Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Bad Room

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: i did not like anything at all about hotel
Cons: CLEAN IT
we stopped at Nevada City Inn the room was so dirty and disgusting. The bedspread had never been washed, i put it on the floor, the blanket on bed was just as dirty, upon throwing the blanket from the bed, we discovered hairs on the sheets. the bathroom had mold and mildew on all surfaces, the bathroom window was nailed open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Old buildings

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The quiet setting, beautiful trees, away from town yet close.
Cons: Oh My. Paint inside and out, update furnishings, better beds, change the awful chairs outside the rooms, planters with flowers, fix the smell, etc.
Location: We don't know, we were just passing through. However, there was nothing in the rooms telling about restaurants or anything at all nearby.
This is a very, very old motel. We were not given a room in the cabins shown in the picture, but in a more motel like structure opposite. The furnishings are old, the mattress was likely a cheap one judging from its construction, and was very hard. The room was uneven and sloped down on one half, the carpet (which appeared fairly new) was wet in a large spot that never did dry, and the room smelled old. In it's favor, it was cleaned well, or as well as it could be cleaned for it's age. The bedding was clean, the bathroom was clean. But it badly needed paint, there were no curtains on the windows and the blinds were broken. We purchased plastic table cloths and thumbtacks from a local store to cover the windows. The advertised breakfast was coffee, rice crispies, orange juice and packaged sweet rolls. The setting was beautiful, very quiet in the midst of tall trees. I think in its day it was probably a wonderful place. The staff were very nice and helpful when we asked for some help and changes, but there was only so much they could do and it was just not what we were expecting from the pictures shown, nor did we feel it was a good value for what we paid. Unfortunately, I was in a hurry and did not read any reviews before purchasing, but went by the pictures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

After a day of hiking

Posted May 26, 2015
The hosts were friendly. It's just that the room itself was in need of an update. we knew it was going to be an older hotel, so we did not want to complain but we decided to request a new room because there were no handles to turn on the shower and room smelled like cigarette smoke even though it was a non smoking room. The second room was equally dingy with thick mold spots all throughout the bathroom, especially the curtains. But the shower worked so we stayed. I'd reccommend spending the extra bucks for a higher rated hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View

Serviceable Lodging

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Cheap and convenient to Nevada City.
And old hotel that has been fixed up somewhat. Quiet location. Will work for short stay. You might want to go downtown for a better breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kevin from Winters, Ca.

Avoid if you can!

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Room was of adequate size. Chairs were stained and uncomfortable. Blankets were stained. bathroom window wouldn't close. TV was tiny, No toilet paper in the bathroom. Felt like I was "bothering" the person in the office when I checked in and later when I asked for a roll of TP. High price for this dump.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Not Impressed

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The rooms were equipped with small refrigerators and microwaves.
Cons: The interior of the rooms are in dire need of refurbishing - new mattresses, blinds, and paint would do wonders...maybe hang curtains over the blinds.
I needed to stay in Nevada City for a wedding. The Nevada City Inn was close to my destination and reasonably priced. The staff was accommodating and let us check in up to three hours early, which was very helpful. The rooms, however, were a different story. I had reserved two rooms with queen beds. I got one room with a queen bed and one room with two twins. The queen room had no television, as we were told it had been broken the night before. The beds in the twin room were squeaky and one of the beds fell through the frame just from sitting on it. The blinds in the room reminded me of being in a run down inner-city apartment - the slats were broken and light flooded in from the parking area. Most bothersome of all was the noise from the room above us, which sounded like the occupants were stomping around the entire night. I got very little sleep and although the staff was friendly, I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dorothy from Hayle Cornwall UK

Stop over on route through California.

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Wanted to visit Grass Valley to trace ancestors who mined here. Ideal location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mixed bag

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Understanding that this place is the low price option for the area, one can't expect too much. The room, bed, location were OK. However, the "free breakfast" was a bit of a laugh. They had packages of instant oatmeal available, but no hot water with which to prepare it. We were encouraged to "heat water in the microwave in our room". However there was no microwave in our room. The coffee was quite diluted appearing more like tea. And the toaster malfunctioned. Probably will try to find a different place our next trip to visit the grandkids.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rachel from France

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived very late and the service was very kind. The wifi signal was good. However, the room was very dirty, full of huge flying bugs. The sheets were torn and the towels were stained. I won't recommend this place to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Most uncomfortable bed ever constructed!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Other than the location, there was nothing to like. It was easy to get to from the freeway or through town.
The pictures made this look like a quaint little hotel of cabins. Not the case for standard rooms. It is very, very old and dirty. The blinds didn't cover the windows sufficiently so people could see in, cracked bathroom sink, torn vinyl floor, and without a doubt the most uncomfortable bed ever. Stayed two nights and room service didn't come, so there was no coffee for day two. No coffee available in the lobby at 7:00 am either day. Very noisy and too many lights on outside the rooms. You definitely didn't get what you paid for at $70 a night.