Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Stunning views, good hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Nice hotel but as it is so big it can take a while to find your room. The hotel is like a maze but after a few visits you get used to it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good views

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Stayed at the hotel as a guest at a wedding being held their. Rooms a bit dated but spacious. Wine overpriced, food ok, staff very accommodating and friendly. Main issue was being asked to pay £20 per room to get access 1 hour early! I'm sure that the hotel made ample money from the wedding without charging the guests attending these additional fees, especially those who were far travelled and had nowhere else to go to get ready for the event. Apart from that a great day was had by all
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Disappointing

Posted Apr 11, 2015
When we arrived there was a large event / party in progress with 50 people in the room right beside the check-in desk which was pushed to one corner! The card machine wouldn't work despite the best efforts of the lady at the desk. Finally our room was in a sorry state - sparse, run-down and unwelcoming. I was woken at 3 AM by the loud wailing of a woman in the hallway. She had been apparently locked out of her room by her partner - a sorry situation which was attended to promptly by the hotel staff. It took me forever to figure out the shower settings which alternated between ice cold and scalding hot. The breakfast however was fantastic and was the only redeeming thing during our entire stay. Room tip- Do not accept a room above the fire exit staircase at the lower wing of the hotel. They are not maintained to the same order as the others in the main wing upstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edinburgh

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Very nice hotel. Lovely leisure facilities, great views from some of the rooms. The only part that let the hotel down was the very small tv in the bedroom and the shower apart from that will definitely come again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Phillipfrom Wirral

Too cold

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
My room was absolutely freezing due to the radiator being luke warm. I had to go to reception for the only fan heater they had which fortunately warmed my room uo sufficiently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ianfrom Lincoln

Great for Business trips

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great local stay for business trip, hotel a bit dated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Cosy hotel with nice food. But WiFi - advertised as throughout hotel - was useless in rooms and pretty slow in dining room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wadea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jineshfrom London

Lazy night porter

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
The lady at reception was great really welcoming friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it went downhill from there. My colleague’s kettle didn't work so the lad on reception asked the night porter to replace it. It never happened we arrived late and the receptionist I am sure would have chased it but she left for the night. The hotel is a quiet location however I wish other guests were as quiet. The walls in the hotel are paper thin and I could hear the conversation/noise the group of people were having next door until 1pm. I called the night porter to ask them to keep the noise down. He never did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom London

Best view in the West of Scotland

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
The staff went out their way to be helpful in what was an extremely busy time over Christmas