Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Enjoyable Stop over

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Hotel was not known to us but we choose it because it had a pool etc. it turned out to be a good choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
sehr gastfreundlich, gutes essen, grosszügiges zimmer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pocklington, York

Great hotel

Posted May 7, 2015
Great hotel in good location, We stayed with a 1 yr old and a 4 yr old and the facilities on offer were perfect (indoor play area and swimming pool). Rooms and corridors maybe could do with updating but that aside it was very clean and staff were very friendly. Would most definatly stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Open fires were lovely and the staff are just as warm. Beds were comfy but sofabed was not. The staff brought us a put up bed and were so helpful. Pool was clean and warm. Rooms were clean and large but very boring with no character. Well worth the money paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Horndean

Mark Review - April 15

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel has improved since my last visit, the pot holes in the driveway have been filled in a good first impression. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and the restaurant meals were excellent and reasonably priced. The staff as always were friendly and helpful. There are areas of the hotel that need updating but it looks as if work had started on this. I look forward to my next visit to this hotel and seeing further improvements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Núria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing, and dirty, hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: The location is good - in the countryside.
Cons: My room was dirty on arrival and was not cleaned during my stay.
Location: Near to M8/77, Renfrewshire, Glasgow, and Glasgow Airport.
The room was well appointed (furniture, TV etc), but the room was not clean! The windows were dirty; there were dead moths on the windowsill and carpet; and the bath had long hairs in it. I was staying for two nights. I noted that on the second day, when I returned to my room; the long hairs were still in the bath and the moths were still on the windowsill and carpet. My room was not being cleaned, at all. There was a kettle in my room but it was impossible to use because there was so much limescale on the element and base of the kettle. No amount of boiling prevented pieces of limescale from contaminating the boiling water. At breakfast, the waiter spoke very little english; so little in fact, that he got my order wrong. To be fair, I could have overlooked this had the room been clean on my arrival and cleaned AT ALL, during my stay. I am a business traveler, using hotels frequently. After a long day, I expect a comfortable, clean place in which to relax and sleep. This is not possible to achieve at the Bowfield. In summary, a very disappointing stay in a very mediocre and dirty hotel. I will not return to this hotel and do not recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

sight seeing only a small train ride away

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels
fantastic views . hotel really nice . staff really friendly. restaurant food really good. highly recommend hotel . will be visiting again , in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martyn

Economy accomodation

Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel and room were quite clean but "Tired" in need of some updating of decor and fixtures and fittings, such as radio/clock/alarm was unusable as it had a constant buzz and the furniture looked like it came from the 60's, the bed was comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The food was good but the toast was rock hard right through for 2 of the 3 breakfasts we had,the rest was good! The location was tucked away off of the main road in a nice setting though planes came overhead they were not a noisy problem. We were on the 1st floor and the people above were noisy due to constantly squeaking floor-boards which made us conscious of the creaks that we made on our floor as we walked around. The Gym, pool and Spa looked good but not our scene so didn't use them.