Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Camberley, UK

A beautiful location.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The watersports centre (Scubatech) was very friendly and helpful. The food in the Gary Rhodes reataurant was superb.
Location: This is a quite and peaceful resort, not really good for children or party goers - which made it all the better for us.
We had such an enjoyable time at our last visit in 2012 that we came back in July 2014 and it was even better than we had remembered. Our (Westside) suite was spacious, well equipped and had lovely views. The suites are set well apart from each other across stunning gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Extraordinary!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
I'm usually pretty harsh critic when it comes to hotels. This hotel left me speechless. The Service was flawless, the rooms were meticulous and the setting breathless. I'm also usually pretty tight when it comes to money. But every dollar spent was well worth it. So, If you're on a budget this hotel is well worth saving up for and experiencing:-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel,on the beach. Good food ,very friendly

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Cons: More information on local trees, flowers and birds.
Comfortable,clean,excellent breakfast in the room. Very nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the Hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Loved the hotel. I received a warm greeting as soon as I stepped out of my taxi. I was then whisked away to my room where there was a snack waiting for me to ensure that I had something to eat incase I missed dinner. I was then told that I had been upgraded to a suite with a private swimming pool. The staff were amazing and very helpful. I loved my stay and would be happy to return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Connecticut

Great Time at the Calabash

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Our room was nice and the surprise of ending up in a suite with a private pool was a treat. Spa facility gorgeous - looks over the bay.
Cons: Couldn't have been better
Location: Might be better off taking cabs or tours. Minimal signage made driving an adventure
Lovely facility with helpful staff and fabulous meals
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT HOTEL

Posted Oct 15, 2012
NICE, SUPERB, EXCELLENT STAFF. ESPECIALLY GLENDA AT THE FRONT DESK. FOOD, DINING, EXCELLENT, GREAT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elsie from New York, NY, USA

Fulfilled all expectations!

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: personalized service, attention to detail.
Location: Close to the airport and True Blue campus of St. George's University. Right on the water - gorgeous!
We arrived at the hotel after some unfortunate flight problems, and every member of the staff from the receptionist to our waiter at dinner that evening was aware of what had delayed us. The staff was overwhelmingly helpful, kind, and friendly. This hotel has several personal touches, from the personal greetings from the staff to having breakfast served in our room in the morning. It's a quick trip from the airport and near the University and local shopping, making it ideal if you're visiting students or don't want to travel far to your destination. There's a private beach with free boat rentals, and at dinner we had a great performance by a steel drum band. Delicious food and nice spa. Sometimes service was a little slow (during lunch especially), but you're on vacation so relax! The islanders live a slower pace and take time to indulge in pleasantries and kindness, so welcome it. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristina from Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead SL4, UK

Calabash beauty set on tranquil sands

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: The breakfast were just heaven, and the tranquility soothed my furrowed brow
Cons: Dining in the evening was restricted to the Rhodes restaurant, which although had regular one-man entertainment lacked buzz.
Location: The best! Lovely tropical gardens placed on a good beach close to St Georges and several restaurants.
Beautiful setting, small complex of 30 2-layer dwellings set around a lovely tropical garden and stretch of beach. The atmosphere is tranquil and suited to couples or families with grown up children as there are no facilities for youngsters. However, this makes for perfect ambience for couples who can relax without the usual hubbub of a normal resort. The beach restaurant serves wonderful food, but closes at 6pm, and the length from time of order to serving can be up to 45 minutes with no service for drinks unless one asks. The Rhodes restaurant undoubtedly produces wonderful dishes, many of which are mouth-watering, but the dining comes at a heavy price. The chef can conjur up any demands, more simple dishes at perhaps a lesser rate, but the atmosphere suffers from lack of attendance, probably due to the cost. Locally and within 10 minutes taxi are an array of fantastic Caribbean restaurants, typically BB Crabbacks in St Georges marina, or Patricks nearby, both whom serve authentic West Indian dishes at a reasonable price. The pool at the hotel is set aside and is rather small but perfectly formed, is quite private set within its gated walls, but can capture the heat slightly due to this. The gym within this area is air-conditioned and about the only exercise available (apart from the PADI school) where one can work off the excesses of frequent dining. Breakfast is normally included, and served on ones own balcony by a maid who cooks each day with a large smile!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

loved it!

Posted Dec 15, 2008
We loved our time at the Calabash. We stayed in the "Morning Glory" suite # 14. It was spacious and clean and the private pool was the b-e-s-t! Breakfast made for us on the patio every morning was another incredible feature. The hotel restaurants were pricey (most expensive cheeseburger I ever ate at the beach restaurant; $$$$ for 2 desserts at the Rhodes restaurant) but the other amenities more than made up for that. The folks at Scubatech (Sabine and Carston and Kate) are super nice if you're doing a scuba or snorkling outing, or even if you're just borrowing their gear to go out on your own. The Atlantic ocean and all the beautiful sailboats were steps away from our suite. Camelia at the reception desk was as sweet as can be. Everyone was friendly and tried so hard to be accomodating to our every need. Oh, and the woman who gave us our massages was phenomenal!