Ratings based on 1,039 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Reasonably priced hotel close to ammenities

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: AThe buffet breakfast is great with a piano player in the lobby every morning which is a great way to start the day.
Cons: Fitted bottom sheets on the bed. The sheets on our bed's were not fitted and tented to ride up. Free coffee included with each nights stay.
Location: This hotel is in the beautiful historic area of Guadalajara with green space to sit and close to all the bus routes.
The hotel is in the Historic downtown area, it is filled with Colonial era buildings. We took the open top doubledecker bus tour and we got off at a must see old town called Tlaquepaque. The street the bus drops you off is not the main street, head up to the Cathedral and you will come across shops, sitting areas and restaurant's, this is a beautiful place. Day 2 we went to an area called Barranca de Oblatos, this is a gorge which looks like a minil version of the Grand Canyon. That evening we watched a Premier league soccer game and took the city bus back to the hotel. It seems there are markets everywhere and also lots of places to eat. We only had 4 days in the City but there was so much more to see but we just did not have the time. Just walking the streets here is an experience that we would come back for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala City, Guatemala

Beautiful, perfectly located Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Location, ambiance, hotel staff.
We went to Guadalajara for a Concert at Telmex Auditorium. I am glad I followed Expedia`s reviews about Hotel Morales. Since we walked in, we fell in love with it. We were first given a regular room (directly facing the street, lots of noise for me) but then were upgraded thanks to my Expedia status. We were given a suite in a more quiet area and a very quiet room. Hotel is close to "La Chata" and "La Gorda", two excellent places to eat mexican food. The cathedral and various beautiful churches are close buy so we really enjoyed our stay since we went there on Ash Wednesday (we are obviously catholic). Hotel staff is their greatest asset. All of them very nice and willing to help in anything we asked for. We took a cab to Tonala and then to Tlaquepaque which gave us a lot more time in both places. We also went shopping near the hotel, you can find nice things. Great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Paz, BCS

Placentero

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Su ubicación, lo agradable que es su arquitectura, la historia del mismo y el trato recibido.
Cons: el buffet es quizás lo único que no fue totalmente de mi agrado, pero entiendo es un buffet más diseñado para gustos internacionales.
Location: Fue muy placentero visitar el Centro de Gdl, se ve que lo han estado arreglando y cuidando para hacerlo más placentero al turismo, me sentí seguro.
Es un hotel que no conocía, tuve una experiencia muy agradable ya que la búsqueda y reservación del mismo fue buscando algo cerca del centro, debido a las actividades laborales que tenía que atender en Gdl., y fue una sorpresa agradable., primero conocer la historia del hotel y segundo, lo bien que nos atendieron y trataron. Las habitaciones limpias, bien cuidadas, silencioso, todo el hotel es de no fumar, lo cual se agradece.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Pretty good

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Patio.
Cons: A small table and chair on the patio would be nice.
Location: Good downtown location to see all the central walking tour locations. In the next block to the horse drawn carriages.
Have to ask for a window with a outside view instead of a courtyard view. Some rooms have patios but they connect with other rooms which is totally okay. Patio room are smaller but the patio makes up for it. Bathroom were nice and in good shape. I stayed in another hotel a few weeks prior which had a decent rating but this hotel was much nicer. Food was good and well priced. Orval ambiance was very nice. I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G Manitoba

Central to historical district.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Highly recommend for this area. Easy to walk around and good cab access to other areas as well as tours. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Great location, able to walk to most attractions. Helpful staff, most spoke some English. Simply beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel in downtown Guadalajara

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. the hotel is within walking distance of many things. They provide tour info and pickup at the hotel.
Cons: Better lighting and full length mirrors in some of the rooms. Better breakfast selection.
Location: Walking distance of many things. Felt safe and comfortable.
We just went for a few nights in Guadalajara. The hotel is exactly the type of place where I wanted to stay while vacationing in Guadalajara. It has the "Mexican" touch with its interior paint color and interior courtyards! It is on the dim side when it comes to lighting. One of our rooms was in a courtyard area where it was more quiet than our room that was closer to the streets and a bit more noisy. The courtyard room wasn't as bright as the street side room. The staff were wonderful- they were friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant in the hotel. Breakfast was okay. The hotel has tour information which is exactly what we wanted. The tour company picks you up at the hotel which is so convenient! I wanted to make sure we did a tequila tour and so we did. And it was amazing! I absolutely recommend a tequila tour! The City tour was great too! Lots of shopping so make sure you keep room in your luggage!!! And we always felt safe- at the hotel, in all the different cities we went to on the tours, and in the surrounding area of Guadalajara near the hotel! Wonderful hotel and wonderful visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Nice and comfortable room. No good: breakfast and

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Bedroom, building, location, staff
Cons: Breakfast : poor options in the buffet Pool: very small, and not a good place to take a rest
Location: Excellent
It was good, nice, I think this one is very recommendable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shawville, QC

Great location in historical downtown

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Central location. Historical ambiance. Helpful concierge.Reasonable price.
Cons: Small side table in the suite.
We had a queen suite on the first floor--large room with two balconies and windows that opened. When closed they cut out the street noise which was much appreciated for a good night's sleep. The room was comfortable but a bit sparsely furnished--there was enough room for a small side table which would've made breakfast in the room more comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely interior courtyard outside the room and in the lobby. Walking distance to many plazas and the big market. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a more authentic Mexican experience. Restaurant not that great though--better coffee and food just down the street at Cafe Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunshine Coast

Historical Stay in Guadalajara

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and bright, loved the old world charm and all the updating that had been done to restore this great building!! Staff were friendly.
Cons: Found the coffee not very strong, but most of the coffee we tasted everywhere seemed very weak , watered down.
Location: Great location and many things to do and see all within walking distance. Markets and museums, beautiful churches, many great restaurants!
We stayed at this beautiful hotel at the end of January for 3 nights and found it to be very quiet and comfortable. I had requested 2 rooms with outdoor balconies, our rooms were beyond what I had expected! Very comfortable beds and tastefully decorated, old world charm in an updated atmosphere. There is a roof top pool area, which was nice to use after a day of sightseeing around the city, towels for the pool were available at the front desk. They have a small restaurant in the main lobby which has a great buffet breakfast!! If we come again to this great city, we will definitely stay again at this great hotel!