Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alpena michigan

Very close to many of grand Rapids amenities.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Even though this hotel is a popular spot for young sports teams, we found it quiet and very comfortable. The room was spotless (a biggie for me), the staff was friendly, the ever ready coffee was hot and the complimentary breakfast was filled with many choices. The only negative part was that we had to reset our heating unit as it wasn't working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and safety

Posted Oct 19, 2014
I was worried about this location as I routed from East Grand Rapids (safe and well kept) and went through a less than desirable part of Grand Rapids. I am a female and was travelling alone with my college age daughter. Location was FINE. Beds were so comfortable and even though location was near the highway we didn't hear a thing. Have stayed at Hampton Inn's across the U.S. and this met our expectations. Breakfast food area was a mess but we ate late (9:00 a.m.) and it was crowded. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dearborn MI

Decent hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and large. The bed was comfortable, except for the pillows. Great location right off the highway.
Cons: The shower is my only complaint. Even with the handle in the maximum hot position, we could only get a lukewarm shower.
We stayed here on a weekend getaway to Grand Rapids and Saugatuck. The hotel is close to the highway and about 10 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. The hotel was clean, quiet and well kept. We did not sample the breakfast, but they offered what appeared to be the typical hotel set up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great hotel, awesome location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed, cleanliness, location, heated pool, free breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Several museums, Founder's Brewery and The B.O.B. are close places to eat, and Fred Meijer Garden's is 20 minutes away. Busy traffic, but manageable.
The hotel was incredibly comfy and clean. The complimentary breakfast had a lot of options and was delicious. The hotel is right near the highway which was convenient and it's only 10 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids which offered a lot to do. The staff was friendly and check in/out was quick and easy. I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katefrom Macomb Twp, MI

Hampton Inn Grand Rapids South

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms and bathrooms are a little bit dated but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. Very nice pool with hut tub. Friendly and courteous staff. Awesome hotel for a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Makonimfrom Naperville IL

Good over night stay enroute to blue lake.

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have actually stayed in this hotel same weekend two years in a row. It has worked well for us both times. It's clean and the breakfast is good to get your day started. We always use the gym and pool which are all well maintained. See you next August weekend of the 2nd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Harveyfrom metro Detroit

Pleasant place--fine breakfast

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I recommend this place as the hotel is clean, the staff helpful, and it is conveniently located near freeways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tim Bazanyfrom Howell, MI

Saved by Hampton Inn!

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great experience and service at this location. Went out of their way to accommodate when the Quality Inn of Byron Center refused to honor a reservation. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Dirty..old

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Dirty old..smelled bad..outdated rooms..way over priced for area..