Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
It was a comfortable room and the room service was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Jaimee, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and room service. On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids, we appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon! Best, Christine Vo Sales/Catering Assistant & Social Media Coordinator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
This property is not spectacular, but is adequate in every way. Hotel is dated, and a little tired, but some renovations are taking place. Parking lot is very dimly lit, but hotel itself is bright and clean. Nothing too fancy, but perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not be my first choice.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
I was the only person in the lobby and the staff did not greet me. They were talking and working so I patiently waited. A guest came up to the desk and asked a question at the same time another employee came out from the back. He walked right past me and helped her. I then asked if this was where I checked in. They said oh your're here to check in? One gentleman started to check me in. Then the other one that walked past me first asked him a question about how he checked me in. Something extra he was supposed to do. He proceeded to show him and took over checking me in. But then someone entered the store. Instead of one of the other three employees helping them, he stopped helping me to help them. After about 5 minutes one of the other employees finally finished checking me in. It was the worst treatment ever. The night time staff was friendly and greeted us as soon as we walked in the door. The morning staff when I checked out were much more attentive and cordial. We were concerned about not being able to sleep because there were so many kids and it was very noisy. We were pleased that we never heard a sound. We slept very comfortably. The handrail in one of the elevators was broken. The tiles were cracked. The carpets and walls were dirty in some of the hallways. It was not worth the rate I paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2014 by Jaimee, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your candid feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our morning/night staff and experienced good sleep quality during your stay. On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids staff, I apologize for the issues you experienced with our guest services upon check-in and our various facilities. I have forwarded your feedback to our Guest Service Manager, Nicki Kindt, and our Chief Engineer, Steve Kirby. Thank you for bringing the issues to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future to show you what improvements we have done. Best, Christine Vo Sales/Catering Assistant & Social Media Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from C

Nice. Close to airport, but not too close.

Posted May 29, 2014
Everything a person needs for a business trip. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun weekend with the family.

Posted May 5, 2014
The staff was helpful and nice. The rooms were clean and the kids loved the pool. Located near the highway for easy travel around GR.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Jaimee, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms and indoor/outdoor pool. We will certainly forward your compliments to the proper management. Thank you again for providing us with your review and allowing us the pleasure to serve you. Best, Christine Vo Sales/Catering Assistant & Social Media Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Too short to give more detail. But was very comfortable for the $ value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not too far from downtown Grand Rapids

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The staff is awesome. It was easy to get around. The hotel room was very nice and comfortable.
Cons: The cleanliness of the hot tub. There could be free breakfast.
Location: A griffins hockey game isn't too far away and neither is shopping.
Very lovely, unfortunately there is no breakfast included. You have to pay for that yourself. It made me eat somewhere else. The pool and sauna were great but the hot tub could have used more cleaning maintenance. The room was very comfortable. My husband and I slept very soundly and comfortably.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
It was great (: they even helped us find good places to eat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Crown Plaza level

Posted Mar 4, 2014
My room was clean but wrinkled, the facilities are old. The staff, disinterested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tammy from Holland, Mi

Nice pool/ hot tub/sauna/ work out room

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast buffet!
Cons: Room keys repeatedly needed to be reset
Location: Shopping, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Cannonsburg ski resort, also near Calvin College, Cornerstone College,GVSU, Kuyper college
Close to every thing in Grand Rapids, malls, colleges, airport. But didn't need to go anywhere because they had everything we needed in the hotel.