Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Nevada

Bring your own linens and a jug of bleach.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Don't book online, NO REFUNDS. Worst room I've had to stay in in over 40 years of traveling. Bed linens had not been changed, broken windows, badly stained carpet, tv did not work, bathroom faucets backwards, no phone, no clock, torn dirty curtains, loose outlets, air conditioner vents almost completely clogged by filth, shower curtain covered in both pink and black mold, to name a few. Management offered no help with bedding other than an apology, 2 sheets and a pillowcase. I had to strip the beds and after discovering the blankets torn, burned and covered in crusty stains, we ended up using our car blankets. Then, after discovering the need for a clean shower curtain in the am, I was unable to rouse management despite knocking and ringing the door bells for some time and despite the open sign on the door. I left the shower curtain by the door, packed up and left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, needs repairs

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Nothing, worried about my saftey.
Cons: rooms need repair, cleaned up.
Hot day in Grass Valley, AC in room didn't cool down the room, room in need of repair, couldnt hear the TV turned up all they way over the ac. Only two small towels in the room with one very small bar of soap. In my opinion, Motel 6 is a 4 start hotel compaired to this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
My check in was easy effortless and the employee that helped me with the check in was amazing. She was friendly courteous and very helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Disappointing

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: read 1st paragraph
Location: The Empire Mine was interesting.
Sheets had dirt on them and were wrinkled, so I wondered if they'd even been changed, or were just dragged on the ground a bit after washing. Staff changed all the sheets, bedspread and pillow cases promptly. Light was out in the shower, but the staff replaced it quickly after I told them. Hot water heater went out Sunday afternoon and still no hot water for my morning shower Monday AM, nice and brisk! One staffer smoked right outside the window to my Non-Smoking room. Not even an measly continental breakfast, just coffee.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by wade

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice price but you get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: The condition of the beds and the room in general. If there are long term residents, educate them in customer service and being friendly to visitors.
Location: Centrally located to all things Grass Valley.
Stayed in a room with two queen beds both of which were in need of replacement. They both sagged at the head causing us to need to sleep with our heads at the foot so we didn't get head rushes. The rooms could use a coffee maker and a good redecoration. The staff is very friendly and seems to care about your stay. The room is a good, VERY BASIC, but good place to sleep. The neighbors were a little off-putting. I couldn't tell if they were long term residents but I got a very unwelcome feeling from them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern calif

Visiting mom in nursing home

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Second stay here Moldy odor in bathroom Same odor in different room I think it was number ten Same problem two different times in different room Not going back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Better to sleep in your car!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The room had a microwave & refrigerator.
Cons: Replace the bedding & mattress. Replace the curtains. Fix the sink & paint the door in the bathroom.
Location: Apx. a mile from downtown Grass Valley with lots of shopping. Close to the freeway.
Last minute decision to visit family during Christmas weekend. Prices were terrible on motels/hotels - much higher then other times. Picked this @ $90 a night. Office staff was friendly. Large signs in office said NO Refunds. Got to the room which was in the worse condition I have ever seen. Find it hard to understand how they could rent it to the public. Bedspread soiled, blanket smelled of body order. Sheets had me itching all night. Sink pulled away from the wall. I never slept a wink. Guests in next room looked like gang members.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CONVENIENT LOCATION, BUT BADLY IN NEED OF UP-GRADE

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: BED COMFORTABLE, NICE SHOWER, PLENTY OF HEAT.....BUT NOT WARM WHEN FIRST ENTERED...VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. BEGINNING.....NO SOAP, SHAMPOO ETC...HAD TO REQ
I SAID IT ABOVE....COLD ON ENTRY, NOT SOAP, ETC, NO CLOTHS HANGERS ETC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livermore, Ca / Bay area

Coach n Four Motel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The Motel was right off the freeway. The bed itself was comfortable. The heater worked.
Cons: Almost everything!! The bathroom was atrocious looking!
Location: The motel was right off the freeway and close to old town Grass Valley and the Nevada County Fair grounds.
Small motel, that looked real old and drab. The lady that checked us in was nice. She gave us a room and gave my friends the room key, even though I was not present yet. I was late getting there to meet my friends. When we walked into the room, you see that the entry door had a no smoking sign on it. But the room smelled of smoke! None of us smoke! The bathroom was atrocious looking. The toilet bowl was badly stained. We started out with only 1/2 roll of toilet paper. There was no Kleenex for backup. The walls needed painting real bad. No towel bar available, but it was in the window ledge of the shower. The curtain had what looked like coffee splashed on it. NO WAY were we taking a shower the next morning! Over the sink and vanity, only one light was lit on bar light strip. The bed had a shelf on the from headboard. However, trying to sit up and watch TV, the shelf cut into your neck!