Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Great value!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay here during the weekend of our family reunion. The staff was pleasant, the room accommodations were nice and well maintained, and the complimentary hot breakfast was good. We would stay here again if traveling to this area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from South Lyon, MI

Good stay!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, pool, having the suite with a separate door and a kitchen.
Cons: There was a time on Saturday night when there weren't any pool towels available, but the lady at the front desk supplied us with bath towels.
Location: Lots of food choices and shopping. Easy commute to downtown and I recommend the public museum.
The hotel is under construction for remodeling, but there was never a noise nuisance. The hotel was clean and all the employees were nice. Because of the construction, they're snack area was greatly reduced, but I'm sure this will be fixed once the construction is done. I would definitely stay here again. Lots of food places close by and an easy ride into downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2014
Hi Ken, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us, we know there are many lodging options to pick from so your trust in us to provide you with the best of accommodations, service and amenities is very much appreciated. I apologize for the lack of pool towels available, please know that we have discussed this with the appropriate team members to ensure that it does not happen again. We absolutely love our location, and I'm glad you do too! The choices for shopping and dining are extraordinary! We can't wait to see you again, and show you all of the changes that our renovation has brought! It is going to be stunning! Warm regards, Cassaundra Hickok Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tami from toledo

Great breakfast

Posted Feb 23, 2014
This hotel has very comfortable beds, a lot of space in the room and a great breakfast. Each item on the breakfast buffet was excellent. The rooms in the suite can be closed off and one person can be sleeping while the other person watches TV.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2014
Hi Tami, Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us! We absolutely love our huge residential style suites--they give our guests a peaceful and private place to come back and relax after a day of business or a night on the town. We would love to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Grand Rapids area! Kind thanks, Cassaundra Hickok Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Feb 10, 2014
It met our needs. I thought the price was great for the space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi! Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our roomy suites! We hope to see you again when you return to Grand Rapids! Warm regards, Cassaundra Hickok Director of Sales
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Homewood Suites by Hilton from Grand Rapids, MI

I'll never stay there agaun!

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very idssatisfied with my stay! Although my room was paid in full and non-refundable, the hotel insisted that I leave a credit card at check-in for incidentals. I don't own a credit car and told them that I would leave cash as I always do at hotels. They wouldn't take the cash. I was told that if my friend had not allowed them to use her card, they would have had the 6 of us leave and go to a different hotel. As is turns out, they charged (not held) the "incidental" fee for both rooms on my friend's card and thankfully she noticed it a few days later. She called and they are going to have the charge removed. This is why I don't give them my debit card. Like I said, I son't own a credit card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the negative experience you had at our hotel. I'm very sorry for any inconvenience caused by our policy of needing a credit card to hold for incidentals. I'm also very sorry for the error made by our computer system and for not catching it immediately. I have already addressed this with my front desk staff to ensure everyone is properly trained going forward. I'm glad that we were able to get everything straightened out and I hope that if you find yourself back in the area you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Rebecca K. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah from Grand Blanc

Poor Service

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in great condition and the rooms were very nice. Our experience with the staff, however, was not as great... According to the website, check in was anytime after noon but because the previous group checked out late, they couldn't get us into our room right away. That would have been fine except housekeeping took extra long cleaning our room even though they were told to hurry and even got another room cleaned before ours (a group that arrived after us). We had to wait in the lobby for over an hour! Along with that, the website said they'd have DVD players available and they didn't... Overall a VERY disappointing experience. Probably wouldn't go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites Grand Rapids. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms, but I do apologize they were not ready when you arrived. Our check in time is 3 PM and I really appreciate you letting us know that it was listed incorrectly on Hotels.com. We have since updated the information for future guests. Also, we do have DVD players, but I apologize that one was not available during your stay as they are on a first come basis. I really hope that you will allow us another opportunity to show you the level of service of which we are capable of on your next trip to Grand Rapids. Sincerely, Rebecca K. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by carla harvey from grand rapids

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms was nice. I did not like the fact that Hotels.com did not say that the pool and hot tub was being remodeled. My sole purpose for going to the hotel was to take my kids swimming. They offered to let us use the pool at their sister property. It was cold and snowy and I had small children I had to take in and out in the cold, wet. this was not a good experience. rooms, hotel, and staff was great. Hotels.com should be aware of what's going on with the properties they market.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carla Harvey, Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites Grand Rapids. I'm glad that you enjoyed our newly remodeled suites. Please accept my apology that our pool is under renovation, and that it was not made more clear on Hotels.com. I understand why you would be frustrated by this. We are excited to be able to offer our guests a salt water pool, and are looking forward to it being finished very soon. I hope that you will be able to come back when it is finished so your kids can try it out. Sincerely, Rebecca K. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susan from Atlanta

Clean, but terrible breakfast

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Newly remodeled, so nice and clean. Two things that drove me nuts, though. No full length mirror in the rooms! Strange after a remodel. The coffee was the worst I've ever had - undrinkable, for me - and tea water was not hot enough to brew the tea. So good for sleeping, but don't count on breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Susan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on your recent stay with us. We absolutely love our newly renovated guest suites! I am so glad that you enjoyed them too! I am terribly sorry that your breakfast/coffee experience at our hotel was disappointing. We are reviewing your comments with the food and beverage department to ensure any deficiencies are corrected. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback, and are truly sorry we did not succeed in creating a memorable experience for you. We hope to see you on your return trip to Grand Rapids to show you how we have used your comments to better our hotel. Kind regards, Cassaundra Hickok Director of Sales