Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Our start of trip, & end of trip, B&B

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean rooms. Very good breakfast with excellent coffee & a large breakfast room.
Cons: A little tired, and there is not an elevator, but, it is being upgraded & they've been petitioning Glasgow for 5 years for the permit for an elevator
Location: Good location to transit, restaurants, sights & it was very quiet during both of our stays. Good shopping, restaurants and access to transit.
Our family stayed here at the beginning of our trip of Scotland. We also stayed at the end. The staff were so good, they moved our rooms down to lower levels so our Mum didn't have to walk up so many flights of stairs. On our first visit we were in "attic" rooms. Very comfortable, but four flights up & no elevator. The staff were very welcoming & easy-going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Canada

Lovely place to land

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, welcoming place. The staff are great.
Cons: I know, it's Scotland, but, no smoking on the property would be greatly appreciated.
Location: Restaurants on Sauchiehall St. were great - so many to choose from & great prices.
Excellent location with fantastic staff. Our stay here was great. Clean rooms, great breakfast included. There isn't an elevator & we were on the top (4th) floor aka"the attic". Be warned if you aren't into stairs. We were booked to stay here again at the end of our trip. We asked if at least one of our rooms could be moved to a lower floor as my 83 year old Mum was finding the four flights of stairs a bit of a test. The staff were very understanding & said they would do all they could. Our room windows were in the roof & gave the best air circulation to our rooms. A quiet & comfortable B&B. Easy walking area to classic spots in Glasgow & to the trains & subway. Amazing restaurants close by. Totally great experience here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Inverness

fairly comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: see above about car. beds not most comfortable
Location: steep hills were hard going. plenty of shops, resturaunts very close.
reception should ask if you have a car, I didn't notice that I needed vouchers and received a parking ticket, which I realise I was partially at fault, but if staff ask then it wouldn't have happened. Found some of cleaning was missed, dishes left unwashed. There was a problem with juice and coffee machines on the Sunday morning. Having said that, staff were indeed friendly and helpful and the stay was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good choice for a short stay in Glasgow

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Good location, comfortable room, helpful staff and a hearty breakfast all at a budget price
1 out of 5
by Brian from Hampshire

Room for a night

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Very jaded. Room shower did not function properly as unable to stop scolding water from tap onto feet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kendra from London, UK

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: A nice centralized location, close to many good and diverse restaurants and pubs. Easy to walk to a from many different locations.
Cons: The time breakfast was served was a little inconvenient for us personally. We felt it started and finished a bit too early.
Nice cozy rooms, comfortable beds, and staff were polite and friendly. Rooms were in good condition and kept clean and tidy for the duration of our stay. Overall a good experience, we would definitely stay there again. All I would suggest others to keep in mind is that there are a lot of stairs to climb if you happen to get a room on the top floor.
3 out of 5
by PhD Student from Leeds

Meh

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: I liked the following: central location, free wifi, decent bed/pillow, breakfast area and outside patio.
Cons: I think the following would improve the hotel: cheaper rates (especially for single rooms), better showers, & relocating tv to more viewable location.
Location: The hotel is rather central in Glasgow, right off of Sauchiehall Street. Lots of shopping, decent food, and there is the theatre nearby as well.
On check-in, the staff member was constantly reiterating the same thing to the person in front of me. So much so that they asked me to sit on the sofas and wait to check-in. There had apparently been miscommunication (missed email) and the staff member was obviously trying to apologise without accepting any responsibility at the same time. My check-in went fine but I was disappointed with my room allocation. It was definitely not value for money. Single rooms are not spacious or homey at all. It was more like staying in ensuite Uni accommodation or a hostel. I was on the second floor (no lifts, but not really expected) and the shower was a tiny box (thankfully I'm small otherwise there would have been major problems). The bed and pillow were decent in terms of comfort but the tv was small and far away in a corner (not as advertised via the photos). Sad to say but the best thing about my stay was the free wifi. I don't know if I'll stay again as it was too expensive (even 1/2 price) for what was offered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very run down

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Pretty much everything
Location: Near to the GC uni and 15 mins walk to grand central station. Also restaurants and bars within 10 mins walk
Hotel was in a good location for me as I needed to be near GC university. However the hotel looked very tired with worn and dirty carpets in the lobby/reception area. Despite the hotel appearing to be quiet, I was placed in a basement room, that had a door onto a back alley, with only a tiny bolt lock holding it shut. The bathroom ceiling was covered in black mould and I had to ask at reception for a towel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London W5

Clean and friendly basic hotel near city centre.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location. Friendly. Comfortable.
Cons: At this price, very little.
Location: Close to restaurants and shops. Museums and stations within walking distance.
This was a basic hotel. It was a little worn round the edges but very clean and comfortable. My friend and I shared a large twin room (there were actually three comfortable beds in the room). The staff were very friendly and helpful and readily arranged parking permits so I could park outside (£10 per day). Breakfast was good enough. It was excellent value, given the location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SewingBee from Essex

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The location was good, breakfast was also good with lots of choices. The bed was comfy with a good-quality duvet and bedlinen.
Cons: Bare floorboards give the rooms character but also make them noisy. I really didn't like hearing guests in nearby rooms using the toilet and shower.
Location: Good location. Only five minutes walk to the main shopping area.
Great location, within one hundred metres of Glasgow School of Art (for Charles Rennie Mackintosh fans!) The Hotel was a little shabby, although the room and bathroom were both clean.