Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quite possibly the nicest hotel in Scotland.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location, luxury, staff
Cons: Might be a issue with just the shower in the suite i stayed in but it would go from comfortable to scalding hot periodically while taking a shower.
Location: Its Loch Lomond! the gateway to the highlands, stunning scenery, walks, activities, food, it would actually be easier to list what you cant do!
Spent our wedding night here and was upgraded very kindly by the management to a lovely suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Excellent stay at Loch Lomond

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Wonderful welcome at Cameron House, lovely views, great service. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
luxury hotel at lovely spot with excellent dining choices. if you love scotch, check out the whiskey bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Cameron Hotel rocks!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
It wasn't perfect, but thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Room a bit too dark and too many stairs to climb but otherwise it was just great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely hotel but a few issues with service.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Facilities, grounds, food.
Cons: Service - well below par for what is supposed to be a 5 star hotel.
Location: You have to try the sea-plane flights and see Loch Lomond from the air - obviously not cheap, but well worth it if you get the opportunity.
The check-in process was very polite, but slow. We made this booking 10 months ahead, requesting a double bed - we got a room with 2 single beds pushed together (but wouldn't stay together) and with disabled facilities. Not a major issue until the morning - I am 6'5" and virtually had to kneel to shave, as the sink was so low down. We asked to change rooms on day 2 and that was done, although it took half a day and we still got 2 single beds. Service in the bar was pleasant but painfully slow - 15 minutes or more to get drinks every time. We dined in the Boat House and made a late reservation - 8.15 - as we were told the restaurant was full. On arrival the restaurant bar was totally empty and the restaurant itself was barely half occupied, although with lots of small children it was incredibly noisy - definitely not the place for a romantic meal for two - although the food was excellent. At breakfast on our first morning, we repeatedly had to ask for things that should have been on the table already - teaspoon, side plate, spoon for cereal (we got a soup spoon), butter, preserves - each of those had to be requested separately - it didn't occur to our server that this was an issue and maybe the table hadn't been set properly. Overall impression in that restaurant was a large number of very young serving staff lacking expertise and supervision. This could and should be a fantastic hotel, but for our short visit it proved to be just 'OK'.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Edinburgh

Not as good as I had hoped

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The hotel itself is beautiful. The spa is a couple of miles away and very expensive as you have to pay to use facilities on top of any treatments. It should be noted that the Cameron House website shows photos of the spa facilities, but does not mention they incur additional costs and are not located on site. The boat house restaurant and Cameron grill were not as good as I had hoped and the staff at the boat house require some training. Having to pay to play on the 12 hole crazy golf is ridiculous. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, but I would expect more for the price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idyliic location. Shame about the hotel.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything needs improving to justify its 5* rating
Location: Beautiful.
I heard on departure that the hotel is up for sale. If that is true then it explains why standards here are so far below 5* level, and not worth the price of the rooms (other than the location).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gilbo69 from Wirral

Delightful but not faultless

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely stay At Cameron House, styling and decor is fabulous, if a little too dark. Superficially clean, certain areas particularly the Cameron Grill need a deep clean. Meal at the Grill was excellent in parts but, despite its acclaims, beef not as good as the Grill on the Corner in Glasgow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely area, great gym and leisure facilities. Very relaxing and would stay again.