Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mancelona, mi

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
It was a nice hotel with a great pool and spa area! I would recommend putting in a extra blanket in the room!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Beware ...the bathroom safety bar

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: very comfortable bed and everything very clean
Cons: respond to complaints of guests, especially when the "front desk" label on the phone doesn't call the front desk. When I asked, was told to dial "O"
Location: excellent YMCA within walking distance. Fast food restaurants nearby.
Beware...the bathroom safety bar falls out of the wall. That's right, grab the bar to step into the shower, but don't depend on it...it falls out of the wall. Ask the front desk to fix it on your 2nd day and after seven days, it is still not fixed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noise factor

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: location and staff
Cons: better sound proofing in rooms and do something about the air-conditioner in the cold weather
too much noise heard from other rooms and hallway. Needs better soundproofing. Also, continuous cold air from air-conditioning despite it being off. had to block with pillows and blankets
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissappointed! !

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The hot tub turned my hair blue ! When I told the clerk her exact words were " O I just thought it was a fashion statement. " I couldn't believe how unprofessional there staff was !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pinckney, MI

Needs some deep cleaning and updating.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The staff is nice and the beds are comfortable.
Cons: Deep cleaning and 2 breakfast attendants.
Location: We love the location because there is a great mall nearby. It is also close to Grand Rapids which has a lot to do.
This is the 3rd year my friend and I have gone to this hotel. We like it, but noticed this year it seems to be going downhill somewhat. The surface cleaning is fine, but it is in need of deep cleaning and updating. Things are looking very worn and when pulling out the night stand to plug something in, it was very dusty. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet needs 2 attendants to keep up. They ran out of eggs and sausage at 8:30. The waffle maker wasn't working well and there was no regular tea bags, only decaf.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay there.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The location was close to the Rivertown Mall.
Cons: Heavier blankets on beds, better management of food on the complimentary breakfast and better manners from the front desk gentleman.
Location: The location was great. Great mall nearby.
Very thin blanket on bed, stains on carpet and chair. Breakfast till 9:30, but at 9:05 eggs and sausage were about empty, waffle machine didn't work because of a spill, coffee wasn't very hot. When I checked out and told the man at the front desk my concerns, his response was "do you feel better?" No I didn't feel better and told him I would NEVER be staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Passable

Posted Oct 31, 2014
A little dirty and run down. Hotel has seen better days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Attractive, homey Inn

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Cons: The fan over the pool is also over the dining area. The fan is extremely loud so eating breakfast was unpleasant. Could use some updating as well.
Location: I don't know about the area. We just stopped over night to visit family.
This was a very nice hotel. Grateful to others who recommended it. Our niece lives nearby and we hope others in our family will take advantage of this inn. It is open to dogs which we needed. Even the dog room was in good shape. It's a bit rough around the edges but clean, cute and what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington ON Canada

Would recommend this hotel and will return

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: location was great for our stay.
Cons: Somewhat of a musty odour in room initially but we opened window which helped.
Location: University, shopping, restaurants
Once we were checked in the room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. A bit of a musty smell to the air but this was easily resolved by opening window. The bed was extremely comfortable which was a definite plus . . . mattress was soft which contributed to great sleep. We enjoyed overlooking the pool area and breakfast was good with lots of options. Thank you for a pleasant stay in Grandville,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incompetent staff, unclean room

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Took the front desk 45 minutes to figure out the check in process. We arrived at 11:30pm, one kid working counter, he found or reservation but couldn't process it to check us in. He also couldn't cancel it. We sat in the lobby for a full 45 minutes while he called 3 different managers for help. When we finally made it to our room, there was a spare mattress folded in half and stuck between a chair and the wall. Very bad experience.