Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Perfect Location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Elevators! Only two to serve this huge hotel? You must also share with housekeeping and maintenance!
Location: Everything cultural and historical
You could not ask for a better view of the city! The hotel itself is a basic popular chain. The rooms are simple (no closets, no drawers). The personnel are incredibly friendly and helpful. This hotel has a huge turnover and with only two elevators (which the housekeeping and maintenance staffs must also use), sometimes waiting for one can be a test of one's patience. You have to weigh your priorities: if you are looking for pampered luxury, look elsewhere; if you are interested in a clean, simple room in the center of town, this place is perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Loved the location, very centralized.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The location is GREAT.
Cons: AC in lobby was not cold, the bedroom AC seemed to take a little long to cool.
Location: Great location, plenty of restaurants, walking distance to main shopping market, tour buses across from Cathedral for city tour, surrounded by plazas.
Hotel receptionists were all very friendly. Rooms are not very big, but didn't spend much time in it, so that was ok. We asked for window facing Plaza and got one. The view was amazing, especially in the evening when we would open sliding door and just enjoy the view and performances from our balcony...someone is always performing in the plaza, especially on the weekends. Breakfast was OK, not much of a selection, mostly all Spanish food, not really American. Above all, shopping, eating and entertainment within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Working Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: location location location
No pool No Shops ,No food awesome just a very clean room breakfast and off to work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from Ohio

Nice location, great view and clean rooms.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location and great price.
Cons: Breakfast coffee!
Location: Make sure to visit Instituto Cabañas.
This is a nice hotel right in the heart of Guadalajara's downtown. You can walk pretty much anywhere to the important sights in that area. The view from the rooms (the cathedral and government palace) is outstanding. The rooms and bathrooms have new furnishings/fixtures and although minimalist, they are comfortable. The rooms are somewhat small but clean and everything works well (hot water, tv, phone, free wifi). The breakfast room is a bit shabby looking, if functional, and the food (huevos con chorizo were excellent!) is fresh and abundant. My only complaint was that the OJ was gone for 2 of the 3 mornings I was there, and the coffee was extremely weak (to the point of being undrinkable). The hotel has no parking attached, but they offer a cheaper rate at the garage a couple of blocks down the street. The entrance to the hotel is on a no-parking lane right in front of the building under the arcade (it took two passes for us to see it!), so that you'll have to drop your luggage there and go park later.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

From U.S. To this hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
I traveled to this hotel from the U.S. The staff is nice and friendly. There is AC in the room which we were extremely glad about since it was hot out during our trip. They clean your room every morning and do your laundry. The only down side is that the halls are not air conditioned so your room is the only cool spot if you leave the AC on. I couldn't rate it higher since the free wi-fi didn't work at all, it kept logging us out every 30 secs. The free breakfast was also not very good - at all. The lobby where the breakfast is served was extremely hot b/c like I said there's no AC there and the combo of hot food around made it worse. The plus side is that the hotel is at the heart of Guadalajara so everything is at walking distance. I would stay here again, they just need better wi-fi connection, better breakfast, and AC in the halls and lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luci from Florida

Best view of Guadalajara

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Place is clean and Hector takes the cake and award for Hospitality treatment, he takes great pride in his work and insures that you are comfortable
Cons: Decorate the halls and place someone in the front door to direct guests to the lobby and parking lot
Location: This is the best location, I had a room in front of the Cancilleria and heard live music every night during the weekend. Cannot beat the views!
I expected something different from this hotel, Mexico is known for being overboard with attention to detail from the first encounter to the last. First, you get into the building and have to find the lobby, then everything is the most bare necessities, no decorations on the halls or anything, just plain walls. Rooms are ok only because the bed is comfortable but no drawers or anything, everything is attached to the wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alekx Arteaga from Atlanta Georgia

Excellent location

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Right in the heart of Guadalajara. Across from the main cathedral and plaza de armas. Very safe surroundings. Lots of police surveillance. Since it's on the same plaza as the government palace. Rooms. A little small but hey you just need them to sleep Lots to sigh seen. You pay for a one star hotel price but you get the warm service and location of a five diamond. Hotel. I should know. I have been to those over priced places too This place is great for romance, family. , business or just pleasure it has it all Let your imaginations. Bring you to a magical place. ""One hotel. Centro historico Guadalajara. Mexico"" Taxi from airport. 250 pesos. About 20 dlls. And that's all you need because everything else is around the hotel Thanks to. Hotel.com and one hotel for a grat experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erika from san diego, ca

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for 4 days. We both loved the location, it's right in the heart of downtown. We loved that you had to swipe your key in order to use the elevator & to come in the main doors after a certain time at night. The cleanliness was spot on.. Something we truly appreciate, staff was very nice & helpful. The breakfast was surprisingly good, we enjoyed the black beans! We would definitely consider staying here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerry from Madison, WI

Hotel in city center.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Good Location with great view of Plaza. de Armas.
Cons: Air conditioner spotty. Sewer smell at times in room.
Hotel with great location. Would recommend to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location is awesome! The room is small but ok.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
The staff was friendly and super helpful. The continental breakfast not so great at all, a little change up would be good especially if you add pancakes the beans look dry and not to good. The room is small but it is only needed for sleeping so it's perfect. The location is very central. The tour bus was right around the corner from the cathedral. Our view was beautiful at night. We didn't have to take a cab but only to go to the airport, other then that the tour bus El Tapatio gets you were you need to go, the Tequila tour picks you up and drops you off at the hotel. I will be staying there again come next year.