Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Stunning views and amazing setting

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The setting and views
Location: Stunning views. All kinds of activities available for all ages - it has it all!
Peaceful tranquility complemented with comfortable and clean accommodation! Sitting out on our own balcony overlooking the slopes of the Poas volcano was just heaven! :) The friendly hosts completed the perfection of this hotel - always helpful and informative, and ready to offer advice for sight seeing and exploring. We just cannot wait to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice small hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
You need a car to arrive here. It is close to poas volcano, 40 min. Away from the international airport of San Jose. The owners are very nice and give us a lot of information about the area. our cabin was very clean and had all you need to stay even longer time (fridge, microwave, small stove/ one fire, dishes, glasses and complimentary coffee. The room was nice and the breakfast that was included in the room price was very good. It is a nice place to relax in the middle of the mountains. We loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful views, I will certainly come back

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Breathtaking views, quiet and comfortable acommodations but nothing beats the friendliness of the owners! Breakfast is fantastic, I will certainly come back :D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

The best hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: I could not find one thing I did not like. Everything was fantastic.
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: The location is what sold me on the hotel. So quit and the views WOW
To me the mango valley hotel is the best hotel in all of Costa Rica. The owners are wonderful, the sweetest couple you will ever meet. The hotel is the cleanest in all of Costa Rica. I will recommend Mango Valley Hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel on the top of Volcan Poas

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great place to stay if you're looking for relaxation and an amazing view. No small children, no big crowds, and a very nice setting being the last driveway before the National Park. The owners were very helpful and fun to talk to, they even helped me order some delicious food that was delivered by scooter right to my cottage during a thunderstorm. Couldn't have asked for a better experience after spending a couple days on the beach. The drives to Volcan Poas and La Paz Waterfalls were fairly quick and offered many spectacular views. Mango Valley is only 45 minutes from the airport in San Jose, which makes it a great first or last stop on your trip. I have no complaints about my stay at Mango Valley and will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Costa Rica
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Luiz mendonca from Nj

Perfect get away.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
If ur looking for a couple get away this place is great... Far from places so u need a car but great clean place and the owner jose wonderful person..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from jacksonville

Great hotel with great owners

Posted May 21, 2014
The owners here are so friendly and the grounds are very pretty; lined with coffee plants, mango trees, flowers, and overlooking Volcan Poas. There's a real nice looking outside pool, but that is the only amenity besides breakfast. It's really dark at night because there aren't many lights here (or anywhere in this country) and you can hear all the sounds of the jungle from your room which is pretty cool. The rooms are like small separate cabins instead of a regular hotel/motel look. It is fairly new so everything in the room is nice, including the floors and all. It's nice to stay here and experience where it isn't all touristy... My only complaint is that there is no AC in the rooms, but thankfully they have a ceiling fan or I would have never gotten to sleep. I think the only hotels that may have AC are the chain hotels in the touristy areas, because no businesses or restaurants have AC either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A. Opeyo from Atlanta, GA

Excellent getaway, great value

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
During my recent 8 day stay in Costa Rica I stayed at the Aloft in San Jose, El Silencio Lodge in Bajos del Toro, Las Cascadas in Quepos, and Hotel Mango Valley. Each one had its charms, Hotel Mango Valley was one of our favorites, and definitely the best value. Hotel Mango Valley is not a long drive from San Jose, but if its your first time in Costa Rica you might be concerned that you seem to be driving into a little farm village, getting stuck behind tractors and farm trucks. In fact, you will be staying at a converted farm. The owners are Spanish ex-pats, are very friendly and live on the property. We only stayed one night but could have stayed an extra day or two. Only breakfast is served on the premises but there are restaurants within walking distance and others that deliver. The property is quite beautiful and you get a vista of coffee fields and forest. The grounds have lovely landscaping and a nice little pool. Our cabin was clean and comfortable. Waking up in the morning to a beautiful sunrise and view from our cabin was quite glorious. Not every cabin has a view, make sure you ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Maryna from Silver Spring, MD

Bed and Breakfast surrounded by coffee plantations

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed the views and breakfast was great! It was a little difficult to get there in the dark, so recommend arriving before sunset. We would like to return for a longer stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by william from Alberta, Canada

Quiet with a beautiful view.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Family atmosphere and room amenities. Beautiful setting.
Cons: Expedia directions to the hotel. GPS coordinates on Expedia would help.
Location: Numerous...hotel staff very knowledgable
Wonderful place to relax and also very convenient to get to the airport. Extremely clean. Very friendly and helpful owners.