Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Perfect hotel for a short stay

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Modernizing the furniture and cleaning some of the rooms a bit more.
Location: The underground station is about 5 minutes away and the botanic gardens are right next to the hotel. The city centre is about a 7 minute train ride.
The Clifton hotel was perfect for my night over stay. The location cannot be beat for the price as it is kitty corner to the Hilton but for half rate. Right next to the botanic gardens and near the underground station, grocery stores and lovely restaurants and coffee shops. The staff were pleasant, did not try the breakfast however. The rooms are what you should expect for a 3 star. Comfortable enough for a short stay, upholstery on the chairs could use some cleaning and there were some old stains in the bathroom. However the towels and sheets were clean. My room was facing the street so there was a bit of traffic noise but not too bad. Overall was pleased with my short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Convenient

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Tucked away off the busy street, not hard to find. Construction across the street in the little neighborhood park was the only negative. When they finish that it will be lovely I think. Room on ground floor clean and quiet; typical interior "garden view". To American's not use to old European quads, this can mean anything from real gardens to trash heaps. This was somewhere in between, not a garden, but clean and quiet. Efficient little en-suite bathroom. More space within the room than is typical for this type of lodging. We'd stay there again. Between two very busy and important Tube connections; Eustes and Kings Cross Stations; easy walks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Run down and quite basic

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Old hard bed, breakfast was unmemorable and service rough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

One night in Glasgow hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Central location, the helpful person serving us.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Multiple places for supper nearby & just down the street was the Glasgow Botanical Gardens ! great for strolling that evening.
We had traveled around Scotland and were heading home the next day -- so short stay at the Clifton Hotel. We were greeted graciously and offered help for getting our bags, etc. up the long staircase... we asked if we could store them on the main floor and were allowed to do that -- big help to us. The room was small but immaculate and the window was very large and let us listen in to the neighborhood busyness ... a huge tree hid us from view... The staff were wonderfully helpful in several ways: we asked about how we'd find a taxi in the early morning -- and were told they could make a reservation for us with a Taxi group which gave a very reasonable flat rate, so that was terrific. I need my morning coffee - asked about breakfast which was served from 7:30 am onward -- but we had to be gone by 6:30 ... she offered to wake us at 5:45 am and have items out for us to eat @ 6am ... juice, cereal and fruit, and coffee and toast .. absolutely life-saving !! We appreciated the help and graciousness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Stayed for one night for half the price of the nearby Hilton and have no complaints at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near university

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Stayed one night in this converted Georgian row house, in the "family" room - 12 foot ceiling with original moldings! Very convenient to restaurants, pubs, Botanic Garden and Glasgow University. Staff were friendly and helpful. Some parking available. Wifi a bit iffy - it's available, but they're having router troubles. The included breakfast is quite nice. Great value for the price; we'd stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for attending Oran Mor and West End bars.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Friendly staff. Room 110 small double at the front of hotel faces the main road so expect traffic noise. Bedroom door was adjacent to a heavy fire door which led to another corridor. Unfortunately, this made my door shake EVERY time the adjoining door was opened which did not make for a good night's sleep..No hairdryer in the room or iron but was able to borrow the latter from reception. The room was on the whole clean but the muslin curtains were filthy. Can't comment on the breakfast as chose to try and get some more shut eye. Taxi rank at bottom of road. I'm glad I didn't drive as parking would have been a problem but only £7-8 taxi from Queen St. I possibly would stay again but would request another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by debbie from methil fife

Really good value for money

Posted May 18, 2014
We stayed in twin room, it had plenty room lovely high ceiling, slept well, b/fast was good. Planning on staying again in August
3 out of 5
by Ian from Northampton

Conveniently positioned for the city centre.

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient location!
Cons: Complete refurbishment.
Location: A few bars and restaurants nearby but found all the kitchens closed at around 21.00 so don't leave it too late to eat.
This hotel is very dated. The bed was very hard, not an issue for me but could well be for others. Very old bathroom suite, both the bath and basin taps loose and the drain on the basin appeared to be blocked. Black mould around the edge of the bath. Free wifi but doesn't work if you are in one of the lower floor rooms.Breakfast was very basic, one sausage, fried egg, baked beans and two slices of bacon , which was cold. All in all very disappointing and grossly overpriced at £73.00
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by luis from London

Nice hotel near the university

Posted May 17, 2014
The only thing is the noise from the pub infront of the hotel