Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Welcome break

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Central and friendly staff. Only downside really was that the pillows were hard - found it difficult to sleep.
Cons: Would be good to offer different pillows as most other hotels we have stayed in offer feather as well as foam.
Location: Very good central location convenient for museums, shopping, eating and drinking.
Good sunny break in Glasgow. Only rained on 1 day! Lots of places to eat and drink all within walking distance of the hotel. Wouldn't really recommend the bar next door though unless you're young as it was quite noisy! If you like whisky the one we would recommend is "the Potts Still" - think it was on Hope Street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jackie from brisbane Qld

Fantastic for city centre

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The decor and location were excellent
Cons: Some of the staff were rude especially the gentleman at checkout in the morning.
Location: Location is fabulous and there is always lots to do in the city.
Hotel location fantastic but staff were disappointing . Given vouchers for pub next door but were refused entry. When we complained to reception staff we were informed there was nothing they could do which we thought was very disappointing .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from New York & McLean VA

Great central location.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: See Comments!
Location: George Square, GOMA, shopping and restuarants.
The executive lounge was great for pre and post dinner drinks. Loved the breakfast choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Duncan, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thanks for the lovely review, I am delighted that you liked out hotel. Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as fancy as the price

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pleasant staff ,good location, run down and poor value
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Duncan, Hotel Management
I am sorry you did not think the hotel gave good value, as you can see from the majority of our reviews our guests appreciate what the Carlton George has to offer. Kind Regards Duncan Johnston General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by meld from NY

Very nice downtown Glasgow hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
FREE Mini Bar!!! Very nice downtown Glasgow hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bill from el paso texas

Central and convenient to both railroad stations

Posted May 15, 2014
Cons: The room was very comfortable, clean and updated however the hallways from elevators to rooms looked a little worn - could use new wall paper & carpet
Location: Safe, shopping, rail stations very close, very easy taxi access and very walkable area
Very central location. Near shopping and restaurants and walking distance to both rail stations. Clean safe location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Very close to shops.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We arrived in afternoon made very welcome. Staff very friendly. Food good. Met alot of really nice peolpe. Room lovely. Husband could of done with harder matress on bed. He had a bad back most of week-end. Hope to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by emmie from cambridge, ma, usa

Wonderful hotel: and FREE DRINKS

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Everything. As I said: attractiveness, price, staff, cleanliness, location and the FREE MINI BAR. Wow.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Glasgow is actually a lovely city; our conference included a welcome at gorgeous City Hall. Trip to imposing Edinburgh left no time for more Glasgow.
Great hotel in every respect. Lovely little lobby and big room at not a big price. Central location. Staff courteous and knowledgeable, cleaning thorough. I couldn't get over the fact that the mini-bar, which is seriously pricey in the US, was FREE! Not only replenished soft drinks and orange juice but also wine, beer, whiskey, vodka and gin. Made me wish I were a more serious drinker. You MUST go to this hotel if you are in Glasgow.
3 out of 5
by peg from Sydney

Disappointment from the moment we pulled up

Posted Mar 31, 2014
This hotel does not have any parking facilities. We were also advised by the less then helpful staff member on our arrival that we could not even park our car out the front to unload our bags. Instead we had to park in a local shopping centre carpark and drag our bags through the shopping centre to the hotel. Very unimpressed. The room was as hot as a sauna and when we opened the blinds for some air we were greeted my garbage bibs below. That plus the sound of people walking and talking in the hallways at all hours left us very tired and very unimpressed my this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by georgina

Excellent location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything. Restaurants, bars, shops, galleries
Had a great 2 night stay. Would definitely recommend, TIP, TOP!!