Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novi, MI

Good Hotel close to the freeway

Posted Aug 11, 2014
A good option if you search for something not to expensive to stay in the Higgins / Houghton Lake area. Breakfast is included so you don't have to search around for options. Don't expect a 5 star place, but you get a good value for your money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Fair priced place to stay

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Courteous staff.
Cons: Air fresheners in the rooms. Mine smelled a bit musty.
Location: Very close to state park lands and Houghton Lake. Nature trails abound. Great canoeing too!
This was a quick stopover for myself and hubby. Motel was clean, pool/spa area well maintained. The room was mostly clean; looked like the vacuuming was spotty and we found the previous occupants prescription meds and cell phone in the nightstand drawer. However, with that being said, the bed was comfortable, the housecleaning staff refreshed our towels and tidied up our room while we were out, and any staff we did encounter were very courteous. I would recommend earplugs because hallway doors were somewhat noisy upon closing. I cannot tell you if I could hear any other guests around us during the night, as I ALWAYS pack & wear earplugs upon going to bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Room was dirty and plumbing broke in shower and had to move rooms. Air was not working right in my room. Hot tub had scum floating in it! They said arcade which is a joke it had a claw machine and that was it talk about false advertising!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by imcstracyb from Michigan

Clean Room

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a nice room, very clean. Check in and out was very easy. Nice gift shop in lobby. Not much offered for breakfast, but enough in a pinch. Indoor pool and small outdoor play area looked very well kept. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gretchen

Not the greatest but OK for a few nights.

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Noise from freeway on back side of hotel but the rest wasn't bad until late night arrivals came in LOUD. At least they calmed down quickly and then it was a nice nights sleep. Breakfast could have had more but there are many restaurants near by. Real close to the ATV trails that we were exploring.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bryon DeRushia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: location, quiet people were friendly
Cons: see about my experience
bathroom floor sticky; shower curtain smelled as if wet all the time; chairs stained Needs updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by madge

Get what you pay for

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you're looking for a high quality hotel, move on. If you're okay with mediocre customer service and a lower price tag, this is your place. I stayed two and did not have anyone come by during the day to make the bed, pick up dirty towels, etc. The breakfast buffet is a joke. Like I said, you get what you pay for. In the future, I will be paying for something better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tom F from Hastings

Houghton Lake in Winter

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect for the price. I don't know why there are so many complainers on this forum, one of the cleanest and maintained properties I've been to in a while. Has a small gift shop, a pool, hot tub, and breakfast was good, and a bazillion cable channels.