Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrickfrom Warwickshire, UK

Very friendly & helpful staff

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Very helpful staff
Cons: The shower was a little lacking in power
Location: It's at the very hear of the city which is great for getting around but guarantees noise from outside will filter in
Ok, yes this hotel is a little cheap and cheerful. Yes, it’s really close to the train station and the city centre and so noise from outside will filter in and yes, if you have heavy luggage it doesn’t have a lift/elevator but I’ve never stayed anywhere where staff were so willing to go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating or were so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great central hotel on budget

Posted Mar 10, 2013
Great central location. Wasn't disturbed by traffic, trains, late night revellers as other reviews state. Triple room allocated instead of double as booked, but not a problem. Would definitely stay here again & recommend hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davefrom Suffolk

Value for Money Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Would benefit from having a wider range of beers in the bar.
Location: Right in the heart of the city.
Budget Hotel, excellent location and value, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kristyfrom Melbourne VIC, Australia

No fuss is always good for a traveller.

Posted Sep 12, 2012
In ideal location for travellers using the train i found it to be a real help to be close to this. The rooms have everything you need, with a good cooked or continental breakfast of your choice avaliable. Good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Will return whenever I need a budget stay

Posted May 15, 2012
OK, it's not one of your lovely countryside B&Bs or modern hotels, but with this affordable rate and very central location, this is definitely one of the best hotels you can find in Glasgow, I reckon. This time I booked an attic type room at a very reasonable price and it was a "shaking" room, possilby due to outside trafic. I took it that was the reason for the incredible price, so it was all right with me. Anyway, the room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfy enough and the shower was good. Other rooms I have stayed in the past were not "shaking" at all and everything was very very good (if not super-excellent).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but great for an overnight stay

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Good basic room clean and adequate for overnight stay
Cons: Information not passed on to staff taking over at reception
Location: Great location very central
Hotel is what it is rated at basic but room was clean with plenty of clean towels and bathroom was adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast area was clean and the breakfast itself was really good.
1 out of 5
by sleeplessfrom UK

The worst nights sleep I have had in a hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: sound of the street outside
Location: beside central station
On checkin, It appeared that something was wrong witth the reservation system so it took a while but was done by an appologetic and friendly member of staff. I asked how I would get through the external door after late hours, and the reply was "it depends who is on, sometimes it is locked sometime it is wide open" Bit worrying for security in central Glasgow. The room had no TV signal. Everytime a bus or truck went past the room vibrated. The sink plug did not fit the sink. the toilet wobbled. The sink tap was not fitted currectly and rotated . The bed lights and shaving mirror light did not work. The shower head was at waist height. When closing the window, my fingers were covered in inches of dust. But the worse thing above the superficial aspects. You could loudly hear the noise of the people and bus engine at the bus stops below all night long, It was so much that I decided at the early hours to go and sleep in the bathroom and drown the sound of the street out with the bathroom fan and suffer with the light on. The breakfast waiting staff did not great us on arrival and then left us sitting waiting for far too long before they came to take the order. when the order came, items were missing, and no one came back to check if everything was ok for us to complain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony Q.from Maryland

Central Station location

Posted Feb 2, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Stairs, and more stairs.
Location: Right next to Central Station.
This hotel has one thing going for it; Location, location, location. Huge haul up narrow stairs to reception thence to rooms. Noisy at weekends front of hotel, but overall ain't bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom blackburn lancs

I WILL return

Posted May 10, 2011
Brilliant place to stay,breafast is 1st class,hotel is 1min from br central station and slap in the middle of the city.Really liked this place and highly recommend.Price is VERY pleasing. Allan
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good location but a bit scruffy

Posted May 8, 2011
POSITIVES = great location, right next to central train station and shops. Friendly staff. Plenty of tea and coffee with biscuits in room. Good wall-mounted TV. Windows in rooms fully open so won't be stuffy in the summer and can get fresh air. Good breakfast choice - continental or cooked to order AND included in price NEGATIVES = Decor a bit tired with an 'uncared for' feel. Chewing gum stuck on back of radiator! Rooms at front have street noise and rooms at back, the bed shakes a bit with the vibration of the trains, but only slightly, doesn't keep you awake! No Wi-fi in room - only in the lounge area, which is a bit inconvenient. It has a bar but there is no ICE for drinks! No lift, but not many stairs to climb and only 4 floors. But overall due to location I think the positives outweigh the negatives and price was very reasonable, so value for money. BUT DON'T EXPECT A 'RENNIE McKINTOSH' DECOR AND FEEL IN THE BEDROOMS