Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy drive to anywhere in Grand Rapids

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Love the lounge area and view of the river! Staff was very nice, room was very clean with a comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice Hotel with freindly staff and a good view

Posted Aug 2, 2015
A very nice hotel with upgraded rooms. Nice flat screen tv and a sleep number bed which was great. The hotel staff was excellent and very freindly and accomadating. This hotel is not as close to the city center but has a free shuttle that was very convenient. I would have given it the highest mark if not for the very poor wifi in my room. I travel for business and rely on wifi to do my job. Other than that it was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Posted Jul 30, 2015
We were in town for a convention. Close proximity to the convention center was convenient. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Shuttle downtown was nice.
Nice staff but hotel is dated.................................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarksville, TN

Close to the Children's Hospital

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: location relative to children's hospital
Cons: Restaurant quality of food based on price point. Cobwebs removed from the potentially nice river view.
Location: No restaurants within walking distance other than the hotel restaurant. Fast food a short drive to the west. Close to better restuarants downtown.
Staff was nice. Rooms were clean. Air conditioning worked well. Limited television channel options. Room card had to be reset 3 times in 4 days. Hotel restaurant is expensive for the food that you get and not well staffed. River view was nice but lot's of spiders and cobwebs filtered the nice view. Old hotel with extremely slow elevators. Overall it worked for my visiting my grandson at the DeVos Children's Hospital that week.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Lansing, MI

A Study in Contrasts

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Proximity to downtown is great. It was worth the special Expedia rate, but if I had paid more than that, I would have felt like I overpaid.
Cons: See above. They appear to need a consultant to show them what they need to fix. Many of the fixes they need would be easy-peasy.
Location: The site has no walkable amenities, other than one other restaurant.
The Riverfront Hotel gives the impression that management doesn't know exactly what to do to upgrade. Several areas are really in need of attention: the elevator nearest to reception is intolerably slow; for some reason you can't charge a meal in the restaurant to your room; the wifi is slow, frustrating and erratic (you know you've finally successfully logged-on when you get an error message); the carpet in my room was threadbare and wrinkled; the phone wiring box in my room had no cover; the melted ice in my ice bucket from Day 1 was still there on Day 4; hot water took forever to get to the 4th floor (out of 7); the hallways were tired; the outside door at the bottom of the stairwell slammed shut; the nautical-looking rope railing on the riverside deck was covered in cobwebs; and the view out the non-opening windows onto the faux "balcony" looked like nothing so much as the view into a rusting septic tank. But the sheets on the on Sleep Number bed were crisp, the pillows were great, warm cookies were available on check-in, staff was cheery and friendly, breakfast on-site was fine. The best example of these contrasts came at breakfast-- our server, rushing to wait on many customers, dropped a plate with an omelette upside down on the table; no problem there, accidents happen, and she graciously comped the replacement omelette. But it never occurred to her to clean up the omelette splatter and the toast crumbs from the site of the accident on the table. Enough said.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgraded. Parents who controlled their kids.
Ok but noisy. I liked the sleep number bed. Staff was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Saff

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean but the elevator is very slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AH

Not the cleanest rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2015
If you are ok with sleeping on bed sheets that have every kind of hair possible in them then you will have no problem here. When we got to the room I usually always check the bed sheets in a hotel if there is any obvious stains or dirt from a bad experience years ago. I was not expecting to see a ton of hair in the bed, all different shades and some small other hairs as well. I called down for new sheets, about 45 mins or so later a maintenance guy brought us sheets and asked us if they were king size sheets. Since he still had them in his hand we obviously didn't know. After my friend checked to make sure they were he left them for us to put on. They still were not very clean. I end up putting part of the "newer" sheets on the bed with my beach towel I brought for the next day over top and a different towel for the pillow. So if the sheets were washed prior then they really need a new washer and dryer to seperate the hair and such. Thankfully the lady at the front was nice when we checked in because that was about. If we were not on a time crunch to be somewhere I would have went to another hotel in a heartbeat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Business Trip

Posted Jul 18, 2015
1. Bed was HARD AS A ROCK!! 2. Wifi didn't work (not good when visiting on business) 3. Fitness room inoperable (had to plug in a treadmill that looked like it hadn't been used in years - too dangerous to use) 4. Staff was nice and pleasant 5. Room was clean, but furniture was falling apart (middle dresser drawer fell out) 6. Will be in Grand Rapids again for business next 10 weeks and will not be staying here.