Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: area
Cons: hot tub needs to work and shouldn't close till 11pm
Location: nevada city and yuba river
Disappointing. room very seedy and hot tub wasn't working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beloit, WI

Best hotel in the area.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Structures could use some repairs. Carpets in the rooms are very worn.
Location: the location is great. went to nearby historic Nevada City. good restaurants nearby. Easy to find.
The rooms are nice, and very clean. There could be a little maintenance done to the buildings especially the balconies but overall very nice place. The pool and spa are clean and beautiful. Getting to the second floor is a little awkward as there is no elevator. Nice breakfast every morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

Pleasant motel in convenient location.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Convenient location and comfortable room. A little overpriced for what it is.
Cons: Staff needs to be more service oriented. Room odors should be completely eliminated. It would be nice to have a second sink. Toilet is way too low.
Location: Close to historic Empire Mine State Park, Grass Valley and Nevada City all of which are worth exploring. Some shops across the street from hotel.
My first experience was in dealing with a very uncooperative staff member. I was coming for my son's wedding and have just had major surgery on top of being disabled. I wanted to check in early to rest after our long drive and was told I should have come the night before if I wanted to be sure of that and that all I could do now was to arrive early and hope they had a room ready. How hard could that be, someone had to check out at 11 am and I was only asking to arrive at 2 pm instead of 3 pm. I felt he could have asked my name and made the effort to ensure a room was made ready and held for me. Once there the motel was pleasant overall with decent amenities. Our room was clean and attractive with the bonus of a fridge and microwave. The AC was going full blast so it was freezing but that was easily remedied. We did detect an odor we thought to be pet urine as this was a pet friendly motel but it wasn't very strong. It would have been nice to have a second sink as we were getting ready for the wedding. The next morning we had the breakfast that was included. It was mediocre at best. When I went to check out at 11 am sharp no one was at the desk. I called out hello several times before a young lady finally returned with no apology, just a statement that she was required to help tear down breakfast. Breakfast ends at 10 am, check out is 11 am yet the desk is unmanned during that hour??
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TimCfrom Las Vegas

Gold Country Inn

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with the hotel.....well kept up, and comfortable....and probably the quietest hotel we've ever been in!! It's right off the highway in Grass Valley...stores and food on both sides of the highway....so it is a convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michaelfrom Sonoma County CA

All and all, a great place to stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean and quiet place to stay. Would definitely stay again. The only glitch was the TV wouldn't turn on. I called the lobby and within minutes someone came set it right. Wireless access and speed good. And......I knew breakfast was part of the cost, but what a breakfast! Scrambled egg, bacon, cereals, fruit ect., and the waffle I cooked up on the machine was really good! A nice big surprise in the morning!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the nicest Best Western I have ever stay in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Beds were wonderful and it was quiet. Nice setting.
Location: Between Grass Valley and Nevada City. Good location. Quiet.
Older but well maintained and the location is great. Beds are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anonymousfrom NY

Happy with Room

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Typical Best Western. No surprises
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nadine Cassarinofrom South San Jose

best Western the very Best

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been staying at Best Western the better part of ten years. We always find a helpful staff, a great breakfast a clean quiet room and a pleasant atmosphere. Is there anything else? We will be back next year. Thanks