Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, beautiful location.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Clean, great location
Cons: New alarm clocks that are easier to use.
I had a perfect stay at Kalinago. The view was wonderful, the room clean and well appointed. The bathroom was fairly large and looked very new and modern. The daily maid service was excellent. There is even a hotel managers cocktail reception by the beach every Tuesday for the guests, where the drinks flowed freely and allowed for guests to meet and mingle. I walked twice to Grand Anse beach and once to La Luna, both of which are close by. Walking up the hill is no big deal. I will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad & Tobago

Lovely Hotel On The Beach...

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Located on the beach, clean, comfy, pretty decent breakfast, free and good wifi, pleasant and helpful staff, excellent value for money.
Cons: Number of TV channels, computer in the lobby, breakfast options, institute a shuttle to the city and other places of interest.
Location: Beach @ Morne Rouge (in front the hotel), Crab Racing and Karaoke @The Owl (10 minutes walk) on Monday nights, Mall (5 minutes by taxi - $20.00 EC)
I stayed at Kalinago for 3 nights while on business. The hotel is lovely and the staff members are generally very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on an absolutely calm and beautiful beach and also has a pool, if that's your fancy. Breakfast is available from the hotel's restaurant and is pretty good; maybe a little limited in terms of the options. The hotel is located on Morne Rouge and the staff will tell you that the Mall, KFC, Grand Anse etc. are approximately 10 minutes walking distance away. Folks, put on your walking shoes and prepare for a walk that is approximately 40 minutes (brisk walk) with some parts of the journey quite deserted. The distances quoted by the booking sites are also incorrect. If one chooses to take a taxi, a short (5 minute) ride will cost $20.00 EC, which is horrendous. To get out from the hotel area, one has the option of going up a very high hill (right out of the hotel) or passing along a moderate incline (left out of the hotel). Go left!!! The hill on the right is precarious, steep and narrow and if you encounter two (2) vehicles on the hill, you will be very scared as there is no pavement and an uncovered drain on the side. The wifi is pretty good, when it's on, and there is a computer which guests can use (old though) if one does not have his/her own device. Gem's is on the same compound as Kalinago. My room was very clean and comfy but the bed was very high and the TV had limited channels. All rooms have a view of the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Laidback week

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Spacious and clean rooms. Staff very friendly and flexible. Quiet beach Excellent WFI and air conditioning.
Cons: Number of news channels available on TV. Speed of female bar staff
Location: steep road into hotel, only hotel on a small bay, quiet beach. just relax eat drink and soak up the sun. 5 minutes in a minibus to center of St George
Just the place to get away from it all at a small hotel with no frills but everything you need to get by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Cons: Rooms - bed was not good Extra lock - would make you feel more comfortable
I was here for two nights (on business). I was given a ground floor room. The door did not have a safety lock, and I had to keep remembering to lock the door on the knob. The restaurant for breakfast was a little disorganized; I seemed to be given different instructions that the other guests that arrived. Maybe because I was on business -- I viewed my stay differently. It took a while for cabs to come, and I almost missed an appointment. I booked this hotel because of the reviews on expedia. The staff -- during my stay -- seemed dis-interested in me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Great location.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: We liked the location and the ambiance of the hotel.The staff were very friendly and courteous.
Cons: The restaurant could be improved. The food was tasty but many items on the menu were not available. The TV viewing needs improvement- more channels.
Location: Great beach with the usual beach activities. Recreational park with scenic views in walking distance.Shopping Malls and restaurants close by.
We spent 4 nights and 5 days at this ideally situated hotel,at Morne Rouge Bay,Grenada. It is on one of the most beautiful beaches we've seen. The grounds are well kept and attractive with a swimming pool and lush tropical vegetation.The staff were courteous and very friendly. The room was comfortable enough and has a small fridge and an electric kettle. We had a problem with one of the beds in the room making a lot of noise but the problem was attended to when drawn to the management's attention. There was a beautiful view from the room even though we were on the ground floor.We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant Fidelis. The meals were tasty but many items on the menu were not available.If you do not have a vehicle then you will have to walk a fair distance for other meal options. The check in and check out were both quick. There is free wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Located on best beach in Grenada for swimming.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Restaurant and maintenance.
Location: We rented car so did not have to walk up steep hill to get to Spiceland Mall and Grand Anse Beach facilities.
Hotel could use some maintenance. Bathroom door locked on my husband first night we were there and, luckily, I had nail scissors out on the other side that I could pass to him under the door so he could remove the door knob. My daughter's room never did get a working telephone. The patio screen door always came off the slider, and all it needed was to be set in properly. The food in the restaurant is very tiring. However, the location is excellent. Even though it is located on a public beach, we enjoyed our stay there immensely. You would have to put up with the Rum Runner's coming in plus speedboats pulling tubes whenever the cruise ships came in; which always stirred up the sand. There was one day where we could actually see our toes when swimming. Uniformed police cadets regularly patrol the public beaches in Grenanda and Mourne Rouge Beach is no exception. However, this did not deter the "hawkers" who would consistently approach you to buy something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Beautiful location!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
We stayed at Kalinago for 8 nights. The location is a bit out of the way, but we liked that. The beach is beautiful and not too crowded. Most of the staff were very accommodating. The hotel could use some minor repairs/updates, but these fall by the wayside with the overall charm and amazing beach. The hotel restaurant had good local dishes. Sangria, located close by was also very good. For a good donut or pastry, stop by Sweetly, also in close proximity. Prepare to take a cab from this hotel to most destinations. Beware of people in the town of St. George's approaching you and offering walking tours..they may start talking to you and showing you around and before you know it, you realize you are on a tour. Grenada is a beautiful place, I highly recommend Kalinago if going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lawrence C from Colorado Springs

Great Hotel and Staff

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel and staff exceeded our expectations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from Abbotsley Cambridge

Great Hotel - shame about the food

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately we could only stay 3 nights. Room was newly decorated and well appointed with a 1st floor view of the pool and beach. Mourne Rouge bay is maybe the best on Grenada. The only fault was the food that was below average. So my advice is no food. There is a good bar on beach for breakfast, lunch etc. We found Savvys restaurant (half mile walk) to be outstanding. Overall we would certainly return to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Kalinago

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, situated on a calm beach. Friendly staff,clean rooms. we recomend, they improve their food menu.