Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for a single night

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: rooms were clean, outside area was very clean. beds were very comfortable.
Cons: just needs a modernization. bathrooms are old (but clean), carpets are older. AC is a fairly loud wall unit, but it did cool down the room.
Location: visiting relatives, so didn't explore as much as we would have hoped. historic downtowns of grass valley and nevada city are both charming places.
We stayed at the Coach N' Four because there were only two hotels in the area with vacancies. Older facility. Relatively clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Its okay if you are staying for a single night and not planning to spend much time in the room -> comfortable sleeping, but lacking what you would expect from a more modern hotel. All in all, it was okay. Definately would start looking for a room much earlier next time so we have more to choose from. That being said, in a pinch, it will do the job for most people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Older place needs work, remodeling and cleaning. Convenient location to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inexpensive and allowed pets

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The location is away from traffic. Cheap.
Cons: Not let people live there so actual guest have more parking and less "drama".
Location: Close to all things in Grass Valley and Nevada City. Near Hwy 20 and Hwy 49.
This is an older motel, so it does show some age. Pets allowed with minimal extra fee. Bed was comfortable enough. Shower too scary looking to use. Had TV and microwave. Room smelled of smoke. There seemed to be several people living in 3 or 4 of the rooms, so there were "dramas" going on in and in front of several of the rooms until 2:30 in the morning.Complimentary breakfast consisted of coffee and prepackaged danishes. I chose this motel because the price was more affordable than some and I could have my dog with me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to where we needed to go

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: nice and quiet table and chair outside of room for us smokers
Cons: bringing TV closer to the bed so volume doesn't need to be so loud put plastic cups in wrappers in the room bleach the shower floor
Location: we went up to Grass Valley for a car show the restaurants were great all the little shops were interesting to walk through
The staff were very nice even got up at 5 am to give us a wake up call The bed was very comfy never seen pillows so fluffy and soft TV should be a little closer to the bed so you don't need to turn the volume up so much they need to stock the room with plastic cups for drinking and bleach the shower floor that didn't look as clean as it could and fix the bathroom window so it can be opened but otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Val and Phil from Reno, NV

Very dog-friendly with laid back staff.

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Dog-friendly, relaxed environment with nice outdoor seating
Cons: The carpets are a bit old, but I expect this in a dog-friendly motel.
Location: Great location! You can walk to downtown Grass Valley which has alot of history and is full of interesting shops and places to eat.
We were allowed to check in early which was great for us. The manager was very dog friendly and we loved being with other dog lovers there while sitting outside in the sun. Some people would not like the rooms because they aren't fancy, but the fact that we could bring our dog with us is the most important thing to us and the HBO was great; the room was big; and the beds were comfortable. Management was the greatest! And, we could walk to downtown Grass Valley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive, pet friendly

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Laid back hotel that accepts pets, no questions asked. $10 non refundable pet deposit is all you have to pay. Not the cleanest nor nicest inexpensive motel I've stayed at but wasn't there except to sleep. There is a great park right across the street. Quiet neighborhood. Bring your own soap/shampoo as they do not provide very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Reno, Nevada

Least expensive when I went to Grass Valley

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Room with 2-Queens was large with frig. and microwave.
Cons: The free wifi had an automatic kick-out after about 2-minutes which was very annoying.
Location: n/a.
Routine visit to an older motel. Room with 2-Queens was large with frig. and microwave. The free wifi had an automatic kick-out after about 2-minutes which was very annoying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

60's motel that looks it.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The owner was very nice as was his staff.
This is an old motel that needs $$$$ upgrading but my not generate enough revenue to do so.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ABDoll from San Diego

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean - that's the only good thing I can say about this run down, strange motel. The shower and the toilet were in the same room - one room with no separation between them! No amenities, not even kleenex, oh yes, there were soap chips for your shower, and TWO shower caps. Even the lamp shade was torn.The neighborhood was OK, but the guests at the motel were a little scary. Run, don't walk!