Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Cheap stay close to everything

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: couple of minutes walk to the railway station, water bus and 15 mins walk to the castle, nice restaurants in front of the hotel; the staff is helpful
Location: You can take a water bus for £10 and go to Luss. The journey takes up to 1 hour. From Luss to Balloch we came back by bus 305 for £2.80 for 10 mins
quite old hotel, smell from the bar going up in the rooms; it's not a 3-star hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Above a noisy pub, room was too hot, had to have the window open but unfortunately my room backed onto the smoking area so smoke in the room, bed springs were knackered, hotel is shabby and old, the noise was terrible, so all in all, I checked out a night early but got a full refund, to be fair.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Worst hotel I ever stayed in

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Live band until 1am directly under our room. Disco until 3am. Incredibly noisy plumbing all the time. Bathroom dirty and full of pubes no loo paper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Located right on the southern tip of Loch Lomond

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, who were superb and very helpful - even the night porter who had to let me out at 4.30am on some mornings.
Cons: I think this hotel does ok as it is
Location: Loch Lomond is very close; boat trips available from almost across the road; Coop supermarket nearby; a selection of restaurants; rail link to Glasgow
I booked 10 nights (for just £300) at this hotel whilst working at the Commonwealth Games. I'm used to staying in bunk houses or camping so any lack of decor wasn't going to be a problem. The hotel is very open about the night club too, warning that it will get noisy on Friday & Saturday evenings - I found a few pints of knock-out drops dealt with this issue. The room was basic but that's what I expected; and bathroom toilet sharing is the norm at camp sites and bunk houses. Tea/coffee making facilities were provided, there was also a basin in the room and a TV (although the remote didn't work). The restaurant was a very good facility. Ok, so it's a bit burger & chips orientated - although other options are available - but the dishes were very reasonably priced, well presented and a decent plateful; at the time of writing this review it would be possible for a a family of four to eat and have change of £25. There's good amenities nearby and a rail link to Glasgow - although I preferred the fantastic cycle route. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an overnight base and is not too concerned about overall comfort. For me this hotel was just the job for what I needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

This hotel needs a massive refurbishment

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Tired room but comfortable bed. Bathroom very basic and needs gutting. Having said that the cost was reasonable compared to the much increased prices being charged elsewhere during the Commonwealth Games.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Nick Bolton from Folkestone

Truly terrible - my worst experience in a hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Briefly, as I don't like to remember it: stiflingly hot, lock fell off the room so my room was inscure, no remote for the TV, hotel guy swore terribly when I gave back the cooler he gave me due the temperature because it had only half a plug with no back or fuse!!! Only plus was the lovely woman who ran the breakfast room in the morning who was really friendly and helpful. But avoid, seriously!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by AlyM from Johnstone

Dont Book Here

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked a d/room with breakfast. When we arrived and I asked what time breakfast was I was informed that breakfast was not included in any of the rooms and was £5 each. There was no manager and the person on reception didnt seem to care. Room was dirty - layers of dust on carpet behind door and no teaspoons to stir the coffee. Our room was to the rear of the building but felt very exposed due to the window being level with a flat roof and the large sign denoting that the hotel wouldn't take any responsibility for any theft that occurred....have they suffered a lot of break-ins? We had been pre-warned about the noise of the nightclub on a Saturday and Sunday night so we planned not to return until it was closing time...so glad we did as the noise was immense. The pictures on the walls vibrated with the bass and there was no chance that anyone could sleep through a racket like it. I spoke to the manager in the morning- he was very apologetic and advised that they had stopped including breakfast in January and that I must have booked very far in advance before they had time to smooth out the crossover between breakfast and no breakfast. He did seem genuinely surprised when I told him I had booked it just the week before. He then apologised again and offered me breakfast - we were ready to leave and quite honestly didn't fancy what might be done to the plates out of our sight so we declined his offer.... Not worth the £75 I paid and certainly not worth £85 to include the breakfast
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't stay again.

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
An expensive hotel for what it was. Window latches in room were broke, so was the catch on the bedroom door. A 'locals' pub, and also the only nightclub in town so I'm glad I didn't stay on a wkend! There are better hotels and pubs and restaurants literally 2 mins walk away. Easiliy the worst in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com