Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall UK

I could not fault the room in any way.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
I stayed 2 nights in Feburary and the plus points were:- excellent bathroom, excellent coffee and tea facilities, and a very comfortable bed. Minus points:- none.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa, CA

Charming Grass Valley Motel and Staff.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Cons: I think the Sierra Mountain Inn is a bit over-priced but other than that, I would consider returning.
We enjoyed our recent first time stay at the Sierra Mountain Inn. The owners who also run the place and are on site are friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed having a kitchenette. The quiet location is nice but not easily walkable to downtown shops, a bit hilly and 4-5 blocks, but doable. Otherwise parking can be a bit challenging if driving to restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Very convenient

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Nice comfortable stay, appreciated the upgrade to a well equipped room. Easy walk to town and had a great night at the Cornish Christmas celebration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thumperfrom Wessex, England

SPOTLESS WITH A HOMLEY FEEL

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Situated on quiet road The room and it's facilities
Cons: Nothing, keep it as it is
Location: Set in the old gold mining area the local mine has reopened Fishing at Rollins Lake Cool getaway from the heat of the Central Valley
The first thing that struck me was how well presented, the room looked like it had just been made up for the owner Every aspect of the facilities was excellent, the linen clean and crisp, comfy bed, plenty of storage, not that I needed it as I was travelling solo on a motorcycle The kitchen area is really well equipped, cutlery plentiful and china plates! The china mugs with the coffee maker were an added bonus (why does coffee in a mug taste better than a cup?) The staff couldn't have been more helpful and sorted out numerous queries for me Situated in the quiet part of Grass Valley it was an absolute joy to stay here, I wish everywhere could meet this standards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan and Jimfrom Oakland, CA

Very friendly and comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Cons: The refrigerator in the cottage was not working.
While not a traditional five-star hotel with the associated amenities, Sierra Mountain is a comfortable, reasonably priced, and well located option for the Grass Valley area. Within easy walking distance of downtown Grass Valley, you can leave the car behind. We stayed in the cottage, which was nicely furnished and had a small kitchen. Wifi is free (a nice nod to our modern times), but a little slow. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and willing to go out of their way to accommodate guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Placerville, Ca

Nice,very clean Motel, w great location

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly, location, price
Cons: update T.V. and bedspread. A little bare.
The manager was very accommodating with out late arrival. This is a simple, but charming motel with that small town feel. Old style T.V. , Bed was comfortable; room small, but very clean! We did not notice traffic from the street in our room. Look great on the outside also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

review

Posted Sep 24, 2013
interesting place in CA to visit. hoping for better privacy issues as the walls were so thin we could hear the bathroom issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvonne

Refreshing and Pleasant in the Sierra's

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Price, proximity to downtown historic Grass Valley, cleanliness, and professionalism of staff.
Cons: Parking
Location: Close to music, fine dining, galleries, and interesting shopping.
Like Phoenix rising from the ashes, the Sierra Mountain Inn was a pleasant change from the chain Hotel experience. Jenny the owner takes pride in her establishment and it shows in her Inn. Clean and comfortable and more then anything else welcoming. Highly recommended when you find yourself in wonderful Grass Valley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don

Nice cozy small motel

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger bathroom mirror
Friendly staff, comfortable room. Walking distance to downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancyfrom Bay Area, CA, USA

We'll be back!

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Tasteful, quiet, good value for the price.
Location: A short and pleasant walk to restaurants and ice cream.
The room and bathroom were very tastefully updated and clean. The place sparkled with care and attention. The owners were friendly and helpful. We'll be back!