Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Welcome break

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Central and friendly staff. Only downside really was that the pillows were hard - found it difficult to sleep.
Cons: Would be good to offer different pillows as most other hotels we have stayed in offer feather as well as foam.
Location: Very good central location convenient for museums, shopping, eating and drinking.
Good sunny break in Glasgow. Only rained on 1 day! Lots of places to eat and drink all within walking distance of the hotel. Wouldn't really recommend the bar next door though unless you're young as it was quite noisy! If you like whisky the one we would recommend is "the Potts Still" - think it was on Hope Street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jackie from brisbane Qld

Fantastic for city centre

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The decor and location were excellent
Cons: Some of the staff were rude especially the gentleman at checkout in the morning.
Location: Location is fabulous and there is always lots to do in the city.
Hotel location fantastic but staff were disappointing . Given vouchers for pub next door but were refused entry. When we complained to reception staff we were informed there was nothing they could do which we thought was very disappointing .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from New York & McLean VA

Great central location.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: See Comments!
Location: George Square, GOMA, shopping and restuarants.
The executive lounge was great for pre and post dinner drinks. Loved the breakfast choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Duncan, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thanks for the lovely review, I am delighted that you liked out hotel. Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as fancy as the price

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pleasant staff ,good location, run down and poor value
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Duncan, Hotel Management
I am sorry you did not think the hotel gave good value, as you can see from the majority of our reviews our guests appreciate what the Carlton George has to offer. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by meld from NY

Very nice downtown Glasgow hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
FREE Mini Bar!!! Very nice downtown Glasgow hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Judy from Canada

Great Location

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a cute Hotel. I only had one night in Glasgow so I wanted something that was close to city centre, Hotel was close to Hop on Hop off busses, and in a great location for shopping. I took the city transfer bus from the airport and the bus let me off within a two minute walk of the hotel.Hotel was very clean and a nice touch with the free mini bar. If I visit Glasgow again would definitely stay here and would recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bill from el paso texas

Central and convenient to both railroad stations

Posted May 15, 2014
Cons: The room was very comfortable, clean and updated however the hallways from elevators to rooms looked a little worn - could use new wall paper & carpet
Location: Safe, shopping, rail stations very close, very easy taxi access and very walkable area
Very central location. Near shopping and restaurants and walking distance to both rail stations. Clean safe location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Louie from Glasgow

Excellent Choice

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was great. Would love to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sara from Los Angeles

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed at the Carlton George twice and both times I let satisfied. The staff is very friendly, the rooms clean and big enough, and the bathtubs are big! There's also free scotch in the rooms, just help yourself! The hotel itself is nestled in a prime location; between George Square and the popular pedestrian area; Buchanan Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mari from Orlando, FL

Close to train station, shopping

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Carlton George while we were in Glasgow. The hotel is conveniently located to the train station Glasgow Queen Street and to the underground. it is also right around the corner from the Style Mile and Merchant City. The hotel provides a free mini-bar, which is something I have never seen. Free samples of Scottish whisky, gin and vodka. Our only complaint is that the hotel room was extremely warm - since the weather averaged about 45-50 degrees during our stay, the hotel was nice and toasty. However, once we went to sleep, it is way too hot. Even when we turned the heat off and opened a window. Granted, we did not ask the front desk about making the room more comfortable but we stayed in two different rooms (we broke up our trip in Glasgow with a tour of the Highlands) and we had the same issue with the heat. Overall, though, the staff was very friendly and the accommodations were very good!