Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Jan from Port Charlotte Fl

Room should not have been in use

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: The staff was nice but couldn't resolve our issue
Upon check in, we found our room heater didn't work so we were moved to the only room left in the hotel. We should have been alarmed that the wall paper was coming off and was held in place with tape but the heater worked so we thought it would be ok. The next morning the carpet from the door nearly to the bedroom area was wet. It was apparent that the wall paper coming off the and carpet being wet were both being caused by the ice make directly on the adjacent wall. Since the hotel was full, we were stuck. This was our third time staying at this hotel but it will be our last.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
We apologize that your stay was an unpleasant one. We do not prefer to rent out our rooms that are not functional but in order to ensure you had heat, it was our only option. Please understand it is not our intent to put guests in rooms that are unacceptable and we hope that doesn't impact your choice in staying at future Wyndham properties.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rs from illinois

basic place to stay while visiting relatives

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: basic, simple, small room/space, but OK. No wasted space.
Cons: breakfast offerings
Location: not really applicable to our stay.
We were registered for two nights through Expedia, but due to illness, we had to cancel 2nd night to return 8 hour trip home as soon as possible. Staff said Expedia had to approve and provided phone number. Expedia called hotel to approve and refund provided promptly . . . much appreciated. I will use Expedia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Fine stay

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Met our needs. Rooms with one bed are small. Convenient area near lots of stores and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Port Charlotte Fl

Nice hotel. Perfect Location

Posted Dec 30, 2013
We stayed at the Microtel over the Christmas holiday and had a very nice stay. The room was clean, the staff friendly and it was in a great location. We were close to a number of restaurants and close to I-71 and I-270 as well. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kathy from Olney, MD

Convenient for us

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We reserved 2 rooms, one handicap. The rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and let us change from a handicap room with a tub (lot of bars to hold onto) to a room with a walk-in shower which was much better for my 99 yo dad. We had one queen bed in our room. They don't have king size bed at this Microtel. Breakfast was bagels, donuts, cereal, coffee and juices. The coffee was great. Get a room with 2 beds and you will have more room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve Palermo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
for price you can't beat this place. Rooms were bigger than I expected. Great location close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Reasonable rates.
Location: Many restaurants and a Walmart within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Reasonable rates.
Location: Many restaurants and a Walmart within walking distance.