Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Olu from Bethlehem, PA

Truckers Hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: I would not use the hotel and like in the same sentence.
Cons: The whole hotels needs a good deep cleaning, the place smelt damp and unkempt.
Location: We had to visit the next town for fun and entertainment.
It was a very dated hotel. It must have been really beautiful in the late sixties and early seventies, but not anymore. We were greeted at the reception by a young lady, she was quite cheerful and very welcoming. She is probably the only pleasant thing about the hotel. She gave us a room that had not been cleaned. She later apologized for that, but gave us another room later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013
2 out of 5
by Steph from altoona, pa

Low fixtures

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: King Size bed.
Cons: Let customers know up front that everything is very low to the floor. Up date your binders in the room several things were wrong.
Location: Not far from Pittsburgh Zoo, Phillips botanical gardens and Frank Lloyd Wright houses near Ohio pyle.
Everything was low to the floor. I'm around average height and I found that I was stooping for everything from the dresser to the sinks in the bathroom. First time I was at a hotel where I felt like a giant do to the height of everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by spookbust

Hotel was convienant.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Hotel was decent for the price. Not a place to stay if you need wifi. Spoty service which wasn't worth the effort. Basically you get what you pay for. Needs to be updated. Everything was clean and staff were pleasant to deal with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Pittsburgh

Close to where we were going that weekend

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness. The room appliances-microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Nice size room, plenty of drawer space'
Cons: Internet service in the room. Having the pool open.
Location: Close to the PA Turnpike, right off of Rte 70. Many places to eat nearby. Stock car racing at the Motordrome in Smithton Friday nights in the summer
My wife and I stayed at this hotel because it was close to two events we wanted to experience that weekend, stock car racing at the Motordrome in Smithton and the Pittsburgh Renaissance Festival. The room rate was reasonable and the room was clean and had a small refridgerator , microwave and coffee maker. The room was clean, and looked as if it had been recently renovated. The biggest complaint was we had no internet service, The front desk told us it was available in the lobby, but after a day of walking around the RenFest, we had wanted to relax in our room. Also the pool was closed. It would have been nice to go for a swim before dinner. There are many places to eat nearby, which was a plus. We had the continental breakfast offered by the hotel before checking out Sunday morning and it had a decent selection of offerings- cereal, English muffins, fruit, oatmeal, juice & coffee. We arrived a half hour before it was over and the coffee was weak, as if they didn't want to waste a fresh scoop and ran it through used grounds. A minor complaint, but when needing coffee for a jump start in the morning the stronger the better. All in all it was a pleasant stay, but the lack of internet service in our room would cause us to look elsewhere should we decide to do this again
2 out of 5
by harold from washington, dc

why

Posted Jul 30, 2013
internet out of service, key card stopped working, location and hotel was not picturesque.
1 out of 5
by Jeremy from minneapolis mn

would never go there again

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: carpets and maybe a little renovation
Location: na
I accidentally booked 2 rooms for that night because of bad cell phone coverage. It was 11pm at night when I did this. Called hotel to let them know i needed only one room and they told me i had to call expedia to cancel. I was just trying to let them know they could book the other room. when we got there i seemed to be a nuissance more than a customer because of my double booking. i have been to other hojos and this was a total disappointment. The rooms were disgusting and very outdated. We didnt dare walk on the carpet with our barefeet. Lots of repairs were needed.
2 out of 5
by James

Needs a scrub!

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Good access to main roads
Cons: Cleanliness, curtains, initial temp in the room, breakfast
Toilet didn't work so we needed to change rooms as there are no maintenance people on night shift. The vacuuming in the rooms was very marginal. Curtains were wrinkled. Rooms were very hot upon entry as the air was turned off. The breakfast was minimal and hardly any room to sit
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Pit Stop

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We travel between Cincinnati and York every few months to visit family. We leave after work on Friday, stay halfway and complete the trip Saturday morning. New Stanton has proved to be a good stopping point. The HJ Inn was dated but clean and comfortable. It was good value for the price paid. My only suggestion would be for them to turn on the heat in the roooms they have reservations for so they aren't as uncomfortable on arrival.