Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting the family roots

Posted May 9, 2014
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Quiet location. Breakfast was overpriced so we skipped it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hash from Munich

Excellent view

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Got a room on the top floor with a massive window facing the town. Excellent view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by N & J retired couple from Oxfordshire

Great Location for the town centre

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed a comfortable room for a couple of nights visiting our granddaughter at the university. The 4th floor room had a lovely view of illuminated church steeples. It was a bit small but it didn't matter because we were out most of the time. Very convenient for the university and town centre. Good breakfast but no dinner. Found a very nice Italian restaurant just over the bridge over the canal. A lovely city. Garage parking very convenient but a bit pricy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Arch Stanton from Liverpool

Clean and good location

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel. Good location for centre of Groningen. Rooms were pretty standard, but comfortable and clean. No tea making facilities in room, but free coffee and tea machine available 24 hours in restaurant. Hotel ten minute walk from station or 7 euros in cab. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Groningen
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Martin de Vries, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Stanton, Thank you so much for your great review! We do our absolute best to satisfy our guests and therfore it's very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre! We hope to welcome you again in our hotel! Kind regards, The staff of Hampshire Hotel Groningen Centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Good stay

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Good rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff, good view from 6 floor room, good coffee in dining room (available any time)
Cons: Nothing negative to say.
Location: Hotel is 10 min walk from train station. Near market and shopping area and 5 mins from Oosterpoort
Stayed for 1 night after travelling from Scotland for a concert at Oosterpoort. If I'm back in Groningen (which looks a really nice town) I would stay at this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KJF from UK

Good for weekend breaks

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is great for weekend breaks as it is a short walk to the town and University. The rooms aren't huge but quite big enough, and they were clean and comfortable. Value for money, however breakfast was limited so I suggest a walk into town to one of the many cafe's and restaurants. The staff were very helpful, and we hired bikes from the hotel for the day at 8 Euros each which was very convenient. If you are looking for a good, clean hotel for a weekend break, this will fit the bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Oregon Laxmom from Oregon

Close to City Center

Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was recently remodeled and was very comfortable, I am short, only 5 ft and the bathroom was designed for taller guests, I could not reach the towels without standing on a chair. I think anyone under 5'4" would have the same problem. The hair dryer was wired into the wall and the cord was not long enough to dry your hair and look in the mirror. The bed, closet and desks were very convenient and comfortable. The best part was the location, you could walk to the Grote market, museum, Fish Market, UMCG. I loved that you could get anywhere by foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Oxford

Great value hotel, good location

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice people running the place making you feel very welcome. The hotel is basic but perfectly fine and well lcoated - I will definitely use again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good View

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Was disappointed with the room size and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robbie

Good quality hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
An enjoyable stay in a good quality hotel, located next to the canal within easy walking distance of the main square. The room was a bit on the small side but it was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for a weekend break. The room was on a high floor so we had good views over the town. Though there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, this was available free of charge from the machine in the restaurant. All in all, good value for money and recommended.