Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom germany

Remote and lovely

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Very clean, very nice hosts, lovely pool, everything perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniel Kunzfrom Biel

Schöne, ruhige Oase auf dem Poas

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unser GPS fand das Hotel ohne Probleme. Die Besitzer waren sehr freundlich und Hilfsbereit. Das kleine Bungalow war nett eingerichtet mir einem sehr schönem Bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by D. S.from Alkmaar NL

Uitstekende cabana met prachtig uitzicht.

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Eerder afslaan dan het navigatiesysteem aangeeft, maar vervolgens tref je een uitstekende cabana met prachtig uitzicht en een enthousiast, zeer servicegericht echtpaar. Een grotere luifel en twee stoelen zou nog een wens kunnen zijn. Verder niets dan lof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Stunning views and amazing setting

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The setting and views
Location: Stunning views. All kinds of activities available for all ages - it has it all!
Peaceful tranquility complemented with comfortable and clean accommodation! Sitting out on our own balcony overlooking the slopes of the Poas volcano was just heaven! :) The friendly hosts completed the perfection of this hotel - always helpful and informative, and ready to offer advice for sight seeing and exploring. We just cannot wait to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Nice small hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
You need a car to arrive here. It is close to poas volcano, 40 min. Away from the international airport of San Jose. The owners are very nice and give us a lot of information about the area. our cabin was very clean and had all you need to stay even longer time (fridge, microwave, small stove/ one fire, dishes, glasses and complimentary coffee. The room was nice and the breakfast that was included in the room price was very good. It is a nice place to relax in the middle of the mountains. We loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Wonderful views, I will certainly come back

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Breathtaking views, quiet and comfortable acommodations but nothing beats the friendliness of the owners! Breakfast is fantastic, I will certainly come back :D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson

The best hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: I could not find one thing I did not like. Everything was fantastic.
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: The location is what sold me on the hotel. So quit and the views WOW
To me the mango valley hotel is the best hotel in all of Costa Rica. The owners are wonderful, the sweetest couple you will ever meet. The hotel is the cleanest in all of Costa Rica. I will recommend Mango Valley Hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel on the top of Volcan Poas

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great place to stay if you're looking for relaxation and an amazing view. No small children, no big crowds, and a very nice setting being the last driveway before the National Park. The owners were very helpful and fun to talk to, they even helped me order some delicious food that was delivered by scooter right to my cottage during a thunderstorm. Couldn't have asked for a better experience after spending a couple days on the beach. The drives to Volcan Poas and La Paz Waterfalls were fairly quick and offered many spectacular views. Mango Valley is only 45 minutes from the airport in San Jose, which makes it a great first or last stop on your trip. I have no complaints about my stay at Mango Valley and will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Costa Rica
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Luiz mendoncafrom Nj

Perfect get away.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
If ur looking for a couple get away this place is great... Far from places so u need a car but great clean place and the owner jose wonderful person..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michellefrom jacksonville

Great hotel with great owners

Posted May 21, 2014
The owners here are so friendly and the grounds are very pretty; lined with coffee plants, mango trees, flowers, and overlooking Volcan Poas. There's a real nice looking outside pool, but that is the only amenity besides breakfast. It's really dark at night because there aren't many lights here (or anywhere in this country) and you can hear all the sounds of the jungle from your room which is pretty cool. The rooms are like small separate cabins instead of a regular hotel/motel look. It is fairly new so everything in the room is nice, including the floors and all. It's nice to stay here and experience where it isn't all touristy... My only complaint is that there is no AC in the rooms, but thankfully they have a ceiling fan or I would have never gotten to sleep. I think the only hotels that may have AC are the chain hotels in the touristy areas, because no businesses or restaurants have AC either.