Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MI

Smith's Stay

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Price. Right off the highway. Friendly staff.
Cons: Drainage for the tub and sink.
Location: Call of the Wild and Gobblers restaurant. Both are a must.
Very friendly staff. Hot showers with plenty of water pressure but slow to drain. Comfortable beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GR, MI

Place to lay your head

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Under staffed, pool closed for not being kept clean, won't stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Room was cleaned everyday. Staff very friendly and tried to be accommodating during a very busy, sold out weekend. Only complaint is I booked this room for the weekend because it advertised an indoor pool. A few days before our arrival I looked on the Internet to verify our reservation and saw the notice that the pool was "Out of order". Tried to reserve at another hotel but all in the area were sold out because of the event in town that weekend. We were disappointed but figured at least we had a place to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MICHIGAN

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff that tried to help, but staff was very limited, and didn't have much to use.
Cons: Fitted sheets for each bed, vacuum around and behind the tables and under the tables. More towels, soap, shampoo,cleaner bathrooms
Location: Location is 5 minutes from downtown. Very convenient.
Pool and hot tub out of commission due to water quality issue, carpeting very dirty , not vacuumed even when room was supposedly ready for the next guest. Staff were very friendly and helpful, but didn't see staff at times. Said they were in the process of remodeling. Overall, charged too much for the room. We were looking forward to the hot tub and pool. Disappointed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northville Michigan

The hotel was easy access on and off to freeway

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The price
Cons: Nothing It was very clean
Location: We were there to visit family. It is our hometown and we were not looking for anything to do
We stayed there last year. We appreciated how clean the room was The price was very good and works well with our budget.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Do not recommend

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Booked online due to pictures and price. Once got there pool was out of service due to water quality said a poorly hand written note. It smelled very musty. Lady at front desk not helpful and very rude. The pictures are nothing what actual hotel looks like. It is very run down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The place was outdated and the pool/hot tub was closed due to not being maintained and anti-hygienic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean, quiet. Away from busy area.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Away from the busy area of downtown.
Clean, quiet hotel. Good for sleeping. Next to I75 so it was easy on and off. Not hard to find at all. Not far from downtown Gaylord.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UPPER MICHIGAN

SAVE YOUR MONEY

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: GAYLORD IS A RESORT TOWN WITH LOTS TO DO,
THE ROOM WAS SO DUSTY I COULD DRAW A FROWN FACE ON THE TV. NO VENT GUARDS ON THE AIR COND./HEATING UNIT. BATTERIES NOT IN THE SMOKE ALARM (WHICH TELLS ME THERE WERE SAFETY ISSUES HERE). THERE WERE 3 OF US, AN ENOUGH TOWELS FOR 2 FOR 1 DAY. WE WERE TO GET CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST....FIRST MORNING THERE WAS ONLY COFFEE IN A THERMOS FROM THE DAY BEFORE, AND SECOND MORNING THERE WAS ONLY COFFEE AND BAGEL.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is a dump!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything, it would be easier to bulldoze it and start over.
Dirty, pool closed by health department, hot tube broke, construction trash everywhere.