Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ayrshire

Lovely hotel on the middle of city

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Beautiful hotel with stunning rooms. A lot of the older fixtures and fittings make it an even more luxurious hotel. Central to everything in Glasgow with a real feel of the city. Staff friendly and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newy York City

Wonderful in every way

Posted Dec 1, 2014
great staff.....very helpful location is dead center glasgow bus to and from airport right there....cheap and easy rooms large by most standards 4th floor away from street....did wonder what lower floors street side looking over a drunk glasgow saturday night would be like...entertaining...but noisy go higher floor over the train station....lovely view...really lovely....and the shadows of the people walking through the train station was otherworldly
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ig8 9nu

Lacking for a 4-star hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Lobby and overhead shower
Cons: heating
The hotel room was cold, lacked heating controls, the iron was burnt, the remote batteries were dead, there no mini-bar and toiletries! For a 4-star hotel it could be a lot better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bracknell

central

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Central location, twenty meters from airport bus stop, staff were good.
Cons: Did not like the decor, a bit old fashioned for me and in darkish brown colours. My wife liked it though, so it is just down to taste.
Location: Right in the centre so all of Glasgow is your oyster!
Nice enough railway station type hotel. Big room, well furnished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yokohama,japan

convenient location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: despite the central location it's quiet in the room
Cons: the corridor is very long and rather dark. some information in the room (about the restaurant) was not correct.
Location: the impressive Central station.
I stayed in a single room though the room was wide enough to me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but not amazing.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Staff were pleasant at check in. Check out was frustrating as the queue was very long (Saturday morning). The room was clean and comfortable, but overpriced in my opinion. The Breakfast buffet menu mentions hash brown potatoes, but they're actually the "McDonalds" variety, shaped like a keystone and warmed up from frozen. Not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great room, great staff.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Location and service
Cons: N/A
Location: The hotel is perfectly placed to access Glasgow city centre and suburbs by train. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There are great restau
We stayed here for 3 busy days visiting friends in the suburbs and taking advantage of the great choice of bars, restaurants and shops in the city centre. The room was comfortable, large and clean. The staff polite and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fife, Scotland

Traditional long-established station hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The traditional ambiance & the convenient setting
Cons: Lift signage Menu French - errors like " Deserts " instead of "Desserts " not what you expect in a hotel of this calibre & long-standing reputation.
Location: Close to Glasgow Central Station it is ideal for travellers. In the heart of the city, there are many shops, cinemas, restaurants and theatres nearby
Conveniently placed long - established hotel for those taking the train as it has entrances directly into station. As its name suggests it is centrally placed for shopping etc. Although it is an old, tradionally built hotel, it has been brought up to modern standards. However, I did find the various levels in the public areas awkward & the lift signage confusing - it could be made much clearer on what level the restaurant is situated for example. As far as the restaurant is concerned it lacked the sophistication that one would expect of a hotel of this type and the glaring error on the menu ( puddings are usually listed under " Desserts - NOT - " Deserts" - I do not normally eat sand ! ) is unforgivable - I expect the management of a hotel of this calibre to know menu French. Knowing this hotel for over 50 years I was a bit taken aback by this obvious mistake. The choice of food was adequate & the service pleasing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom edinburgh

Lovely restored hotel. Great location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The Champagne bar
Cons: Lighting throughout the hotel is very subdued
Location: Great for shopping and close to Royal Concert Theatre
Vibrant hotel in a great location. Lovely staff and right next to the train station
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom n

Central hotel, great location but poor

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Most uncomfortable beds I've experienced, windows rattled in the wind but someone had tried to jam paper in to stop it. I had to ring reception to request our ro be made up in the afternoon & our keys stopped working after day 1 making me think they only had us down for 1 night on some systems. No drinking water in the room either which is surprising.