Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beloit, WI

Best hotel in the area.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Structures could use some repairs. Carpets in the rooms are very worn.
Location: the location is great. went to nearby historic Nevada City. good restaurants nearby. Easy to find.
The rooms are nice, and very clean. There could be a little maintenance done to the buildings especially the balconies but overall very nice place. The pool and spa are clean and beautiful. Getting to the second floor is a little awkward as there is no elevator. Nice breakfast every morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Pleasant motel in convenient location.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Convenient location and comfortable room. A little overpriced for what it is.
Cons: Staff needs to be more service oriented. Room odors should be completely eliminated. It would be nice to have a second sink. Toilet is way too low.
Location: Close to historic Empire Mine State Park, Grass Valley and Nevada City all of which are worth exploring. Some shops across the street from hotel.
My first experience was in dealing with a very uncooperative staff member. I was coming for my son's wedding and have just had major surgery on top of being disabled. I wanted to check in early to rest after our long drive and was told I should have come the night before if I wanted to be sure of that and that all I could do now was to arrive early and hope they had a room ready. How hard could that be, someone had to check out at 11 am and I was only asking to arrive at 2 pm instead of 3 pm. I felt he could have asked my name and made the effort to ensure a room was made ready and held for me. Once there the motel was pleasant overall with decent amenities. Our room was clean and attractive with the bonus of a fridge and microwave. The AC was going full blast so it was freezing but that was easily remedied. We did detect an odor we thought to be pet urine as this was a pet friendly motel but it wasn't very strong. It would have been nice to have a second sink as we were getting ready for the wedding. The next morning we had the breakfast that was included. It was mediocre at best. When I went to check out at 11 am sharp no one was at the desk. I called out hello several times before a young lady finally returned with no apology, just a statement that she was required to help tear down breakfast. Breakfast ends at 10 am, check out is 11 am yet the desk is unmanned during that hour??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Beds were wonderful and it was quiet. Nice setting.
Location: Between Grass Valley and Nevada City. Good location. Quiet.
Older but well maintained and the location is great. Beds are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Nice motel in a great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Spacious and clean room, excellent buffet breakfast (DIY waffle makers are always a plus)...well, everything was great.
Cons: Minor inconvenience: the desk area was right at the door. Anybody going in or out had to squeeze between the bed and someone at the desk.
Location: Right at the highway (but the AC masks any noise). Walking distance to supermarkets, shopping, restaurants, fast food. We even used the DMV next door!
We selected this motel "blind" without knowing the area at all; it was near a place where we had weekend plans and it ended up being a great location for us. We got a double queen room for four people and the room was large enough that we didn't feel crowded. Huge closet, roomy kitchen area, nice mini-fridge that was actually cold, as big a flat-screen TV as I have at home, nice pool and hot tub... Friends stayed elsewhere and were crowing about cheaper prices but we certainly got our money's worth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bob & grace from redding

great stay in grassvalley visiting our grandkids

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
location,location,location. we will be back shortley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Expensive, but tidy.

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the best motel to stay in in Grass Valley. I've stayed here before and can rely on its cleanliness, and fixtures/decor are relatively up to date, its conveniently located near the fwy but far enough away that you can't hear it at night. But they bump up their rates WAY too high to the point that it hurts to pay it. I live in the bay area and can find the same thing for less money. On this stay, having booked through Hotels.com and prepaid, when we arrived the desk clerk could not find our reservation. My cell phone would not pull up my confirmation email so I could show it to him, and when it finally did, he still could not find my prepaid reservation, and said he was waiting for only 4 more check-ins and I was not one of them. I insisted I had a prepaid reservation for the night. He called Hotels.com and while on the phone with them noticed someone else had printed it out on a piece of paper and it was sticking up on a stand on the counter. He said something about Expedia and other outlets reservations feeding right into their computer system, and Hotels.com's reservations do not. All that took about 30 minutes, which was irritating after a very long travel day + long family wedding. The room was standard and acceptable though and much appreciated after the day. For the very high room price, I would suggest at least offering some higher class toiletries. We forgot shampoo and were reluctant to use their weird off brand stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Patricia from Pleasant Hill

Best value!

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
great. Nice people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tnoy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Softball tournament in nearby Penn Valley

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice. Staff was great. Breakfast offering very satisfying. Price a bit high but I would likely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shalimar from Nevada city ca

Close to everything

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice room pleasant quiet and very accommodating