Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houghton lake Michigan

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The staff was amazing! Kid friendly 100% and we will return for future stays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rives Junction, MI

Everything that was advertised.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: they have a very nice gift shop with decent prices.
Cons: Possibly update exterior doors to be automatic for the handicap guests and have luggage carts available.
Location: It is easy on and off the highway and easy to get to all that Houghton Lake has to offer.
Our stay at this Super 8 was very satisfactory. It is easy to get to from the highway, we were given a handicap room as requested, and was quite comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lansing Michigan

Christmas get away

Posted Dec 31, 2014
The town was quite, expected. So was the hotel until christmas eve, families gathered to celebrate christmas and it sounded like the children loved the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom Barbeau, MI

Dependable

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a bit of a halfway point in our travels - stayed here probably 10 times, and it's uniformly dependable. Tourism and good sized lake nearby, so I think it would be a good and inexpensive base for a long weekend on Houghton Lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by richardfrom BLACK CANYON CITY

snowy stay

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall stay of 4 days was o.k. - in middle of snow storm. I did use the in-room coffee pot each day which was never cleaned or emptied. Other than that pretty much routine motel stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hartford mi

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Excellent hotel with nice pool and hot tub. breakfast average but everything else great1
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mattawan, MI

It's a Super 8, not a Hilton

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Overall, great experience. This is a Super 8 in the middle of nowhere, not a Hilton in NYC or Chicago... Spent 2 days here, and when I come back next year, I'll be staying here again for sure. Overall, I found the place to be clean, quiet, and very adequate for what it is (a cheap place to stay right off the expressway). Breakfast was good (OJ not watered down like many other places), pool and hot tub were nice. All new mattresses (the old ones still staged for disposal). Hotel staff was friendly and courteous. All new(er) flat-screen TVs. But honestly. If one is used to expensive posh hotels, why would one expect a Super 8 to compete with that? The lesser-visited inexpensive hotels aren't self-sufficient - they're subsidized by busy ones in large cities, and thus don't get remodeled and updated as often. I've stayed in dumps that cost twice as much near big cities. Very happy with my 2-day stay, and the price was about 2/3 of the other 'economy' hotel near by, and half that of moderate-priced chains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Phillipfrom Michigan

Better than expected

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stopped at this hotel and was please for the most part. There was one blaring issue...the breakfast sucks! There is not much variety. The rooms were quite clean (I carry a black light) and the staff was friendly. The bathrooms are small but adequate. A nice overnight stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Karlafrom Livonia

Great stay

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought for the money, you can't beat it. Breakfast was lame, but everything else was great!