Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but disappointed in hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Fixture and fittings
Location: Great location for shopping and sightseeing.
Stayed for radio 1s big weekend as the location of the hotel was ideal. But unfortunately that's pretty much all the hotel has going for it. The reception staff were friendly enough even if she did presume that my 17yr old daughter was my partner! The hotels decor is a little questionable with a dark red stairwell with matching carpet that leads up to the rooms. The room itself was small, with a new white flat screen tv on the wall but that was where the "luxury" ended. The blue built in door less wardrobe housed a full size ironing board, a selection of travelodge coat hangers and a table top fan caked in dust! The window didn't close, the light switch was loose, the furniture was shabby and the curtains weren't wide enough to cover the windows. I am in no way a hotel snob however there are some things I think any hotel should provide regardless of price or star rating. I would not recommend this hotel for any other reason apart from location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,ideal location next to city centre.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Nice little hotel, rooms up to date and comftarblel loud house cleaning staff in the morning before check out ti e but ideal if you want quick access to city centre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oh dear...

Posted Dec 28, 2013
I booked it because it looked like a boutique style hotel. When I arrived I thought that I was at the wrong address because it looked like a youth hostel. When I get my key and went to the second floor I laughed as it looked at one would imagine what a brothel would look like. The carpet was dirty and the room look shabby. For 85 pounds a night I would of expected something that didn't look like a homeless shelter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sharon from Perth, W Australia

triple shared room

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Convenient location & free wifi
Location good - near to train station & in city. Room small for triple share - tight space for luggages. Furnishing old and would be better if upgraded. There was a crack in wash basin. Breakfast basic
2 out of 5
by kim

This hotel turns into a night club!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and decor
Location: Merchant City is near by as is the train station and St. George Square.
Hotel is in a great location with friendly staff. However, it becomes a night club in the late evening. This means if you want a quiet night of rest, you better bring ear plugs. Also, it appears the party spills into the stairwells which are old and poorly maintained. Overall, it just felt dirty; literally and figuratively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK

A Fantastic Experience

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Its location
Location: Very central
This a great hotel and gives great value and a central location with overnight parking closeby and with a 20% discount voucher for the Candleriggs car park close to the hotel. A fantastic venue and great location in the heart of the Merchant City.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It smells
Location: Very central
The hotel is run down and needs an upgrade. Small dark room and the stairs smells. Really bad value for money. Never ever again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Magsmac from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK

A Great Stay

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: The restaurant
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fantastic
The hotel and staff were fantastic and the hotel is well located plus gives 25% off overnight parking nearby at Candleriggs.
2 out of 5
by Anne from Highlands

Poor quality hotel

Posted May 23, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: chipped painted chipboard and dark halls
Location: Location was good in heart of Merchant City.
Cheap looking room with chipped blue painted chipboard. Blue cheap carpet that looked water marked but was really just wrinkled. Broken lamp shade. Dark either blue or red painted halls. Web site gave a mighty false impression of what this hotel is actually like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Hotel with a Difference

Posted Nov 7, 2011
Location: I have stayed at a lot of different hotels in Glasgow, each in different areas of the city centre. I choose these ares for convenience for the purpose of my visit. but for anyone arriving in Glasgow, any city centre hotel will be idea as they are all within easy walking distance to the whole of the centre.
I love this hotel!!! It may not be to everyone's taste, especially the elder group. The hallways and corridors are very dark with the lights being opertated by a sensor switch. The bar/resaurant (where breakfast was also served) was lovely and quaint. I was made to feel very welcome and staff always had time to speak with me (which is a bonus as I am female and travel on my own, but don't enjoy eating in public on my own). The bedroom was small but adequate for my purpose, the bedding was clean, but there were a few dubious stains on the carpet and curtains. The bathroom could do with freshening up. You must have a broad mind to stay here but it is the best hotel I have stayed in for making me feel at ease . I was even offered something to ease my sore throat, I wish I taken up the offer now!! I will definately stay at this hotel again as long as the price comes within my business bracket.