Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No Frills, Fine Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The hotel is clean and perfectly acceptable. Nothing over the top, but absolutely no complaints. We didn't have an opportunity to try it, but all my family in Grand Rapids complimented the weekend breakfast buffet. Affordable, nice location just north of downtown, and a fine place to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tecumseh,mi

nice close to downtown

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: location for event we attended
Cons: elevator
Location: meijers sculpture garden,downtown grand rapids,mi nearby
nice meals, good dinning,helpful staff, liked shuttle service to downtown, nice lobby area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Apr 12, 2015
No hot water to take a shower and the pool was freezing! Everything is out dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room was cold and could not turn up heat.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Nice bed.
No breakfast as promised. No coffee left by 11:00 a.m.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Making my own bed

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The location was very handy.
Cons: Give the customer what he reserved and paid for.
Location: It's very close to Van Andel and downtown Grand Rapids.
Two month prior to my stay, I reserved a room with two double beds. Instead they gave me a bed and a sofa bed. If I had wanted a sofa bed with a thin mattress and an uncomfortable metal frame, I would've asked for it. The front desk said they had no double bed rooms left. When we returned late from a concert, I discovered I had to make my own bed. And they only gave me one pillow. In the bathroom, there were two strips of black mold above the soap containers. Young children brought nets and played soccer in the hallway outside our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brownstown, Mi

A little dusty

Posted Mar 29, 2015
I only stayed overnight. It wasn't terrible. What you would expect from a 3 star hotel. A few items were a little dusty (coffee maker, etc) but everything else was very clean. The lobby was nice. Initially I was taken aback by the location but it turned out to be about five minutes from lots of resturant, shopping, and a movie theater. Overall, I was pleased and the Sleep Number Bed worked perfectly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Too much to list.
I've stayed here several times but finally decided it is no longer on our list. The facility is dated, there are multiple power strips to attempt to supply current, the double Sleep Number beds are very uncomfortable, due to the bar on site, there are just too many drunks to contend with in the elevator and hallways. Noise is unbearable and it seems they overbook as many guests during our stay told stories of not having a room and needing to double up because there was a shortage. Some of this was attributed to damage to rooms by partying guests the night before. You can imagine how much sleep was lost by other guests. The dining room is understaffed and consistently did not have enough servers to take orders or checks resulting in long waits. I would not recommend this facility to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Reservation does not mean reserved...

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We booked a hotel near downtown Grand Rapids for a beer festival. This made travel easier so we wouldn't have to drive a car. When we went to check-in, we were told the hotel was out of rooms. Despite seeing our reservation in their system the only option was a room at a hotel 8 miles away. Upon arriving at the other hotel, they had given us a room with one bed, for two people. Our reservation was for four people. So we had to cram two roll-aways into the small room to accommodate everyone. I'll certainly avoid this hotel in future, and will likely avoid using Expedia as I've never experienced this problem when booking directly with a hotel. This was a very disappointing booking experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Nice hotel but broken bed and no refund.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The hotel was great but my bed was broken and extremely uncomfortable. I told the front desk as I was checking out and was offered no type of refund or anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Convenient, but old.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Complimentary breakfast
The hotel is in a convenient location for activities downtown. The front desk staff was friendly. We had a problem with a lamp in the room and the maintenance staff responded promptly and cheerfully. The room rate was affordable, but one can stay in Grand Rapids and have nicer accommodations with a few more amenities like breakfast for less money. The room was clean but the pool area, not so much. The restaurant wait staff was nice but the breakfast food was nothing to write home about.