Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Saturday night stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: The noise from the elevator/traffic was quite noticeable.
Location: Many great attractions, museums, and restaurants in the GR area.
Check in was fast and easy. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view. We booked the breakfast package, so our parking and breakfast were free. We opted for the buffet at 616, and it did not disappoint. The chef cooked an impeccable omelette and the other choices were fresh and delicious. We hope to stay at the JW again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location. Clean. Friendly. Nice views.
Cons: Signage to city walk way. There is none. I just happened upon it.
Location: Close to everything.
Went to a concert at Van Andel Arena. Like the walk way that connects to major spots downtown. Very nice hotel, third stay. Close, $14 self parking a bonus. Good breakfast room service, nicely priced. Hotel room itself, a tad over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford Lakes, NJ

Best place to stay in Grand Rapids

Posted Sep 4, 2014
This is by far the nicest hotel in Grand Rapids, MI. It's almost surprising that it there! The location is great to all Grand Rapids has to offer, which is getting better every year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel, great location, staff was excellent.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Newly remodeled, large bathroom, very nice shower with two shower heads, beds were very comfortable and the staff was great.
Location: The hotel is situation on the river. Across the river is the Gerald Ford museum and the cultural center. Nearby are lots of good restaurants.
The hotel is well located, lots of restaurants and night life nearby, right on the river with a lovely view. Close to museums and cultural events center. The staff was very accomodating, the bar had nice ambiance and a good selection of wines by the glass.. We only ate one meal at the hotel but it was good for late night food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

The BEST Hotel in Grand Rapids - No question!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Amenities, view, cleanliness, customer service, luxury.
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: This is in the heart of Grand Rapids. In short walking distance from every conference center and restaurant (and connected by skywalks to most).
The JW has long been my favorite hotel in all of Michigan and especially in Grand Rapids. Very few hotels get a 5 out 5 in my book, but the JW does. Recently we stayed and they couldn't check us in for over an hour due to rooms being unavailable. For our inconvenience, they provided us access to the Concierge Lounge and upgraded our room to a suite for free (and covered our valet charge). This is the type of service you get at the JW. The hotel is remarkably clean, with no signs of wear, and the best customer service I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great getaway!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The lobby smelled amazing. The hotel shower was fabulous. Breakfast was so yummy.
Cons: I am unsure how to do so, but if there was a way to have the hotel a bit more kid-friendly. But overall, a lovely experience.
Location: The beach was near by and the walk along the river was very nice. We only stayed two nights an would like to return to visit some of the sights.
What a beautiful hotel. My husband and three boys visited and truly enjoyed ourselves. I would like to return with just my husband as it is probably a hotel geared toward couples, more than a family. Although the boys truly enjoyed the pool and the day at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Suzanne from Detroit, MI

Beautiful hotel; horrible service

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I decided to splurge and stay at the JW for 4 nights for my best friend's wedding. We were greeted at the front desk and checked in.The next day we stopped back at the front desk to get new keys because ours weren't working in the parking garage and they said my debit card didn't go through for their $210 incidental hold. I thought that was weird, so I checked my bank account and sure enough, they charged me AGAIN after I paid in full on hotels.com and the front desk agent didn't tell me she was charging my card when I gave it to her to check in. She also didn't tell me the card didn't go through. We aren't rich by any means, but we spent over $800 for 4 nights and I got charged another $800. At this point, the hotel had $1600 of my money and there was nothing they or my bank could do accroding to them to reverse the charge and get me my $800 back. So I was left with no money for our special weekend. The accounting person at the JW acknowledged it was their fault, but all the hotel did was send up champagne and chocolate cake. Yes, that was a nice gesture, but I had no money for the entire trip! I figured a hotel of that caliber would give us more than that. I didn't raise a huge stink about it, but the entire trip I was really upset and it was hard to enjoy our time there. So everyone BEWARE the hotel may charge you twice if you book from this site. I hope this doesn't happen to you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Carrie, Hotel Management
Dear Suzanne, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your special weekend and for your kind words about the beauty of our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your friend's wedding, and are sorry for the impact the room hold had on your weekend. We hope that we can host you again sometime for an outstanding experience the next time you are in Grand Rapids. At your service, Carrie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Contemporary hotel overlooking the river

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location was great. You can walk to many places of interest. The view of the river and city was super, the staff outstanding!
Cons: I don't know that you could do anything to change the pool or the noise.
Location: Great location with many restaurants near and the wonderful Marketplace, Gerald Ford Presidential museum, Art Museum, etc.
The room was lovely with a great view. the staff were all just wonderful and knocked themselves out to help with anything. There was really only one issue -the hotel is very open in design and there was a huge wedding over the weekend and the music could be heard even in our room. Also the wedding guests were partying all night and kept us awake roaming through the hallway talking loudly, quite obviously drunk. This went on all night until 4:00 in the morning. No sleep does not really make for a great vacation. The pool is pretty small for the size of the hotel and was filled with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com