Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

relatively close to the Convention Center

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: room clean - good breakfast and close to downtown New Orleans
Cons: Better training for desk clerks and more of them in peak hours - and a supervisor present in peak hours
Location: Close to convention center and downtown New Orleans
Check in was a nightmare ( late Sat aft March 14th) - there wasn't enough clerks checking guests in and I did not see a supervisor who could have speeded things up. There seemed to be confusion with people arranging shuttle service and it seems to me this should be scheduled somewhere else so that guests that just wanted a room could get service. There weren't enough clerks and those that were there moved slower than slow and seemed unconcerned that the lobby was filled with anxious guests trying to check in After that my stay was quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds and clean rooms.
Hotel was clean, quiet and easy to find. Hotel staff was knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma City, OK

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Cons: Service.
Came in at our check in time for 3pm, the line was out the door. I finally got to the front desk around 3:30pm and they said rooms would not be available for another hour. However, about 10 minutes later, a woman at the desk announced all double rooms were clean and available. I went up to check into our double bed room, I was now quoted another 30 minutes. I asked why they let the other clerk say they were ready and the clerk helping me merely shrugged. Around 4:30, we finally got our room which said we'd have two queen sized beds. We get to our room, the bottom box mattress is a queen, the mattress on top was definitely a full. We picked this hotel for its price and proximity to our event but given the service, wait time to clean rooms, and not even getting the bed size we paid for, this hotel is not even worth it's cheap price or your time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntsville

Great stay

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The courtesy of the staff.
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms
Location: I love the fact that there was a gift shop right around the corner.
I had a great time and I have no remorse. The only things that need some work are the curtains and the carpets, they look old and need to be replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Served it's purpose and was better than expected

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: I booked the only available hotel closest to my destination-this was it! We went for the BuKu festival. We were able to secure a smoking room.
Cons: Not that this could be improved...but I found the bathrooms to be a tad on the small side.
Location: They had several fast food restaurants and a Walgreens - that's about all close to the hotel...we didn't go to sight see!
I was satisfied with the quality of the room and the amenities it came with. It had a microwave oven and fridge. It was not quite as close as I would have liked to my destination, but it wasn't too far. The cab ride there and back to Mardi Gras World was approx $40 each day. You can't walk because there is a bridge that you are unable to cross. I have no complaints about the staff or upkeep of the room, however, we did not require much.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Baton Rouge, LA

Bad stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Toilet flooded 10 minutes into stay. New room we were put in had no refrigerator and a hole in the wall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
What good does it do?? Everyone reviews this ??? (hotel) negatively and its still in business. With our $100 credit from Expedia, and the $71.00 cash, this ??? (hotel) was $171.00 for the nigh. and the only thing missing was a condom machine hanging on the bathroom wall. good luck.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix Az

You get what you pay for

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The staff were really nice and accommodating. The hotel itself is very old, the amenities are very old. The toilet stopped working, but it was fixed right away. The wifi kept disconnecting so there were times when I thought I was connected but I was actually using my data. The beds were so comfortable. We needed a place that was close to downtown because all of the downtown hotels were ridiculously expensive during Mardi Gras.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The staff was helpful with driving directions and advice on activities that the city provided.
The hotel was greatly in need of many repairs/updates. Most importantly, housekeeping was nonexistent. Used towels (which consisted of 1 set for 2 guests) were placed on the floor with the understanding that housekeeping would replace since it was a three day stay. Housekeeping did not come in for day 2, so we called the front desk requesting towels. They didn't bother to show up either.................hence only a wet towel set. It really soured our taste on the Choice Hotels chain and we will never use this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

hotel needs attention

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The room was small. Had two refrigerators in the room that did not work. No micro wave as advertised. Insufficient wall plugs to plug in laptop. Plugs in the room worn out. Will not stay at this facility again.