Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious room

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Lots of options at the complementary breakfast.
Location: We visited Meijer Gardens before headed out of town; beautiful grounds and lots of plants you wouldn't be able to see otherwise.
We spent two nights here and would stay here again. The room had a king bed and separate sitting area and kitchenette, which was really nice to be able to spread our stuff out. The frig was handy in storing items from the cooler, and we used the kitchen to prep items for a picnic at the beach. The hotel was a little difficult to find, especially at night in an unfamiliar area, so I recommend looking at a map ahead of time instead of solely relying on your GPS; it felt like we were headed to Meijer, but the hotel is located behind. It was convenient to be able to stop at Meijer and Walmart to pick up items for the beach. One of the luggage carts was rickety and unbalanced. We paid a great price for the room; we stayed at another Holiday In Express later in the trip and paid more for less room amenities (I would maybe think the higher rate was for a better respective location, but the location of the other hotel wasn't that great, so I don't know why we paid more).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

The Best Hot Breakfast Buffet

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The hot, breakfast buffet included many breakfast items: meats, eggs, pancakes, fruits, cold/hot cereals, desserts, juices, yogurt, coffee and tea.
Cons: Visibility needs improvement. A street sign should be added out on the street. Tree branches should be cut, that obscure the name on the building.
Location: The Holiday Express was near impossible to find, located behind another motel; however, it was on a main highway with many things to do.
The Holiday Inn Express was clean, comfortable and affordable; complete with kitchenette, an extra pull out couch bed, a hot tub, indoor heated pool and large, hot buffet style breakfast. The only negative experience we had was trying to find the Holiday Express. It was near impossible, because it is located behind Comfort Inn motel (off of the street). There was a large tree with branches and foliage in front of the building that obscured the name on the building, so we thought it was a part of the other motel. The Holiday Inn Express does not have a sign out in front on the street. Once we found the Holiday Inn Express, we quickly forgot about our frustrations trying to locate it, because of its many enmities. It is located on 28th street, which is obviously one of the main thoroughfares in the area, because there were many restaurants, gas stations, retail stores and places of entertainment up and down the highway, spanning at least 10 miles in either direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Nice hotel and accommodations. Room seemed big and set up well. Seemed to be newer and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Biba from Ontario

Soccer in sands Grand Haven!!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Staff was really accomadating and any questions asked they were pleasant and told us where shopping and restaurants were.
Cons: The pool had to much chlorine kids said when they went swimming
We all had a great time. Went to Grand Haven for soccer in the sands tournament.the ride was about 45 mins. But the hotel was lose to shopping and great restaurants. Especially Olive Garden yummy. We don't have any here in Ontario Canada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friday night stay with two friends.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: It was clean, quiet and the suite was roomy, well appointed and comfortable.
On Saturday my friends and I attended the AHRMA motorcycle road races at nearby Grattan Raceway. We wanted to arrive at the track rested and early on the Saturday, so I booked the hotel suite for Friday night. It worked out exactly as planned.
3 out of 5
by Jim from Missouri

Posted May 21, 2014
Location: You definitely need access to a car. Only one restaurant within walking distance. 1/2 mile. Others are farther away.
My company made the reservation at FULL price. When I arrived I was given a handicapped room with no reason being given.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard

good price for a good hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The price was fair for what we received
Cons: This hotel is starting to show it's age. Probably one of the older hotels in the chain and it now needs some attention
Location: The hotel is set back from the main road (28th street). Many restaurants in the area but they are at least 1-2 miles from this location.
If you just need a room for a night or two this hotel will suffice. The room was clean and well maintained. It is not within walking distance to restaurants or other points of interest. There are at least a dozen other hotels on 28th street in Grand Rapids that are much nicer for a few bucks more but price is what I used to make my decision.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Lansing, Mi

Great place, great people

Posted Apr 14, 2014
My granddaughter is physically, and the staff went above and beyond making are stay a great experience. Everyone was do friendly, made us feel at home. Will stay there again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

spring break and pool temp closed

Posted Apr 13, 2014
pool was being maintenanced, on Spring break of all times! had to go across the parking lot to a smaller pool at a different hotel....inconvenient, to say the least! Also, the other hotel had a fire alarm go off while we were in the pool. so not happy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from Lansing, MI

Nice Hotel on 28th Street Close to Meijer

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Rooms were spacious and clean.
Rented (3) rooms on a Saturday. It was very busy in the small pool, being that it was the start of spring break. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Only complaint would be that all the vending machines water bottles were sold out.