Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We had a good experience at Kalinago. Great beach & location, courteous & helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from New York

Extremely convenient to the beach.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Free Wi-fi was a plus and again the proximity to the beach.
Location: Attended family events at a different location but great place to relax and enjoy the beach
Stay was only 3 nights but I enjoyed that the facility provided direct access to the beach. Was able to walk simply steps to be on the lovely beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Curtis from Seattle

Great all-around resort

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed several days at Kalinago, was easy to cab to from the Marina, pool bar and service were exceptional, service at restaurant was laid-back but good, and the room was spotless. We'll be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating. The view was amazing. It's certainly, a peaceful and calm place to stay at. I just wished the hotel offer better food selection and the hours were extended. Otherwise, I enjoyed everything else about my stay at the resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith M R from Cheshire UK

Pleasant small hotel, remote but stunning location

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Wonderful relaxing location. Small, quiet - 29 rooms. Staff most helpful and friendly.
Cons: Food service sometimes very slow. Limited dinner menu. 15% VAT on food makes it somewhat expensive. A regular shuttle taxi is required.
Location: Fabulous beach location. Sangria restaurant 400 yards up the "hill" is walkable and good. Other restaurants, trips, golf, sails, need taxi.
The 29 room Kalinago Hotel, and the Gem Apartments, share an absolutely heavenly beach-side location. They are at the bottom of a 33% steep hill, so are isolated from the buzz of St George and reasonably priced taxis are required to go anywhere off-site. Rooms are good, clean, excellently serviced, the furniture a little old-fashioned. Restaurant menu is limited and service sometimes "manyana" (90 minutes once for a couple of pizzas), but cooked breakfast is good. Plenty of almond tree shade on the beautiful beach, and beach-beds are provided free. Did not kayak because prevailing wind was always off-shore. Smallish hotel pool is colder than the sea, so not busy, also shade is limited around the pool - the beach is MUCH better. We enjoyed 14 days of January heaven at Kalinago, despite the odd annoyances because Grenadans do things their way, in their own time. Incidentally, forget car-hire - the road conditions are not good, and driving requires much local pot-hole knowledge and expertise !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The beach, pool and grounds were beautiful.
Cons: The afternoon/night time bartender was moody and not very welcoming. The staff did not give us to wake ups calls which left us scrambling and rushed.
The hotel was secluded and quiet, which we enjoyed. The restaurant was pricey and only had three options a night on their menu. If you wanted to go else where to eat you had to take a cab which was around $20.00 US each way. The hotel did not have vending machines or a store. We arrived at 9:30 pm and weren't able to get bottled water, soda, etc. until the next day when we took a cab to the grocery store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rydog from Lake Norman, NC

Boutique hotel right on a quiet beach

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Smaller hotel on a beautiful stretch of beach. Free use of kayaks, snorkel gear, beach chairs, etc.
Cons: The dining room, namely the carpet, could use some updating. Also, a superior room should come with queen beds. We were given two doubles.
Location: Several places to eat within walking distance. Be sure to go south to Rocky's but on a non-cruise ship day!
We stayed here in November and had a good time. The rooms are nice and have been renovated. All of them look over the beach with some also have a view of the pool. The pool has a nice swim up bar and there was always a seat available since there there are only 28 rooms at the resort. Perfect size for us without all the crazyness that a large resort has. Walking to Rocky's is easy as well as several places that serve food and drinks. Yes, the hill to climb up (and then down) to the Spiceland mall area is steep but we completed it several times. If you are going to St. Georges, you will want a taxi. A couple of knocks (if I had to give any) were that the pool bartender Harry as others have also said is a little rough around the edges. He isn't pushing drinks but unfortunately sits there doing paperwork and sometimes neglects to ask if you want one. He does warm up somewhat when effort is attempted. The only other thing that I would say needs a little work is in the dining room. It feels very tired. Sitting at one of the 3 tables outside is great but if you sit inside it is a different story. Food was ok and the staff was always with a smile (except as noted above).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zdenek from Prague, Czech Republic

Beautiful resort on an even more beautiful beach

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Its location on the amazing Morne Rouge beach + excellent quality of the food!
Cons: Add on quantity of the food served in the restaurant (esp. breakfast) and reduce its price (was rather high), even if the food/dinner was excellent.
Location: Unbeatable location ... (actually we prefered it to Grand Anse beach), where you can swim, snorkel, do kayaking or just simply sunbathe :-)
A resort that we would certainly recommend to all who want to have a rest in a beautifully calm bay with an amazing white-sand beach and turquoise water! Excellent and very helpfull staff, excellent food, rather tranquil environment.