inconvenience. We mentioned these two items to the clerk at check out and she discounted our room to make up for any inconvenience. This was quite satisfactory. she did mention that if we had complained the night before she would have moved us to an upgraded room, no problem. Hence we would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sault Sainte Marie, MI

Great value

Posted Sep 16, 2012
It was a great value! Close enough to downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality for the price.

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Good quality for the price with exception of could not get shower to work. Did not have time to ask staff for assist.