Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Very over priced. To be fair, hotel location is great but room condition, cleanliness and amenities are way below average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Pleasant hotel by the ocean

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and the breakfast was good
Cons: Replace the bed with a firmer mattress. Improve the sound insulation.
Location: The location was nice overlooking the ocean with a short trail along the cliff and close to restaurants.
Hotel room was in fine condition, although it felt a bit crowded and the bed could have been firmer. Unfortunately the sound barrier in the walls is not very good and the loud talking of guests next door was disturbing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sierra Foothills

Ocean View

Posted May 2, 2015
Super friendly staff. Amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. Cute room with a gas fireplace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palo alto, ca

Nice location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Comfortable one night stay. Next to highway 1 and several places to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Almost everything
Location: motel was within 50 feet of the ocean there was no beach access. One had to leave town and drive up the coast to an access point and pay $7 to park.
Booked room with expedia and was charged $121. When I arrived at the motel a couple ahead of me at the reception desk asked the price of a room and was quoted $90. Upon seeing the room my wife said there was no way she was staying there. The room was small, dark, and probably not updated since the 70's. The motel staff was very accommodating and gave us an upgrade to a sea view room. They said the upgrade was usually $80, but that we could have it for $40 extra. The upgraded room was nice enough, but the bed was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Gualala get away

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place, rooms not worth $120+/night. Bathrooms seriously in need of repair and up grades. Closet taken up with refer. and micro-wave. Queen size bed takes up most of room. The Inn Keepers make the stay worth while, Mike & Heather are efficient, kind and make a good breakfast. I'd stay again if I could get one of the larger rooms to the back, it is noisy at night otherwise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location on the cliff above the pacific.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: the location, the folks who run it and the town is charming. the surf grocery store, right next door, is one of the finest stocked stores anywhere.
Cons: way to much lysol sprayed everywhere...... had to air the room and after some fresh air it was fantastic. facility is a lil worn, but worn from fun
Location: the california coast and charming lil hamlets are at your disposal.
the surf inn has a wonderful vibe to it. the delightful young couple that run it do so with a friendly and charming personality. most of the guests became a fun community of strangers who ended up not being strangers. i will reiterate that moving into the 21st century and using less toxic cleaning products would be the final addition to an otherwise clean, but a wee bit shopworn, place for people to really enjoy a lovely venue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento Ca

Great breakfast and View!!!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Love the ocean view from the fire pit area. The sunset is beautiful and who doesn't love smores!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by frances from Calgary AB

DISAPPOINTED .

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Not enough eating places open. Had to buy groceries and picnic in our room ! Bathroom needed some repair work done. Had no sleep as some guests were very noisy and language was offensive. So in comparison to some hotels and Inns that we have used on our trip up your glorious coastline we were very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels