Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from South Lyon, MI

Good stay!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, pool, having the suite with a separate door and a kitchen.
Cons: There was a time on Saturday night when there weren't any pool towels available, but the lady at the front desk supplied us with bath towels.
Location: Lots of food choices and shopping. Easy commute to downtown and I recommend the public museum.
The hotel is under construction for remodeling, but there was never a noise nuisance. The hotel was clean and all the employees were nice. Because of the construction, they're snack area was greatly reduced, but I'm sure this will be fixed once the construction is done. I would definitely stay here again. Lots of food places close by and an easy ride into downtown.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Hi Ken, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us, we know there are many lodging options to pick from so your trust in us to provide you with the best of accommodations, service and amenities is very much appreciated. I apologize for the lack of pool towels available, please know that we have discussed this with the appropriate team members to ensure that it does not happen again. We absolutely love our location, and I'm glad you do too! The choices for shopping and dining are extraordinary! We can't wait to see you again, and show you all of the changes that our renovation has brought! It is going to be stunning! Warm regards, Cassaundra Hickok Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tami from toledo

Great breakfast

Posted Feb 23, 2014
This hotel has very comfortable beds, a lot of space in the room and a great breakfast. Each item on the breakfast buffet was excellent. The rooms in the suite can be closed off and one person can be sleeping while the other person watches TV.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Hi Tami, Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us! We absolutely love our huge residential style suites--they give our guests a peaceful and private place to come back and relax after a day of business or a night on the town. We would love to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Grand Rapids area! Kind thanks, Cassaundra Hickok Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Feb 10, 2014
It met our needs. I thought the price was great for the space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah from Grand Blanc

Poor Service

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in great condition and the rooms were very nice. Our experience with the staff, however, was not as great... According to the website, check in was anytime after noon but because the previous group checked out late, they couldn't get us into our room right away. That would have been fine except housekeeping took extra long cleaning our room even though they were told to hurry and even got another room cleaned before ours (a group that arrived after us). We had to wait in the lobby for over an hour! Along with that, the website said they'd have DVD players available and they didn't... Overall a VERY disappointing experience. Probably wouldn't go back.
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites Grand Rapids. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms, but I do apologize they were not ready when you arrived. Our check in time is 3 PM and I really appreciate you letting us know that it was listed incorrectly on Hotels.com. We have since updated the information for future guests. Also, we do have DVD players, but I apologize that one was not available during your stay as they are on a first come basis. I really hope that you will allow us another opportunity to show you the level of service of which we are capable of on your next trip to Grand Rapids. Sincerely, Rebecca K. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by carla harvey from grand rapids

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms was nice. I did not like the fact that Hotels.com did not say that the pool and hot tub was being remodeled. My sole purpose for going to the hotel was to take my kids swimming. They offered to let us use the pool at their sister property. It was cold and snowy and I had small children I had to take in and out in the cold, wet. this was not a good experience. rooms, hotel, and staff was great. Hotels.com should be aware of what's going on with the properties they market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susan from Atlanta

Clean, but terrible breakfast

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Newly remodeled, so nice and clean. Two things that drove me nuts, though. No full length mirror in the rooms! Strange after a remodel. The coffee was the worst I've ever had - undrinkable, for me - and tea water was not hot enough to brew the tea. So good for sleeping, but don't count on breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Michigan

Recently renovated

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The complementary breakfast was better than average.
Cons: The coffee is weak.
Location: Not too far from downtown, free parking, near Meijer Gardens.
The only downside was that when I booked, they neglected to tell me that the pool was being renovated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel!

Posted Oct 21, 2013
We had a great 2 day stay at this hotel during parents weekend at Calvin College. Great breakfast, quiet hotel and a nice suite big enough for our son to stay with us on the pull out couch.