Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sierra Foothills

Ocean View

Posted May 2, 2015
Super friendly staff. Amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. Cute room with a gas fireplace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom palo alto, ca

Nice location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Comfortable one night stay. Next to highway 1 and several places to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Almost everything
Location: motel was within 50 feet of the ocean there was no beach access. One had to leave town and drive up the coast to an access point and pay $7 to park.
Booked room with expedia and was charged $121. When I arrived at the motel a couple ahead of me at the reception desk asked the price of a room and was quoted $90. Upon seeing the room my wife said there was no way she was staying there. The room was small, dark, and probably not updated since the 70's. The motel staff was very accommodating and gave us an upgrade to a sea view room. They said the upgrade was usually $80, but that we could have it for $40 extra. The upgraded room was nice enough, but the bed was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location on the cliff above the pacific.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: the location, the folks who run it and the town is charming. the surf grocery store, right next door, is one of the finest stocked stores anywhere.
Cons: way to much lysol sprayed everywhere...... had to air the room and after some fresh air it was fantastic. facility is a lil worn, but worn from fun
Location: the california coast and charming lil hamlets are at your disposal.
the surf inn has a wonderful vibe to it. the delightful young couple that run it do so with a friendly and charming personality. most of the guests became a fun community of strangers who ended up not being strangers. i will reiterate that moving into the 21st century and using less toxic cleaning products would be the final addition to an otherwise clean, but a wee bit shopworn, place for people to really enjoy a lovely venue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento Ca

Great breakfast and View!!!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Love the ocean view from the fire pit area. The sunset is beautiful and who doesn't love smores!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Rooms were very small but clean... No "SURF" view from rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robertfrom Jacksonville Fl

Pleasant stay for a couple of days.

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Was there for work. Breakfast is not served until 8:30-10:00. So did not get it first business day. But second day enjoyed the home made cranberry scones. Rest of food was good scones were great. What a view from the banks of shore. Nice town enjoyed just walking the area. Room is tight but was a very nice bed. No fridge in room, so no leftovers. Would stay again. Travel a lot nice break from commercial hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenniferfrom Atascadero, California

Great place to stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Surf Motel was adorable. Great location in town. Great restaurants nearby. The room itself was small- but we didn't care b/c we only slept there. Gualala is great for outdoor activities and tranquility. The bed was comfortable- though they should update the top comforter b/c it was looking a little shabby. Great flat screen though to watch a movie at night! Breakfast was tops! Gourmet waffles- best I've ever had! Eggs, sausage, scones, biscuits and gravy, fruit etc. All fresh and delicious! Staff was welcoming and helpful. The hotel is right on the water with a great bluff trail. Price was very reasonable too. We'll definitely visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels