Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel overall but beware of the lobby odor!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location. Rooms. View.
Cons: VERY BAD ODOR (fumes) in lobby.
Location: We ate at a Tapas restaurant a few blocks away was that good and interesting.
Looks like the hotel has been recently remodeled. Rooms are very nice and clean and updated. Hotel is centrally located near venues and restaurants. River view is excellent. However, I could NOT stay in the lobby because the odor was horrible and gave me a migraine headache. It hit me and others in our group as soon as we entered the rotating door which seemed to have trapped a concentration of the smell. However the entire lobby, and especially near reception desk was saturated with the odor. When the odor was still there the next morning, I commented to the staff at reception. They told me that it was a special "Fragrance" that is used by all JW Marriott properties! I told them that it made me nauseous and that it smelled like chemicals. The odor did not effect others as bad as it did me, but everyone said that it smelled like chemicals and no one wanted to stay inside the lobby area. So, if you are sensitive to bad odors (chemicals), do NOT book at THIS hotel. We stayed at a JW Marriott in WDC just a few weeks back and it did NOT have any overwhelming bad fumes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Perfect location

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Excellent experience, terrific restaurant and professional staff. Large bathrooms, comfy bed, clean room, great view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, OH

Amazing! This hotel has the WOW factor

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The rooms, the views, the restaurant 6-1-6
Cons: The view is a main attraction. But the windows are huge and they were dirty! cleaning those windows must be a challenge - could improve.
Location: Great location, next to the convention center, great restaurants, a river walk, and several museums
The hotel was wonderful. The rooms have a gorgeous view of the river and city. The design of the rooms is such that maximizes the view and the experience, and there are hundreds of little details to make the experience more enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Traverse City MI

Celebrating

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Bath rooms, comfy bed, stylish decor
Cons: Windows were filthy, lots of huge spiders
Location: Close to everything; the arena, great restaurants, the museums
We typically don't spend this much on a hotel stay for just one night, but decided to splurge. The rooms are beautiful, so nice to have a nice big bath tub and large shower. The bed was super comfy. We woke up to a lovely river and museum view. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. In other big cities, the most expensive hotel in town is usually crawling in snooty. Not this place. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was fabulous! Staff was great! The breakfast buffet was out of this world. Loved the Sky walks connected to Grand am way. Was there for a conference and the conference was at the Grand Am Way Hotel. Never had to walk outside. Rooms were outstanding! Clean and modern. Lots of room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cindi from Frankfort

I'd stay again!

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

downtown Grand Rapids motels

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
stayed for a concert at Van Andel- great stay with everything at your doorstep. hotel is exceptionally nice. Price seems a bit overpriced however. I have stayed in carribean resorts cheaper than this
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

favorite spot in Grand Rapids

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
I come to Grand Rapids approximately twice each year for business, and this is a perfect "go to" spot for road warriors. In addition to being clean and comfortable, there is a small but nice gym, a starbucks downstairs, and a good central location.